Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 3, 2013, 01:19 PM   #1
Bill Harr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
How much faster will a rMBP be over my MBA?

Bought a 13" MBA as my first Apple product. Got it to do video edits of GoPro as the PC was a PITA to use. So far I am just using I-Movie and it works for now. The wife is going to need a new laptop. We both like the size and function of the 13" MBA. Only down side it the time it takes to process movies from the Drop box to I-Movie. My question is how much of an improvement will I see if I I get the 15" rMBP over the MBA? Going to buy either a rMBP or another MBA in the next month.

Not sure if I should move up to Final Cut to use for editing or is there a better Mac program that I should look at?

Thank you for any information. This is my first post, have been reading the forum for a few months.


Bill in Stockton
Bill Harr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 01:27 PM   #2
marioman38
macrumors 6502a
 
marioman38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle.Wa
Nothing beats FCP, not sure about FCPX though.

http://www.barefeats.com/mba12a.html

http://www.barefeats.com/mbp12ma.html

http://www.barefeats.com/ppcs6.html

http://www.barefeats.com/mbp12cp.html
__________________
Mac: 2011 Air 13" i5 1.7 256gb
Desktop: XPS 8500 i7 3.4ghz 8GB RAM, 5TB HD
iPhone: 5 Slate 16GB (AT&T)
marioman38 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 01:31 PM   #3
53x12
macrumors 68000
 
53x12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Harr View Post
Bought a 13" MBA as my first Apple product. Got it to do video edits of GoPro as the PC was a PITA to use. So far I am just using I-Movie and it works for now. The wife is going to need a new laptop. We both like the size and function of the 13" MBA. Only down side it the time it takes to process movies from the Drop box to I-Movie. My question is how much of an improvement will I see if I I get the 15" rMBP over the MBA? Going to buy either a rMBP or another MBA in the next month.

Not sure if I should move up to Final Cut to use for editing or is there a better Mac program that I should look at?

Thank you for any information. This is my first post, have been reading the forum for a few months.


Bill in Stockton
Why are you processing movies from Dropbox to iMovie? Why not have your movies local? That can be much of your hangup. Why not get an external USB 3 or a TB hard drive to throw all your movies and videos?

For some objective data on difference, go to geek bench to check out the difference in benchmarks. Geekbench is CPU heavy.

Top end 15" rMBP: http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekb...2700%20bits:64

Top end 13" MBA: http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekb...2000%20bits:64

You are looking at ~75% boost in performance (CPU) from going from the top end 13" MBA to a top end 15" rMBP.

Don't forget 15" rMBP comes with dedicated GPU vs. MBA with the integrated Intel HD 4000.
53x12 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 01:57 PM   #4
kage207
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
XXXXXX-----What he said above... you are limiting the speed of your computer because of access to DropBox of your download speed and DropBox upload speed. Get an external USB3. ----XXXXX

INCORRECT INFO.
__________________
MBA 13", i5 1.8GHz, 8GM RAM, 128GB SSD
These are amazing products that enrich our lives that we see as toys, remember that they are expensive and should be used as tools to reach our dreams~

Last edited by kage207; Jan 3, 2013 at 06:00 PM.
kage207 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 02:06 PM   #5
halledise
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Harr View Post
My question is how much of an improvement will I see if I I get the 15" rMBP over the MBA? Going to buy either a rMBP or another MBA in the next month.
you will see a huge improvement with a 15" rMBP especially with apps like FCPX.
quad-core processor for starters, plus NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1gb VRAM (in addition to the standard Intel HD Graphics 4000)
halledise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 02:16 PM   #6
Bill Harr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 53x12 View Post
Why are you processing movies from Dropbox to iMovie? Why not have your movies local? That can be much of your hangup. Why not get an external USB 3 or a TB hard drive to throw all your movies and videos?
This how the Apple help line told me to load my video off the SD card out of the GoPro. I do have a 1TB usb3 external drive that I store my finished videos on. The slow part is loading to Imovie and processing after I finish editing.

How should I be importing from my GoPro to Imovie?
Bill Harr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 02:20 PM   #7
53x12
macrumors 68000
 
53x12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Harr View Post
This how the Apple help line told me to load my video off the SD card out of the GoPro. I do have a 1TB usb3 external drive that I store my finished videos on. The slow part is loading to Imovie and processing after I finish editing.

How should I be importing from my GoPro to Imovie?
Apple told you to use Dropbox? Why not import off your SD card directly into iMovie or your USB 3 drive?
53x12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 02:23 PM   #8
kage207
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Harr View Post
This how the Apple help line told me to load my video off the SD card out of the GoPro. I do have a 1TB usb3 external drive that I store my finished videos on. The slow part is loading to Imovie and processing after I finish editing.

How should I be importing from my GoPro to Imovie?
Either load your footage to your MBA or your external drive. From there you should edit your footage in iMovie (note that it will be faster on your MBA SSD then external). After you finish your editing, make sure the project is on your SSD before you convert your finished project into a format as this will speed up processing the project. After you finish processing your project throw it back onto your external.

Note: When working with your footage from DropBox it will be the slowest processing in iMovie. If you use your external for processing the footage into iMovie it will be much faster as it is 5Gbps (though you will see roughly 50-100MB/s). If your footage is on your SSD it will be the fastest as it can read around 250MB/s.
__________________
MBA 13", i5 1.8GHz, 8GM RAM, 128GB SSD
These are amazing products that enrich our lives that we see as toys, remember that they are expensive and should be used as tools to reach our dreams~
kage207 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 04:01 PM   #9
wolfpuppies3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
Sage advice all. Dropbox is fine for a lot of things but has no place in your video processing work flow. That is your speed problem.

I looked at the 15" RMBP last spring and decided that the price of a maxed out one, around $4000, did not fit my budget especially as I do much of my work on the Apple 27" monitor anyway. For half that price I bought a maxed 13" MBA and love it.

My two cents worth, literally.
__________________
2012 MBA 13, 2 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; 2011 MBA 11, 1.8 Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD; 2010 MB Pro 15, 2.66 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; two iPad 3s and a mini, two iPhones and a bunch of iPods
wolfpuppies3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 05:26 PM   #10
EedyBeedyBeeps
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kage207 View Post
What he said above... you are limiting the speed of your computer because of access to DropBox of your download speed and DropBox upload speed. Get an external USB3.
Sorry to meander down this tangent, but can you help me to understand? I work out of my Dropbox folder and haven't noticed any performance degradation--but maybe I'm not looking at it correctly.

I've thought that Dropbox "saves then distributes;" keeping local copies until there's an update to a file; then uploading that update to the user's cloud-based folder; and then downloading it to all the local Dropbox folders. So files can be used offline and later sync when there's an internet connection. And, so, saving to the DropBox folder is like saving to any other local folder except this folder selectively sucks files into the cloud in an action separate from the saving.

What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.
EedyBeedyBeeps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 05:54 PM   #11
kage207
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by EedyBeedyBeeps View Post
Sorry to meander down this tangent, but can you help me to understand? I work out of my Dropbox folder and haven't noticed any performance degradation--but maybe I'm not looking at it correctly.

I've thought that Dropbox "saves then distributes;" keeping local copies until there's an update to a file; then uploading that update to the user's cloud-based folder; and then downloading it to all the local Dropbox folders. So files can be used offline and later sync when there's an internet connection. And, so, saving to the DropBox folder is like saving to any other local folder except this folder selectively sucks files into the cloud in an action separate from the saving.

What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.
My bad. I looked into it. I forgot about that. You are correct.
__________________
MBA 13", i5 1.8GHz, 8GM RAM, 128GB SSD
These are amazing products that enrich our lives that we see as toys, remember that they are expensive and should be used as tools to reach our dreams~
kage207 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 01:19 PM   #12
halledise
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by EedyBeedyBeeps View Post
Sorry to meander down this tangent, but can you help me to understand? I work out of my Dropbox folder and haven't noticed any performance degradation--but maybe I'm not looking at it correctly.

I've thought that Dropbox "saves then distributes;
my issue with Dropbox is that one cannot setup a 'public' folder that anyone can access without needing a password or to have a Dropbox account.
unless I'm missing something, there was no way I could get it to work.

LaCie on the other hand have 'Wuala' which is a snap to use on a Mac and has the public access folder available for anyone, plus one's own 'private' folders

5gb for free and then you pay
halledise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 02:31 PM   #13
Bill Harr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
New to the apple stuff. My Gopro records in mp4 and it looks like the conversion to mov file to edit in Imovie is what is taking the time. Will Imovie edit an mp4 or do I have to do the conversion? Will FCPX edit mp4? I need to get to an Apple class on Imovie, just not any close to where I live.

Thanks for all the help.
Bill Harr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 02:55 PM   #14
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Harr View Post
New to the apple stuff. My Gopro records in mp4 and it looks like the conversion to mov file to edit in Imovie is what is taking the time. Will Imovie edit an mp4 or do I have to do the conversion? Will FCPX edit mp4? I need to get to an Apple class on Imovie, just not any close to where I live.

Thanks for all the help.
Next time you convert a movie, start "Activity Monitor" (it is in the Utilities folder inside the Application folder), and in the "Window" menu turn on "CPU usage". If CPU usage is low, then transferring the data takes the time, and a rMBP won't help. If CPU usage is high, then the rMBP will make a huge difference. 4 cores instead of two, and they are each a lot faster than the ones in the MBA.
gnasher729 is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Besides Processor: What's faster on rMBP over new MBA? legaleye3000 MacBook Pro 20 Jun 22, 2013 06:05 PM
How much faster is a 13" rMBP than a 13" MBA? TrollToddington MacBook Pro 6 Jun 19, 2013 06:45 PM
Are rMBP with 10.8.4 faster? Ultra AleM MacBook Pro 13 Jun 7, 2013 04:44 AM
13 rMBP vs 15 rMBP... 13 a faster machine... no 15 spec bump to match? Brows MacBook Pro 7 Oct 25, 2012 03:06 AM
MBA Seemed faster than rMBP? MilleDav01 Buying Tips and Advice 2 Jun 22, 2012 05:38 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC