Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 12:30 PM   #1
SOLLERBOY
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester,UK
How did you set it up?

It's been a while since I got my last last iMac (2009). back then I only had 200GB or so of data so just copied the data off my 2007 imac and moved it manually.

Now, I'm expecting my 2012 and have nearly 1TB to move. I've cleaned it up as much as I can but I know I have some stuff scattered from apps I've deleted.

What I want to know is how you set your new imac up. Did you restore from Time Machine or Use Migration Assistant? how long do each take?
__________________
27" iMac i7 3.4 3TBF 680MX Very Late 2012
17" MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 8GB 64GB Early 2011
16GB iPhone 5s Gold 32GB iPad Air
SOLLERBOY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 12:38 PM   #2
TeeZee1000
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOLLERBOY View Post
It's been a while since I got my last last iMac (2009). back then I only had 200GB or so of data so just copied the data off my 2007 imac and moved it manually.

Now, I'm expecting my 2012 and have nearly 1TB to move. I've cleaned it up as much as I can but I know I have some stuff scattered from apps I've deleted.

What I want to know is how you set your new imac up. Did you restore from Time Machine or Use Migration Assistant? how long do each take?
I decided to start from scratch, I copied all the data files from my 09 27inch and installed all my programs over again. I wanted to do that because I had a lot of programs I didn't use anymore on my old one, so it was easier that way instead of the cleanup.
TeeZee1000 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 12:40 PM   #3
SOLLERBOY
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester,UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeZee1000 View Post
I decided to start from scratch, I copied all the data files from my 09 27inch and installed all my programs over again. I wanted to do that because I had a lot of programs I didn't use anymore on my old one, so it was easier that way instead of the cleanup.
That is what I'm thinking of doing. There's just a lot to do, deactivate iTunes, CS5, etc.
__________________
27" iMac i7 3.4 3TBF 680MX Very Late 2012
17" MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 8GB 64GB Early 2011
16GB iPhone 5s Gold 32GB iPad Air
SOLLERBOY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 12:47 PM   #4
palmerc2
macrumors 65816
 
palmerc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeZee1000 View Post
I decided to start from scratch, I copied all the data files from my 09 27inch and installed all my programs over again. I wanted to do that because I had a lot of programs I didn't use anymore on my old one, so it was easier that way instead of the cleanup.
Would that be the same idea as some folks do with their iPhones when they upgrade? When I got the iPhone 5, I restored from backup of my 4, and I had 15GB of "Other" data, so I set up as a new phone.

I'm thinking of doing the same thing when I upgrade from my Mid-2007 iMac. But is there really any benefit of doing it? Would it really save that much space / performance?
palmerc2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 12:52 PM   #5
TeeZee1000
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmerc2 View Post
Would that be the same idea as some folks do with their iPhones when they upgrade? When I got the iPhone 5, I restored from backup of my 4, and I had 15GB of "Other" data, so I set up as a new phone.

I'm thinking of doing the same thing when I upgrade from my Mid-2007 iMac. But is there really any benefit of doing it? Would it really save that much space / performance?
not sure about space, but definitely performance plus I wanted to give my fusion drive a fresh start

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOLLERBOY View Post
That is what I'm thinking of doing. There's just a lot to do, deactivate iTunes, CS5, etc.
thats true, i started prepping my system for it last week, ex:making sure I had access to all the serial #'s, websites or .dmg install files were accessible from my thunderbolt/firewire connections. I was able to get up and running in a few hours
TeeZee1000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 12:59 PM   #6
BSoares
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeZee1000 View Post
I decided to start from scratch, I copied all the data files from my 09 27inch and installed all my programs over again. I wanted to do that because I had a lot of programs I didn't use anymore on my old one, so it was easier that way instead of the cleanup.
Same here. Not just for the old apps but my old iMac was Leopard, Snow Leopard, Lion, all upgrades. So I'm sure there was junk somewhere. Moving data and reinstalling apps seemed like the way to go.
BSoares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:00 PM   #7
SOLLERBOY
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester,UK
Did you guys just manually move it or use migration assistant to move the data?
__________________
27" iMac i7 3.4 3TBF 680MX Very Late 2012
17" MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 8GB 64GB Early 2011
16GB iPhone 5s Gold 32GB iPad Air
SOLLERBOY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:05 PM   #8
skyenet
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near Glasgow - Scotland
My plan was to setup my iMac up from scratch but in the end I just used the migration assistant and glad I did. It has just saved so much messing about with Apps, Passwords and registrations. I have a 3Tb Fusion Drive so not really bothered about saving space and my 09 iMac was running fine anyway.

Probably would have been quicker doing a time machine restore, as choosing Migration Assistant over Ethernet was a lot slower than when I restored my Hard drive, which was replaced on my iMac recently.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.4GHz i7 27"  2012 MacBook Pro Retina 2.3Ghz i7  2011 2.3 GHz Mac Mini  2009 iMac 3.06 GHz 27"  2007 iMac 2.8GHz 24"  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2nd & 3rd Gen  iPads 1st & 3rd Gen
skyenet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:07 PM   #9
SOLLERBOY
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester,UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyenet View Post
My plan was to setup my iMac up from scratch but in the end I just used the migration assistant and glad I did. It has just saved so much messing about with Apps, Passwords and registrations. I have a 3Tb Fusion Drive so not really bothered about saving space and my 09 iMac was running fine anyway.

Probably would have been quicker doing a time machine restore, as choosing Migration Assistant over Ethernet was a lot slower than when I restored my Hard drive, which was replaced on my iMac recently.
How long did it take?
__________________
27" iMac i7 3.4 3TBF 680MX Very Late 2012
17" MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 8GB 64GB Early 2011
16GB iPhone 5s Gold 32GB iPad Air
SOLLERBOY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:08 PM   #10
dryice589
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I used migration assistant. Only had 340GB to move from my Mini, and it took 7 hours. In retrospect, it probably would have went faster to restore from my external USB 3.0 drive with my time machine backup on it; because it only took about 3 hours to set up a new time machine backup.
__________________
iMac 27" (2012) 3.2Ghz | 24GB | 1TB Fusion | 680MX | Samsung Blu-ray ODD
rMBP (Late 2013) 2.4GHz | 8GB | 256GB
Mac Mini (2011) Sold; iPad 3; iPhone 5
dryice589 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:26 PM   #11
bobright
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeZee1000 View Post
not sure about space, but definitely performance plus I wanted to give my fusion drive a fresh start

----------



thats true, i started prepping my system for it last week, ex:making sure I had access to all the serial #'s, websites or .dmg install files were accessible from my thunderbolt/firewire connections. I was able to get up and running in a few hours
I wish it only took me that long, havent even moved my iMac into the room I want it in and had it a few days. I'm on my windows machine now sorting through tons of photos and music. It sucks but going to be all worth it.
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:09 PM   #12
MagicThief83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NYC
?

To be honest, I'm not sure if I should clean setup my new iMac or restore it from a TM backup of my MBA (which I sold to finance the new iMac lol ), which ran Lion and then ML. The thing is, there wasn't a lot of junk installed on my MBA. I got it in July this year, it ran Lion for two weeks, before I upgraded it to ML. What do you guys think? Also, if I decide to manually setup my new iMac, could I just copy over my documents, photos, etc., from the TM backup? I wouldn't mind reinstalling my apps, as there weren't many installed and too many license keys to remember.
__________________
MBA (2012, 11", 2.0GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD)
iPad (3rd Generation, 64GB, Black, Wi-Fi only)
iPhone 5 (64GB, Black, AT&T)
MagicThief83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:17 PM   #13
skyenet
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near Glasgow - Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicThief83 View Post
To be honest, I'm not sure if I should clean setup my new iMac or restore it from a TM backup of my MBA (which I sold to finance the new iMac lol ), which ran Lion and then ML. The thing is, there wasn't a lot of junk installed on my MBA. I got it in July this year, it ran Lion for two weeks, before I upgraded it to ML. What do you guys think? Also, if I decide to manually setup my new iMac, could I just copy over my documents, photos, etc., from the TM backup? I wouldn't mind reinstalling my apps, as there weren't many installed and too many license keys to remember.
From what you say, I would definitely choose the Time Machine backup. Migration Assistant took me about 4 hours for about 200GB over Ethernet. It took me a similar time to do a 600GB restore from a time machine backup when I had my hard drive replaced a month ago.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.4GHz i7 27"  2012 MacBook Pro Retina 2.3Ghz i7  2011 2.3 GHz Mac Mini  2009 iMac 3.06 GHz 27"  2007 iMac 2.8GHz 24"  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2nd & 3rd Gen  iPads 1st & 3rd Gen
skyenet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:23 PM   #14
boto
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I used migration assistant from a backup of my rMBP through a USB 3.0 external HD. Couldn't be bothered by spending my entire day installing applications and waiting for things to download. In addition, since I used CCC, all of my data and settings became readily available as if I was on my rMBP. The only issues I experienced was several invalid serial numbers from Adobe CS6 Master Collection, Final Draft 8, Little Snitch, and smaller sized windows. However, I might just install everything from scratch once I receive my replacement 27" iMac (My current one has yellow tints on my middle-lower half of the screen, as well as a "Bo" engraved mark behind the front panel of the display).
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4Ghz, GTX 680MX, 1TB FD, 32GB RAM | rMBP 2.6Ghz/16GB RAM/256GB | 16GB iPhone 5 White | 16GB iPad 3rd Gen White | Time Capsule 2TB | Apple TV 3
boto is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All iPads: Set AirPrint b/w Only? OSMac iPad 0 Jul 13, 2013 10:49 AM
Help! iMovie has not been set up? UAE1991 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jul 7, 2013 04:05 PM
If I set up as new? noobinator iPhone 2 Sep 18, 2012 09:06 PM
How can I set “numbers” to return a specific integer in a set? rotarypower101 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 3, 2012 02:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC