Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 16, 2014, 02:52 PM   #1
InTheMist
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
5k iMac...

And, the megapixel wars just heat up.

So, if I crop my 16 MP shot to 16:9, can I even view them full screen? Wow!
InTheMist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2014, 02:56 PM   #2
themumu
macrumors 6502a
 
themumu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
I suppose it's a good thing that I'm not looking to buy one of those, as none of my current cameras can fill that screen! So if I wanted to use my own shots as wallpapers, I'd have to (gasp!) upgrade the camera gear
themumu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2014, 03:38 PM   #3
InTheMist
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Aperture

You know what's also curious? I clicked on the "buy" link just to see how much a tricked-out configuration costs, and they're still offering Aperture to bundle.
InTheMist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2014, 03:40 PM   #4
apple-ette
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
I was just as surprised about Aperture still being listed.
apple-ette is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2014, 03:46 PM   #5
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
For some of us the 8bit display at 5K is still an issue.
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2014, 07:25 AM   #6
steveash
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by mBox View Post
For some of us the 8bit display at 5K is still an issue.
Really? I couldn't see mention of this. Is that at all frame rates?
__________________
My 500px portfolio
steveash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2014, 07:27 AM   #7
nateo200
macrumors 68030
 
nateo200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY State
Quote:
Originally Posted by themumu View Post
I suppose it's a good thing that I'm not looking to buy one of those, as none of my current cameras can fill that screen! So if I wanted to use my own shots as wallpapers, I'd have to (gasp!) upgrade the camera gear
Eh it would give me an excuse to break out my medium format gear I have a couple of drum scans that would look epic on a 5K display.
__________________
-15" rMBP 2.4/8/256/650M, FCP X, AE CS5.5, PS CS6
-USB3 180GB SSD, Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt
-iPhone 6 in Space Grey 128GB, Samsung Galaxy Note 8
-Canon 550D, GoPro3 Black
nateo200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2014, 07:34 AM   #8
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveash View Post
Really? I couldn't see mention of this. Is that at all frame rates?
well if the panel is 8-bit then yes.

the issue is banding and color depth.

not so much a big deal if your use to it but after using a Flanders or Eizo for years its hard to go back to 8-bit.

Im still considering it as a DIT workstation.
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2014, 08:06 AM   #9
nateo200
macrumors 68030
 
nateo200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY State
Quote:
Originally Posted by mBox View Post
well if the panel is 8-bit then yes.

the issue is banding and color depth.

not so much a big deal if your use to it but after using a Flanders or Eizo for years its hard to go back to 8-bit.

Im still considering it as a DIT workstation.
Yeah 8-bit is meh.....even 10-bit is a much better deal....of course these things come at extra cost but still. I would have preferred a 3840x2400 panel at 10-bit but then I guess I can just buy a third party monitor...
__________________
-15" rMBP 2.4/8/256/650M, FCP X, AE CS5.5, PS CS6
-USB3 180GB SSD, Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt
-iPhone 6 in Space Grey 128GB, Samsung Galaxy Note 8
-Canon 550D, GoPro3 Black
nateo200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2014, 08:17 AM   #10
acearchie
macrumors 68040
 
acearchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mBox View Post
well if the panel is 8-bit then yes.

the issue is banding and color depth.

not so much a big deal if your use to it but after using a Flanders or Eizo for years its hard to go back to 8-bit.

Im still considering it as a DIT workstation.
Why would you consider it? Just to see full res video? Isn't the money better spent on previous gen and some proper hard drives?
acearchie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2014, 08:44 AM   #11
Meister
macrumors Demi-God
 
Meister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mBox View Post
For some of us the 8bit display at 5K is still an issue.
How about the LG 21:9 ULTRAWIDE 34UM95. It's got 10bit color.
__________________
Meister is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2014, 06:57 PM   #12
Laird Knox
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meister View Post
How about the LG 21:9 ULTRAWIDE 34UM95. It's got 10bit color.
99% sRGB color space = 100% no thank you.
Laird Knox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2014, 07:39 PM   #13
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by acearchie View Post
Why would you consider it? Just to see full res video? Isn't the money better spent on previous gen and some proper hard drives?

There were times when a MPB wasnt cutting it (pardon the pun) on set.

If it was up to me, it would be a nMP with an Apple 30.

This can be retrofit in my system easily.

Nothing beats 1:1 pixel with R3Ds
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2014, 07:50 PM   #14
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meister View Post
How about the LG 21:9 ULTRAWIDE 34UM95. It's got 10bit color.
Enticing but the res is somewhat less than I expected.

3440x1440
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2014, 03:29 AM   #15
Meister
macrumors Demi-God
 
Meister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mBox View Post
Enticing but the res is somewhat less than I expected. 3440x1440
I am looking into this screen for the following reasons:
  • splitscreen (two 5x4)
  • compatability with mac mini, mba, rmbp at 60Hz
  • 10bit color
  • reviews said the widescreen experience is awesome
  • Very resonably priced (~800€)
  • thunderbolt connection
  • Option to daisy chain

The only disadvantage seems to be the limitied srbg color space.

There aren't many macs that comfortably support 4k screens. Also the new iMac seems to be far future tech.
Not even the nMP is capable of running a screen like that. Simply because Thunderbolt2 is not fast enough.
__________________
Meister is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2014, 08:07 AM   #16
Cheese&Apple
macrumors Demi-God
 
Cheese&Apple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
High resolution displays like the new iMac are here and it's only a matter of time (a short time IMO) before they become the norm. They will be great for viewing and editing my photos and I can't wait to try it out.

Too bad we'll still be viewing the outstanding work of others at 800 px wide on sites like MacRumors.

~ Peter
Cheese&Apple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2014, 08:45 AM   #17
Wahlstrm
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Stockholm
10bit is for windows only, OSX don't do 10Bit regardless of what monitor you buy.
__________________
Wahlstrm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2014, 02:18 PM   #18
Meister
macrumors Demi-God
 
Meister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheese&Apple View Post
High resolution displays like the new iMac are here and it's only a matter of time (a short time IMO) before they become the norm. They will be great for viewing and editing my photos and I can't wait to try it out.

Too bad we'll still be viewing the outstanding work of others at 800 px wide on sites like MacRumors.

~ Peter
You are obviously right.
The thing is that the majority of people are just getting used to 1080p.
I didn't upgrade my TV to 1080p until last year. And I am now considering an additional more high res display. Most people I know have screens with less than 1080p.

4k, 5k and 8k will be the future, no doubt, but they also require all new hardware and faster internet. My estimate is that it will take a decade for the masses of consumers to catch up with 4k. The 5k iMac on the other hand is a novelty. There is no 5k tb display because tb2 is too slow!! That means not even the nMP could run one at this point.

is innovating and far, far ahead of it's time as usual. If you want to jump on that wagon you have to:
1. Move to one of the few areas in the world with high speed internet
2. Sell your organs to be able to afford the newest tech
__________________
Meister is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2014, 02:51 PM   #19
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mBox View Post
well if the panel is 8-bit then yes.

the issue is banding and color depth.

not so much a big deal if your use to it but after using a Flanders or Eizo for years its hard to go back to 8-bit.

Im still considering it as a DIT workstation.
Eizo used a lot of 8 bit panels where processing was carried out at a higher bit depth in spite of the underlying hardware only accepting an 8 bit signal. Banding is an issue. When you say color depth, do you mean gamut? I ask because gamut is independent of bit depth. It's just that you could face greater banding issues across a wider gamut.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2014, 02:28 AM   #20
blanka
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
If you count display pixels the same way as camera pixels, this screen is a 44 megapixel display! Only the layout is different, rgb instead of bayer.
blanka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2014, 05:05 AM   #21
Dsching
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by blanka View Post
If you count display pixels the same way as camera pixels, this screen is a 44 megapixel display! Only the layout is different, rgb instead of bayer.
I do not follow this logic.
Dsching is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2014, 09:04 AM   #22
FWRLCK
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
He means that each pixel in a display has red, green and blue as opposed to most cameras that have a luminance sensor with a Bayer filter in front of it and then interpolate the results on the back end. I'm not sure the two are entirely equivalent, but it is something to think about.
FWRLCK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2014, 09:25 AM   #23
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wahlstrm View Post
10bit is for windows only, OSX don't do 10Bit regardless of what monitor you buy.
Use a BMD UltraStudio 4K, that gives you 10bit from nMP.
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac SMC Firmware Update 1.1 - Fan Noise - Late 2013 27 iMac alksion iMac 139 Jan 17, 2014 10:51 AM
Help, Erased iMac HDD volume drive trying reset my iMac to factory conditions trueq iMac 12 Dec 23, 2013 10:27 AM
Is possible to install Ati HD 6670m (iMac 2011 21,5) in iMac 27 late 2009?? Gianca90 iMac 4 Nov 5, 2013 05:08 PM
Late 2009 27" iMac Graphics Card DYING AGAIN. Which new iMac to replace it? DracoDWS iMac 0 Sep 29, 2013 09:50 PM
iMac late 2012 not the same brightness as iMac 2011/2010/2009? Krrrt iMac 10 May 16, 2013 09:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC