Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:29 AM   #1
nick9191
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Britain
Got MBA back, noticed something.

After being without my Air for months, it's now back with it's daddy. Never been so happy. Needed repairs which I couldn't afford for a while (turns out it was covered by warranty anyway, bloody fool that I am).

Anyway, I've noticed that my wifi signal is now kick ass. The repair was a new logic board, which I assume would also mean a new wifi antenna. I never used to be able to connect to my own wifi in my bedroom, because it was three floors away from the router. But now, I'm getting full bar connectivity and kick ass speeds (the Internet is normally slow as hell for everyone else at the house).

I'm just wondering how could this happen? I've checked I haven't accidentally connected to someone else's network and it's all legit. How could the quality of signal change like that between logic boards? Because for a cheap G router 3 floors away I would assume that the rubbish signal I was getting before was accurate.

tldr How the hell am I connecting to a cheap old Netgear router three floors away and getting excellent connectivity and speeds? And why does the quality of wifi antenna between different MBA logic boards change so much?
nick9191 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:44 AM   #2
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Maybe the antenna was faulty. Why question it? It's a good thing.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:09 AM   #3
53x12
macrumors 68000
 
53x12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica. View Post
Maybe the antenna was faulty. Why question it? It's a good thing.
I don't think he is questioning it. Sounds more like he is curious.
53x12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:16 AM   #4
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
It may not have been the logic board, it could have simply been that one of the antennas was faulty or not plugged in before.

The new machines have MULTIPLE wifi antennas.... Could also be firmware related - your new board may have updated firmware.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:26 AM   #5
nick9191
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Britain
Yeah I'm not questioning it, it's fantastic.

The old antenna was pretty good though, so I don't accept it was faulty. I always got better signal than my friends with it, then I moved to this house and I just couldn't get a signal because of the distance.

But this new antenna is a beast.

What's even stranger is whilst everyone else moans about the Internet speed (disregarding wifi connectivity for a minute), there's me flying away. I downloaded the couple of gigs of OS updates that have been released since I last used the laptop and it was done in maybe 30 minutes. Which for a wifi router used by 6 other people, on a known rubbish connection, in England where broadband is pretty average anyway, is fantastic.

I'm happy anyway. Maybe it's like some sort of karma because I had to put up with Windows for so long, now I'm being rewarded.

Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
It may not have been the logic board, it could have simply been that one of the antennas was faulty or not plugged in before.

The new machines have MULTIPLE wifi antennas.... Could also be firmware related - your new board may have updated firmware.
Thanks for that, noted.
nick9191 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rolling Back to 1.9 from 1.9.2 [MBA 2013] DrAlexMv MacBook Air 3 Mar 30, 2014 11:52 PM
***MBA*** Deleted Everything no Back-UP DanielQCl MacBook Air 15 Mar 7, 2014 06:58 AM
Trying to back up to Time Machine after getting a new MBA HipHopTrex MacBook Air 2 Aug 28, 2013 04:36 PM
Back up solutions for MBA abz1981 MacBook Air 39 Mar 13, 2013 02:28 PM
Sold my mba and going back to mbp sahni130 MacBook Air 29 Dec 3, 2012 01:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC