Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:06 PM   #1
Kmad86
macrumors member

Best way to backup and transfer files to new 2012 iMac?

Just got my new 27" in today.

I have a 2.2Ghz i7 17" MBP that I have been using for just a few months. I have kept it very clutter free and just with the essentials that I use and all of my mail accounts are configured correctly. I also use Parallels desktop and have it configured to my liking. Sure, I could start this new iMac fresh but would really like if I could transfer my hard drive over to the new iMac as a carbon copy. I could use Carbon Copy Cloner, but is there any con to doing that?

Did it really matter that the original computer the OS was installed on has now changed?

I just ordered my SSD today so I have a few days to think this over. If there is no downside to a carbon copy image then that's the route I figure I will go.

Thanks!
Kmad86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:29 PM   #2
Heresiarch
macrumors member

Same here. I would like to move the things in my MBA to the iMac. I know airdrop is extremely convenient to move things around, but can you still drag & drop apps like that?
Heresiarch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:33 PM   #3
Razorhog
macrumors 6502a

I used Migration Assistant with a cat6 cable between my old iMac and new iMac. Worked great. When it's done, the new machine will be just like the old one - all programs, settings, etc. Not sure about parallels though. I know Migration assistant won't transfer a bootcamp partition, so it might not with parallels. There is probably a way to move a VM to a new computer though.
Razorhog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:47 PM   #4
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kmad86 View Post
Just got my new 27" in today.