Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:44 AM   #1
biosci
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicagoland, IL
HDMI Cables - Is there a big difference between dif generations? / versions?

Just wondering if there were cables specifically for 1.3 and 1.4 spec HDMI or if it really mattered.

Thanks,
Mike
biosci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:54 AM   #2
Jsameds
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Just get the cheapest 1.4's you can find, usually £2-3 on Amazon
Jsameds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:07 AM   #3
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
There is an exceptionally small difference between all HDMI cables. The versions dont actually mean anything to the cables, that is all based upon the units you are transferring data between. They mark versions on cables to ensure their support for the bandwidth required of each version. For example, HDMI 1.3 added support for high bitrate 1080p and 7.1 audio, and HDMI 1.4/1.4a added support for 3D 1080p transfers. Only the sending and receiving unit (blu ray player and TV as an example) actually need support for these versions, but the cable you are using needs to be able to support the bandwidth required.

In terms of brand, there is literally no difference between any of them. The cheapest 1.4 cable is the same as the most expensive 1.4 cable with perhaps the exception of how much rubber shielding is around them. The only time you would ever need more shielding is if you are wrapping your HDMI cable around a 240V electrical wire or something stupid along those lines. Don't fall into the "Monster cables are the best!" marketing, its all a load of crap.
Pyromonkey83 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:07 AM   #4
Che Castro
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2009
Get the amazonbasics HDMI cables
Che Castro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 08:45 AM   #5
musicpenguy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Basically they are pretty similar - in the analog days the metals used mattered more - with digital you either have a signal or you don't. Image quality will be the same for a cheap cable and a $3000 cable.
__________________
(2006: 17" MBP, Rev A: MBA Sold), 2009 Mac Mini, MBA 1.4GHz, 2GB, 128GB, 11" - iPad 64GB 3G, eMate 300, MP2100, 2G 8GB iPhone, 3G 16GB iPhone, 3G&6G Nano, 2G Shuffle, 160GB TV, TV-V2 - TPPN.TV
musicpenguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:18 PM   #6
biosci
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicagoland, IL
I see, I just didn't know if a cable that came out when 1.3 was the standard can still handle 1.4 3D signals. I didn't think there really would be any added 'ingredients' that made it 'more special'. i.e. microUSB cables or iPhone cables (The old 30 pin ones) supported early models and newer models with more features etc. Another specific example would be early iPod Videos used the 30 pin adapter to export video via RGB cables but you can use the same cable on your iPad 3 to export 1080p via and HDMI adapter!

Mike
biosci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:28 PM   #7
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
All good information, but especially about the overpriced offerings form Monster etc. I bought a. ATV3 as a gift yesterday...cost of ATV? £89 the idiot sales guy said ". You will need a top quality cable for this to work sir...." And directed me to the rack of gold Monste cables. Cost of a 2meter Monster? £69.00

Son, I said....I'm a recording engineer and studio musician....I have plenty of HDMI cables, but do you really think I'd pay near,y as much for the cable as I did for the unit itself?

He walked away..
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 12:18 AM   #8
terrymaz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hour North of Chicago
I use Monoprice for all cables etc...... Dirt cheap and fast shippers.
__________________
15" MBPR 512/16GB,..15" 09 MBP...iPad 2 and 3..iPhone 5 ,...Apple TV 2, 2TB Time Capsule and a wifi network named Apple snob, You know you want one. LOL .)
terrymaz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 12:32 AM   #9
QuarterSwede
macrumors 604
 
QuarterSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
All good information, but especially about the overpriced offerings form Monster etc. I bought a. ATV3 as a gift yesterday...cost of ATV? £89 the idiot sales guy said ". You will need a top quality cable for this to work sir...." And directed me to the rack of gold Monste cables. Cost of a 2meter Monster? £69.00

Son, I said....I'm a recording engineer and studio musician....I have plenty of HDMI cables, but do you really think I'd pay near,y as much for the cable as I did for the unit itself?

He walked away..
At least you were diplomatic. I probably wouldn't have been able to help myself. Something along the lines of, "Now you know why Best Buy isn't doing so hot."


Quote:
Originally Posted by terrymaz View Post
I use Monoprice for all cables etc...... Dirt cheap and fast shippers.
Yes! Monoprice is fantastic. You literally can't find cheaper prices, higher quality, and faster shipping times with the exception of maybe Amazon Prime. Highly recommended site.
__________________
“In a world of idiots, the average man is king."

"Next to the Word of God, the noble art of music is the greatest treasure in the world." -- Martin Luther
QuarterSwede is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 11:18 AM   #10
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
There can be differences. If you look at Monoprice's cables, you will see various sizes. (AWG) Where this starts to matter is in length. For a standard install with a 6' cable, anything should work. If you need something 20' and up, you want to start looking at the size. (not price)
__________________
-- Spiky
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 04:02 AM   #11
Dobbs2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAT View Post
There can be differences. If you look at Monoprice's cables, you will see various sizes. (AWG) Where this starts to matter is in length. For a standard install with a 6' cable, anything should work. If you need something 20' and up, you want to start looking at the size. (not price)
From my experience this is correct, but only the 35' mark and above.

If you look at suppliers for 35' and longer they don't even guarantee 1080p signal in those lengths. They will guarantee 720p. The exception is the newer cables that have Redmere technology, but even that has limitations of 65'. For the average joe that will be fine.

Just keep in mind if you are doing in wall installations you look at the cables you are buying. Also make sure that you have the cables going the correct way. On these new ones with Redmere they have it to where a certain end is the source and the other is the tv and they don't work the other way.
Dobbs2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI cables on older Macbook Pro ThunderRoad MacBook Pro 5 Jan 19, 2014 06:52 PM
Thunderbolt to HDMI cables.. -LikesMac- Mac Peripherals 2 Jun 30, 2013 01:26 PM
Apple Promises iPhone 5-Compatible HDMI and VGA Cables Coming Soon MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 145 Sep 16, 2012 02:57 PM
hdmi to scart cables Luis Ortega Digital Photography 7 Jul 17, 2012 07:19 AM
I Hate Cables and Big Adapters Mobile923 iPhone Accessories 1 Jun 14, 2012 07:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps