Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 15, 2012, 10:56 AM   #1
Xeratix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
C&C Generals for MacOSX 10.8?

Hello,
I just spent a good 3 hours searching the Net for a Command & Conquers,
which is compatible with Mountain Lion 10.8.1
Now im not really sure if its compatible already or i would need a No-install (preinstalled version) or what i exactly i am looking for:

SO if anyone knows a link i could download the game .. then
OMG that would be so bro of you!

Im just before giving up

BTW, Age of Empires would also be an adequate alternative<3
Xeratix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 11:53 AM   #2
keysofanxiety
macrumors 6502a
 
keysofanxiety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a house that defies physics by being colder than absolute zero.
It's not native to Mac anyhow, so if you were to find a version, it'd be a crappy Cider-wrapped port or something.

My suggestion? Run it in a virtual machine, or Bootcamp it. I personally use Parallels Desktops, which in my opinion is the dog's -- but if you want peak performance, I'd probably do it through Bootcamp.

I'm more of a C&C 3 Tib Wars guy myself. :P
keysofanxiety is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:15 AM   #3
macgames
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
 
see vendor information in user profile
I've spent many hours myself trying to track down a version of Command and Conquer to sell in our store, but as keysofanxiety said, it is just a Cider port anyway, so not that great.

If you want the next best thing Company of Heroes is pretty close, and has better graphics if that helps swing your decisions at all. You can get either the download version or boxed version from MacGames.co.uk/CompanyofHeroes
macgames is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 11:11 AM   #4
meme1255
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Czech Republic
There's one working copy on my harddrive - And it isn't cider, generals are native - They don't work in multiplayer with windows client
__________________
MBP 2008 Late 2,53 GHz, 8GB RAM @ 10.9.0 ( stuck digiout ), iPad 2 iOS 7.0.3 64GB 3G, iPhone 4S 16GB iOS 7.0.4
PSPad for Mac Cider games [ C&C 3 etc.]flicker fix
meme1255 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 05:09 AM   #5
ScottishCaptain
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by keysofanxiety View Post
It's not native to Mac anyhow, so if you were to find a version, it'd be a crappy Cider-wrapped port or something.

My suggestion? Run it in a virtual machine, or Bootcamp it. I personally use Parallels Desktops, which in my opinion is the dog's -- but if you want peak performance, I'd probably do it through Bootcamp.

I'm more of a C&C 3 Tib Wars guy myself. :P
Aspyr begs to differ with you:

http://www.aspyr.com/games/legacy

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...16832351018CVF

It's hard to track down these days, but it exists (I own it). They later updated it to a universal binary (PowerPC/Intel). It is certainly not a Cider-wrapped port. Since there's no installer (you just drag and drop the folder to your disk drive) and the universal binary updater runs on Intel, I can't see why it wouldn't work under 10.8.

Only thing is, the Mac version used some stupid Game Ranger variant for online play and wasn't compatible with the PC version. Frankly, given the primitive (by todays standards) graphics and limited resolution (the game won't do anything above 1440x900 I think), it would probably be easier to fire up the PC version inside a VM. It should run just fine, I know Act Of War does and it's the same engine as Generals.

Of course, I think he's asking for a pirated link to a torrent so everything is moot anyways.

-SC
__________________
2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1), 2*2.93ghz, 64GB, 4x2TB, Apple RAID Card, 5970 GPU, 2xSD, Eizo CG276W
ScottishCaptain is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 07:35 AM   #6
92jlee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Send a message via MSN to 92jlee
I have a copy of the windows version so I downloaded (illiegally yes but I have PAID for the same game under windows so thats how I justify it to myself) and its a Universal Binary, I am running 10.6 still so havent tested it on 10.8 but I don't see why it wouldn't work.

Very good game, much better than any of the new C&Cs.
__________________
| Mac Pro 1,1 upgraded to X5355 | PowerBook G4 17 1.50Ghz | iMac G4 1.25Ghz |
92jlee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 06:44 PM   #7
StefanYFC
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Only supports PowerPC natively. I was doing it through Parallels and it worked just fine, but Parallels wouldn't run Borderlands 2 (obviously..) so I just got rid of it. Now BL2 is out for Mac, just my luck.

Anyway, I'd say if you have access to Parallels, that's probably the easiest way.
__________________
Phones: Nokia Lumia 800, Samsung Galaxy Nexus (4.2.2), LG Nexus 4 (4.2.2)
Tablets: HP Touchpad, Blackberry Playbook, Google Nexus 7
Laptops: Samsung Series 5 Google Chromebook, rMBP 2.3/8/256
StefanYFC is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC