Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2012, 09:59 PM   #1
soamz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
How to take complete backup ?

Hi.. I have all the settings and data and apps ready on my iPad.

There are few issues with this new iPad ,so I would most probably ask them for a replacement .

But before I do that , I would like to keep a complete backup of my device , so that when the new one comes, I can simply restore everything to what I have now .


Let me know, how to.
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 10:36 PM   #2
SnowLeopard OSX
macrumors 6502a
 
SnowLeopard OSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
You can backup/restore using either iCloud or iTunes. Here are the steps (provided on Apple's official website):

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1766
__________________
iPad |4th gen Black/ 32GB/ iOS 8.0
iMac |G4 1.0 GHz/ 1.25 GHz PPCG4 (7445)
iPod |Classic Black/ 80GB|U2 edition 20GB
iPhone |4S White/16GB/ iOS 7.0|3G White/16GB iOS 8.0
SnowLeopard OSX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 11:03 PM   #3
raccoonboy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
just connect to your computer itune and sync the device. Itune should operate a complete back up of all setting, apps and game progress. I avoid using Icloud, prefer to have it save on my computer harddisk.
raccoonboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 11:22 PM   #4
soamz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
ITunes asks me to erase everything and it wants me to sync with its old data.

I can't afford to erase or lose anything. Let me know how then.
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 09:09 AM   #5
soamz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
Anyone anyone ??
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 11:55 AM   #6
Rhyalus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Dude, use the icloud backup...someone answered you already. Go to Settings / General / icloud.

It works great.

R
Rhyalus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 12:09 PM   #7
soamz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhyalus View Post
Dude, use the icloud backup...someone answered you already. Go to Settings / General / icloud.

It works great.

R
I dont have a super fast internet connection and iCloud is just 5GB.

My iPad Apps purchases is total around 20GB , games and business apps.

So, iCloud is out of the context . I need to keep the whole backup on my iMac only.
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:15 PM   #8
Night Spring
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by soamz View Post
I dont have a super fast internet connection and iCloud is just 5GB.

My iPad Apps purchases is total around 20GB , games and business apps.

So, iCloud is out of the context . I need to keep the whole backup on my iMac only.
iCloud backup only backs up your iPad settings and app data, not the apps themselves. So it's likely that your iPad backup will be under 5GB, even though your apps take up 20GB. Just try turning on your iCloud backup, it'll tell you if you don't have enough space. You can also save space by not backing up select app data.

That said, restoring from iCloud over a slow Internet connection can take a while. To backp to your computer, connect your iPad to iTunes, cancel the sync, and then look for the backup button. That should let you backup without syncing. There should also be a "transfer purchases" command somewhere. I'm not in front of my computer, so I don't know where it is exactly. But the idea is to do "transfer purchases" to copy your apps to your computer, and do a backp to backup your iPad data to your computer. Then when you get your new iPad, you connect it to your computer and do a restore from the backup. Make sure to keep the iPad connected until all the apps have copied. People often think the process is done when the iPad restarts and unhook the iPad, then they go "Where are my apps????"
Night Spring is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get Time Machine to complete backup notapusy OS X 4 Jul 16, 2014 11:19 AM
Can't Complete a Time Machine Backup matty1551 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Apr 30, 2014 09:42 PM
iPhone: possible to copy an iphones complete filesystem in an .ipsw for backup? lewisweekly Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Oct 20, 2013 03:41 AM
How to take complete backup on a new iMac ? soamz iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Dec 25, 2012 05:53 PM
Complete Backup Solution? Trey M MacBook Pro 20 Jul 11, 2012 02:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC