Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2012, 10:09 PM   #1
concordal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Can't Browse One Specific Site

Never seen this kind of problem before. I am unable to get to usedvictoria.com in Firefox 17 on my iMac OSX 10.7.5. I can browse to any other website except that one. Here is what I have tried:

-pinged site. and checked with other users. It IS up and running.
- tried other browsers: Chrome-No difference. Safari-No difference
- checked Hosts file.
- Repaired permissions.
- Flushed DNS cache.
- tried on MAcBook Pro. Neither Firefox 17 nor Safari worked.
- tried on IPad. Amazingly, it works under Safarai and it works under Firefox, but only on the iPad (not the desktop and not the laptop). Sheesh.

Any suggestions appreciated!
concordal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 05:47 AM   #2
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
DNS or ISP problem ?

Works fine on Firefox 17 and Chrome for me......

No problems getting to the site at all.
__________________
MacBook 7,1 - 2.4GHz 8GB 500GB, 32GB iPod Touch 4G
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 11:21 AM   #3
concordal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Can't Browse One Specific Site

Many thanks, logana. Best of the Season to you.

Couldn't be ISP problem, because my iPad connects to the site without a problem over the same Network using the same modem.

DNS? Tried flushing the DNS cache. No difference.

Any other suggestions welcome.
concordal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 11:38 AM   #4
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by concordal View Post
Many thanks, logana. Best of the Season to you.

Couldn't be ISP problem, because my iPad connects to the site without a problem over the same Network using the same modem.

DNS? Tried flushing the DNS cache. No difference.

Any other suggestions welcome.
Sounds like a HOSTS file problem, perhaps. Or an overaggressive ad filter software.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 11:53 AM   #5
concordal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Can't Browse One Specific Site

Thanks, wrldwzrd89. Best of the Season to you.

The hosts file only has the one standard localhost entry in it.

AdBlock Plus is in Firefox but I've disabled it.
concordal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 04:23 PM   #6
concordal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
SOLVED - Can't Browse One Specific Site

wrldwzrd89 was quite right. Overaggressive ad filter s/w was the culprit. In this case it's that $#@!)*% Peerguardian. Forgot that I even had it!

PG is not that easy to remove. For anyone else with this problem, after using something like CleanApp, be sure to go into your Login Items (System Preferences/USers & Groups/Yourname - Login Items Tab.) And remove pploader and ppagent.

Many thanks for the suggestions, guys. Hope this helps someone else.
concordal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 10:58 AM   #7
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by concordal View Post
For anyone else with this problem, after using something like CleanApp, be sure to go into your Login Items
In most cases, app removal software such as CleanApp doesn't do a thorough job of finding and removing files/folders related to deleted apps. For more information, read this and this. If you just want to delete the app, drag the .app file to the trash. No other software needed. If you want to completely remove all associated files/folders, no removal apps will do the job.

The most effective method for complete app removal is manual deletion:
Best way to FULLY DELETE a program
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very odd problem: Wifi speed issue with a specific network in specific part of room?! Arjun Jethwa MacBook Air 2 Jan 31, 2014 03:41 PM
How can I make a specific URL a top site on Safari? Siderz Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jan 12, 2014 02:47 PM
Site has many specific details on iPhone 4S's A7 chip - could it be accurate? yow. iPhone 0 Sep 10, 2013 02:32 AM
Could I browse the iPod Classic by CD 1, and CD 2? php111 iPod 5 Jan 9, 2013 02:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC