Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 8, 2015, 10:39 AM   #1
strukt
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to strukt Send a message via Skype™ to strukt
5k iMac with external display

Is it possible to "turn off" the 5k retina display?

I was thinking about having an additional 1080p display connected for some casual gaming. It uses a resolution the GPU should be able to handle. Anyone done this?
__________________
I produce Royalty Free Electronic Music. Maybe something for your next project?
strukt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2015, 01:14 PM   #2
andy9l
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England, UK
5k iMac with external display

Run the game at 1080p on the 5K screen.

Less stress than running an external monitor at 1080p AND the 5K screen since you cannot turn off the 5K screen.
__________________
27" iMac; 12" rMB; 15" MBP; iPhone 6; iPad Air 2; iPad Mini 2;
andy9l is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2015, 05:18 PM   #3
strukt
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to strukt Send a message via Skype™ to strukt
I am going to answer my own question, in case someone wants to know or searches.

Just got the 5k iMac, maxed. 32GB / 4Ghz / 295.

I use an additional Dell Ultrasharp U2412M with an resolution of 1920x1200. I booted my Windows 10 install from an external SSD. Installed the bootcamp AMD graphics driver. Then right clicked on the desktop and selected to show desktop only on display 2.

This deactivated the iMacs display and only let the Dell display be active. Meaning I could play some games, in this case Metro Last Light Redux in stable 60+ fps with high graphic settings and 1920x1200 res. I didn't have time do to any detailed benchmarking but it was wery smooth and the fan didn't make that much noise but it did speed up in some high intensive scenes.

It doesn't work in OS X though, or I haven't figured out how to do it.
__________________
I produce Royalty Free Electronic Music. Maybe something for your next project?
strukt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2015, 05:32 PM   #4
andy9l
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England, UK
It should run identically on the iMac screen at the same resolution.
__________________
27" iMac; 12" rMB; 15" MBP; iPhone 6; iPad Air 2; iPad Mini 2;
andy9l is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2015, 06:31 PM   #5
strukt
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to strukt Send a message via Skype™ to strukt
It should, but with blur. Running in native resolution is better, sharpness - wise.
__________________
I produce Royalty Free Electronic Music. Maybe something for your next project?
strukt is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC