Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 22, 2012, 12:57 AM   #1
AKM1989
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Will the fusion drive help with Logic Pro?

I'm planning on getting an iMac 21.5 primarily for music production via logic, along with basic internet surfing and word processing. It's always been a dream of mine to produce electronic dance music, so my productions will eventually be pretty track heavy and dense. I've already decided to get 16 GB of ram, but will the fusion drive help as well? I want to make sure there's never any lag or CPU overload. Would the fusion drive help out with performance in logic? Thanks.
AKM1989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 01:52 AM   #2
bobright
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I'm pretty sure you would benefit as Logic would be run off the SSD if you use it a lot
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 01:52 AM   #3
crewkid89
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Will you record to the internal driver or an external? I would assume that the fusion drive would increase overall performance. Optimally you should be recording to a good external drive over FireWire or better
crewkid89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 02:03 AM   #4
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
I'm banking on it...Went for the 3TB Fusion on my new iMac...from what I've seen on buddies new 21.5's with the smaller 1TB model, it's a pretty smart device...Just made for Apps like Logic, FCP etc.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 10:18 AM   #5
LogicRumours
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Yes, especially if mixing big projects.
__________________
Logic X http://logicrumours.com
Audio, Video and Image http://proappusers.com
LogicRumours is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 04:52 PM   #6
themagicmonkey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Recording Audio and Music production

Quote:
Originally Posted by LogicRumours View Post
Yes, especially if mixing big projects.
HI

I am hopeful you can all help - i'm new to Mac after years with custom built audio pc's and I have just taken delivery of a new 2012 27" Imac with 3Tb Fusion 16gb ram I7 processor etc. I just wondered if I am best adding 2 external thunderbolt drives for 1. recording to and 2. storing sample libraries like Superior Drummer and Native Instruments etc. My question is do I go for SSD drives for both or just thunderbolt 7200rpm drives. Or do I just have one extra TB drive for recording to and store all my samples on the fusion HDD. I doa fair about with VSTs as well as recording Audio on fairly track intensive songs with a Universal Audio Thunderbolt Appolo interface. Any help would be very much appreciated. Loving the I-Mac by the way - a thing of beauty!! Thanks Mike
themagicmonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fusion drive on a Macbook Pro BookEmDanno MacBook Pro 3 Mar 20, 2013 07:06 PM
Mac Pro 5,1 Fusion Drive ssls6 Mac Pro 0 Feb 13, 2013 09:30 AM
Anyone running a Fusion Drive in their Mac Pro? odinsride Mac Pro 2 Jan 29, 2013 12:17 PM
Fusion drive on MacBook Pro Mid2012 Kayzey MacBook Pro 4 Jan 8, 2013 01:57 PM
Has anybody got Fusion drive working in macbook pro? BB.King MacBook Pro 15 Nov 17, 2012 02:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC