Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JoelBC

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 16, 2012
I am new to Mac and am in the process of trying to find a good third party backup/rsync wrapper application...

I stumbled across backuplist+ [see http://rdutoit.home.comcast.net/~rdutoit/pub/robsoft/pages/softw.html ] which is fantastic in every way except that it does not play nice with my NAS drive which i) is not HFS+ formatted but ii) is AFP and CIFS compatible...

The backuplist+ developer suggested that I ask as to whether CCC does / does not work well with NAS drives like mine as he believes that the CCC developer has done a lot of work in this area...

With that, please provide me with feedback regarding the use of CCC and NAS drives which are not HFS+ formatted...

Thanks in advance...

Joel

kaelell

macrumors 6502
Nov 16, 2009
bump* am also looking for similar advice, actually I am still deciding what NAS enclosure to buy ( looking at a popular one from Synology) but understand there are various things to consider especially if I want to use 3TB it has to be formatted a particular way ? I dont quite fully understand the implications that would have on timemachine or CCC

fhall1

macrumors 68040
Dec 18, 2007
(Central) NY State of mind
Are you looking to back up your system to NAS using CCC, or backup your NAS to another drive?

CCC will not make a bootable clone on a network drive.

However, I use CCC to backup my old Thecus NAS to an external HD regularly. My Synology NAS has it's own routine for backing itself up to a USB drive connected to the NAS itself.

blevins321

macrumors 68030
Dec 24, 2010
Detroit, MI
Above poster is right about the clone not being bootable. However you can use CCC to create and backup to a disk image on your NAS. If your system crashes you can boot to the Mac's Internet recovery partition and restore the image off the NAS using disk utility.