Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2012, 09:58 PM   #1
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
iPad connected to the net and working fine, but no signal bars. Why?

I am in a hotel, connected to their wifi and writing this as we speak. The network isn't particularly fast but it works.

However I have no signal strength bars in the very top left of the screen as is usual, and yet I am obviously connected. How can this be!?

Anyone know what could be going on?
__________________
15" MBP 4.1, 2.5 GHz C2D, 4GB RAM 750GB HD, OS 10.8.3 - iPad 3. iOS 6.1.3 - iPad Nano 6G.
Have a question? First run a search!
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:08 PM   #2
cutienoua
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
reboot
cutienoua is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 11:24 PM   #3
Born2Run
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On the Sea
I had this with my iPad 3 when I first upgraded to IOS 6... If I connected to the home network I set up from my Mac Mini to stream movies using Air Video, I never got any signal bars but if I accessed the internet from outside I did get them...

I discovered it was something to do with the IP address, I set a static IP address on my home network and suddenly the bars reappeared!

So I think it's just a problem with the DHCP settings on the iPad or network (I think if the IP address starts with 169) ... As long as it still accesses the web I wouldn't worry about it.
__________________
Late 2013 Retina 15" MacBook Pro 2011 Mac Mini 64GB iPhone 5s 16GB iPad Mini 160GB iPod Classic 16GB iPod Nano
Born2Run is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 03:17 AM   #4
kdum8
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by cutienoua View Post
reboot
This fixed the problem thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
I had this with my iPad 3 when I first upgraded to IOS 6... If I connected to the home network I set up from my Mac Mini to stream movies using Air Video, I never got any signal bars but if I accessed the internet from outside I did get them...

I discovered it was something to do with the IP address, I set a static IP address on my home network and suddenly the bars reappeared!

So I think it's just a problem with the DHCP settings on the iPad or network (I think if the IP address starts with 169) ... As long as it still accesses the web I wouldn't worry about it.
Thanks for that, always good to hear other's experiences.

Problem resolved!
__________________
15" MBP 4.1, 2.5 GHz C2D, 4GB RAM 750GB HD, OS 10.8.3 - iPad 3. iOS 6.1.3 - iPad Nano 6G.
Have a question? First run a search!
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Fake Signal Bars cclloyd Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 19 Feb 23, 2014 06:23 PM
iPhone: Signal bars in the notification center? Missjenna Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 May 4, 2013 02:08 AM
Iphone 5 signal dropping from full bars to 3 bars every 24 hours onearsenewenger iPhone 4 Oct 14, 2012 07:44 PM
Low Signal bars? jetlitheone iPhone 2 Sep 22, 2012 12:41 AM
No cellular data with 4 bars of signal MSampson iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jun 21, 2012 11:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC