Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 20, 2012, 04:52 AM   #1
Mactux
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Mac Pro or not?

Hello out there!

My iMac is a 2.66 ghz ( 4 gigs ram) early 2008.

I d'ont use my mac for specifics tasks like adobe products or even editing tools. nor I oft play game ( sometimes call of or 3D shooter).
Sometimes I need photoshop. But a few programs are running in the background; air video server, eyetv for live tv streaming, iTunes films library for streaming to the Apple tv.
Converting and importing movies using the hardware legato Turbo 264 HD, downloading movies and songs, oft importing photo to iPhoto or Aperture 2.
Also i do some backup with time machine on en external hard drive… but believe it or not the iMac comes to get tired… spinning ball coming more often… and if I want to open up
excel file ( including macros) that's enough for the iMac...


So to get short,
I don't game much ( but when I do everything must be ok )
I don't use much programs like Adobe suite ( but when I do everything must run smoothly)
I do use many programs ( some of them background one) at the same time

Considering all that, I was wondering if should go for a MacPro ( 2.66 ghz or 2.8 ghz) or even a new mac mini core i7 bur as stated when I am playing game it must be all right…
What do you think guys

thank you
Mactux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 05:56 AM   #2
flatfoot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
You don't need a Mac Pro. Go with a mini or an iMac.
If I were in your shoes, I'd rather get the iMac with the fastest CPU available and max out the RAM with aftermarket parts. If I went mini, I'd do those two, too.
__________________
Power Mac G5-i7 i7-870@3.52GHz, 8GB CL8 1600MHz RAM, GeForce 9600GT, 360GB internal SSD, 13TB storage + 12.25TB backup via HighPoint RR2314
MBA 2013 1.3 Ci5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
iPod touch 4G 32GB
flatfoot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 09:04 AM   #3
deconstruct60
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mactux View Post
Hello out there!

My iMac is a 2.66 ghz ( 4 gigs ram) early 2008.
Is there something restricting you to just 4GB of RAM ?

That's not much if running a couple of applications at the same time with a large footprint. Try running Activity Monitor (in the Utilities folder). If your disk activity read/write rate is very slow ( hundreds of kb/s ) and/or swap used high (and page outs GB much better than than RAM size after running after a fresh boot for a while) then you may not be getting everything you can out of your iMac.

Your disk could be highly fragmented or dying for slow rates. Similarly, you may need to just bump up to 8GB. If running Mountain Lion (or Lion) probably should be up at 8GB anyway.


Quote:
Also i do some backup with time machine on en external hard drive… but believe it or not the iMac comes to get tired…
Backing up over USB 2.0? If so that wouldn't be surprising. Again kick off a full backup and see what the data rates are in a tool like Activity Monitor.


Quote:
What do you think guys
Find out why it is slow then that will lead to insights on what to buy to solve the problem.
deconstruct60 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 11:17 AM   #4
Mactux
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Max pro or not ?

Hi,

I already considered to upgrade the quantity of RAM, but according specs the maximum i can put into the iMac is 6 Gb using third party software.
it 'll not bring much difference swapping them imo.
Also I could place a big ssd drive ( not me but a tech)...

While backing-up the monitor activity shows me a rate of Max of 6.7 Mo/s at this very moment…
I am running OSX Lion.
This is why a mac pro could help me ( expandability in term of RAM CPU GPU drive, etc...).

Thanks for your quick replies guys!
Mactux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 03:41 PM   #5
Coldmode
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mactux View Post
Hi,

I already considered to upgrade the quantity of RAM, but according specs the maximum i can put into the iMac is 6 Gb using third party software.
it 'll not bring much difference swapping them imo.
Also I could place a big ssd drive ( not me but a tech)...

While backing-up the monitor activity shows me a rate of Max of 6.7 Mo/s at this very moment…
I am running OSX Lion.
This is why a mac pro could help me ( expandability in term of RAM CPU GPU drive, etc...).

Thanks for your quick replies guys!
Just get a new iMac with 16GB of RAM. It will be much cheaper than a Mac Pro and you'll be able to use it for years. However, if you just want a Mac Pro, go for it. I don't particularly need a Mac Pro, but I like them for the easy swapability of components.
__________________
15" Macbook Pro 11,2, 2.0GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB HD; iPhone 5s 32GB, Black; Retina iPad Mini 32GB T-Mobile, Black
Coldmode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 05:02 PM   #6
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coldmode View Post
Just get a new iMac with 16GB of RAM. It will be much cheaper than a Mac Pro and you'll be able to use it for years. However, if you just want a Mac Pro, go for it. I don't particularly need a Mac Pro, but I like them for the easy swapability of components.
Unless of course the display dies after 1.5 years or 3.5 years. Then it is an oddly shaped tower. Get the RAM from anyone other than Apple. Which means get a 27".
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:56 AM   #7
Mactux
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
New Mac Pro owner

Hello all,

I finally pulled the trigger on a second hand Mac pro 2008! specs in the signature.

It wasn't that easy to make the choice between an new Imac or this Mac pro but considering what i do and the possibilty to upgrade some components, I guess the mac pro meet my need. Ok I do not use ( yet ?) FCP and logic and so on but that's not important to me.
That thing runs quite fast and smoothly. I am pretty happy right now!!
I plan to swap the internal hdd against two SSD drive ( raid 0) and put the regular hdd in raid 1. Further swap the graphic card. So I 'll be done for a few years I guess!

In any case, thx for your comments!!

Last edited by Mactux; Jan 22, 2013 at 03:13 AM.
Mactux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 06:05 PM   #8
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by flatfoot View Post
You don't need a Mac Pro. Go with a mini or an iMac.
If I were in your shoes, I'd rather get the iMac with the fastest CPU available and max out the RAM with aftermarket parts. If I went mini, I'd do those two, too.
mheh... only issue i have with the imac is you can't uprade the GPU
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:32 PM   #9
pprior
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
No specs in the signature

Make sure at -least- 8gb of ram in there.

Enjoy.
__________________
2013 nMP 6core 16GB RAM, Promise Pegaus2 R6 12TB RAID; uMBP 17/Matte
pprior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:01 AM   #10
Mactux
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Hi!

Signature was normally enabled!

Yes the Mac has at least 8 Gb of Ram...

thx!!
__________________
Mac Pro 2008 2.8 GHz - eight core - 8G Ram - 640 GB - HD 2600 XT
Mactux is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waterfield Designs Debuts 'Mac Pro Go Case' for Transporting 2013 Mac Pro MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 43 Jun 11, 2014 04:45 PM
nMP, New Mac Pro, Mac Mini Pro, 6,1, Mac Pro....Decide! Anim Mac Pro 12 Feb 4, 2014 12:53 PM
Upgraded 3.46GHz 12-core 2010 Mac Pro faster than new 2.7GHz Mac Pro? jkheit Mac Pro 11 Jan 3, 2014 02:44 PM
Refurb MAC PRO 2012 or ebay Mac Pro 2010 or Imac indecisively Mac Pro 0 Nov 24, 2012 05:04 PM
Using a PC graphic card in Mac Pro Rev.A [EFI 32] (Mac Pro 1st Gen/1.1) flexage Mac Pro 16 Oct 3, 2012 12:01 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC