Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:06 PM   #1
Kmad86
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Best way to backup and transfer files to new 2012 iMac?

Just got my new 27" in today.

I have a 2.2Ghz i7 17" MBP that I have been using for just a few months. I have kept it very clutter free and just with the essentials that I use and all of my mail accounts are configured correctly. I also use Parallels desktop and have it configured to my liking. Sure, I could start this new iMac fresh but would really like if I could transfer my hard drive over to the new iMac as a carbon copy. I could use Carbon Copy Cloner, but is there any con to doing that?

Did it really matter that the original computer the OS was installed on has now changed?

I just ordered my SSD today so I have a few days to think this over. If there is no downside to a carbon copy image then that's the route I figure I will go.

Thanks!
Kmad86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:29 PM   #2
Heresiarch
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Netherlands
Same here. I would like to move the things in my MBA to the iMac. I know airdrop is extremely convenient to move things around, but can you still drag & drop apps like that?
Heresiarch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:33 PM   #3
Razorhog
macrumors 6502a
 
Razorhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arkansas
I used Migration Assistant with a cat6 cable between my old iMac and new iMac. Worked great. When it's done, the new machine will be just like the old one - all programs, settings, etc. Not sure about parallels though. I know Migration assistant won't transfer a bootcamp partition, so it might not with parallels. There is probably a way to move a VM to a new computer though.
Razorhog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:47 PM   #4
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kmad86 View Post
Just got my new 27" in today.

I have a 2.2Ghz i7 17" MBP that I have been using for just a few months. I have kept it very clutter free and just with the essentials that I use and all of my mail accounts are configured correctly. I also use Parallels desktop and have it configured to my liking. Sure, I could start this new iMac fresh but would really like if I could transfer my hard drive over to the new iMac as a carbon copy. I could use Carbon Copy Cloner, but is there any con to doing that?

Did it really matter that the original computer the OS was installed on has now changed?

I just ordered my SSD today so I have a few days to think this over. If there is no downside to a carbon copy image then that's the route I figure I will go.

Thanks!
The best method is to use an external HD and create a bootable clone of your old computer. You will need to use either SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner. You can re-use the EHD as a backup for either the new or old machine after migrating. Then when the new machine arrives when you turn it on for the first time it automatically starts Setup Assistant. Setup Assistant will prompt you to migrate from another Mac. Pondini does and awesome job of explaining this and how to use it in:

http://pondini.org/OSX/Setup.html

Read that and use it and your migration will be extremely easy!!!

The down side is no migration will migrate MS Windows so you will need to re-install it. Parallels will migrate fine but Windows will not!
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; OWC & Lacie EHDs; iPhone 5S; Nikon DLSR
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 04:52 PM   #5
Kmad86
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkaufmann87 View Post
The best method is to use an external HD and create a bootable clone of your old computer. You will need to use either SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner. You can re-use the EHD as a backup for either the new or old machine after migrating. Then when the new machine arrives when you turn it on for the first time it automatically starts Setup Assistant. Setup Assistant will prompt you to migrate from another Mac. Pondini does and awesome job of explaining this and how to use it in:

http://pondini.org/OSX/Setup.html

Read that and use it and your migration will be extremely easy!!!

The down side is no migration will migrate MS Windows so you will need to re-install it. Parallels will migrate fine but Windows will not!
Any suggestion on SuperDuper or CCC being better?
Kmad86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:53 PM   #6
imjoee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorhog View Post
I used Migration Assistant with a cat6 cable between my old iMac and new iMac. Worked great. When it's done, the new machine will be just like the old one - all programs, settings, etc. Not sure about parallels though. I know Migration assistant won't transfer a bootcamp partition, so it might not with parallels. There is probably a way to move a VM to a new computer though.
When transferring the data, does it give you an option to select specific items/documents/apps when you transfer the data? Because I have a multi account iMac and there's about 4 accounts, is there a way to just transfer my own specific account without transferring the entire hard drive?
imjoee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:55 PM   #7
Razorhog
macrumors 6502a
 
Razorhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by imjoee View Post
When transferring the data, does it give you an option to select specific items/documents/apps when you transfer the data? Because I have a multi account iMac and there's about 4 accounts, is there a way to just transfer my own specific account without transferring the entire hard drive?
It gives the option to choose accounts, apps, etc. I'm not sure if you can transfer just one account. I'm about to do a migration, I'll check the options.
Razorhog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:08 PM   #8
Razorhog
macrumors 6502a
 
Razorhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arkansas
There is only one account to transfer on the mac i'm working on. However, it looked like you could choose a particular account.
Razorhog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:29 PM   #9
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkaufmann87 View Post
The best method is to use an external HD and create a bootable clone of your old computer. You will need to use either SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner. You can re-use the EHD as a backup for either the new or old machine after migrating. Then when the new machine arrives when you turn it on for the first time it automatically starts Setup Assistant. Setup Assistant will prompt you to migrate from another Mac. Pondini does and awesome job of explaining this and how to use it in:

http://pondini.org/OSX/Setup.html

Read that and use it and your migration will be extremely easy!!!

The down side is no migration will migrate MS Windows so you will need to re-install it. Parallels will migrate fine but Windows will not!
You cant do this, the new iMacs run a special version OF Mountain Lion!!! My old Mountain Lion bootable backup would not boot up. You need to use migration assistant or start fresh.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:37 PM   #10
pjfla
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I had this dilemma last night. I used (and would recommend) connecting each machine via ethernet cable and sharing from one machine to the other. Works MUCH faster than air drop / dropbox / wifi. I was amazed at how fast I moved nearly 2tb of data.
pjfla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:42 PM   #11
Kmad86
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
You cant do this, the new iMacs run a special version OF Mountain Lion!!! My old Mountain Lion bootable backup would not boot up. You need to use migration assistant or start fresh.
Yeah, it won't boot my backup
Kmad86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:17 PM   #12
Icaras
macrumors 601
 
Icaras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California, United States
Time Capsule/Time Machine backup.

About 3 clicks and after a few hours, and done.

Couldn't be easier.
__________________
iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) iPad Air 2 iPhone 6 Apple TV (3rd Generation) Airport Time Capsule
Icaras is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:23 PM   #13
Chris Blount
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icaras View Post
Time Capsule/Time Machine backup.

About 3 clicks and after a few hours, and done.

Couldn't be easier.
THIS! Just use a Time Machine backup and restore. Don't mess with a clone.
Chris Blount is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:24 AM   #14
mchoffa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Asheville, NC
I used migration assistant for the first time last night going from the Time Machine backup from my old 24" model to the new 27". Blown away by it. I left everything selected and to migrate ~400GB of data over it took just over 4 hours. Then it booted up and I logged in and had all my tabs open, the same apps opened back up, etc. as if I was using the same machine (except that it logged in in about 3 seconds instead of 30)

There were a couple small apps that required me to enter serial numbers again and reset a couple settings, and CS6 required me to activate, but other than that, no work on my part. Flawless and relatively quick.

This way worked best for me because I could still use the old machine while it was migrating.
mchoffa is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:40 PM   #15
imjoee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorhog View Post
There is only one account to transfer on the mac i'm working on. However, it looked like you could choose a particular account.
So you can manually select what you want to transfer?
imjoee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:43 PM   #16
metssuck
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I'm using Time Machine to transfer from my MBP to my iMac
metssuck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:47 PM   #17
slffl
macrumors 65816
 
slffl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Migration Assistant and Time Machine is all you need.
__________________
Why waste your time posting how much you hate Apple products?
slffl is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer from trv900 to late 2012 iMac smr21 Digital Video 4 Jul 3, 2013 10:09 AM
Transfer data between PowerPC iMac and late 2012 iMac BA Baracus iMac 4 May 25, 2013 05:38 PM
Best Way to Transfer Files to a New iMac? tardman91 Mac Basics and Help 3 May 12, 2013 05:22 PM
VHS Transfer to Late 2012 iMac mushroomtip iMac 17 Apr 21, 2013 10:11 AM
Transfer MS Office files to new iMac Apple fanboy Mac Basics and Help 1 Dec 1, 2012 01:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC