Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:36 AM   #1
technotica
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Two different 2008 Mac Pros, 2 different Raid Cards, no HDDs

Hi!

I have a really stupid problem that I can't seem to fix.

We have several Mac Pros here (early 2008). One of these had a Apple Raid Card (A1247 EMC 2156) and four HDDs in a raid.

One day the Mac Pro just stopped working and after restarting it it had lost all harddrives.

Now after many tries to get it to recognize the harddrives again I bought another raid card (same model) via eBay thinking the one we had micht be broken.

I tried both cards in the broken down Mac Pro, the cards would be recognized but none of the disks or any other hdds I put in there are shown in either the raid manager or the disk utility software.

If I start the mac without a raid card and with the iPass cable back on the motherboard the hdds are recognized.

So I thought maybe the Mac Pro is the problem and installed the card in another Mac Pro, but there the same problem happens, again with either raid card.

So regardless of what I use, with either raid card installed the mac won't show any hdds (even brand new ones) connected.

I am not very well versed in the macs raid functionality, am I missing something?

Shouldn't I just have to connect the raid card, plugin the hdds and then be able to use them?

It's as if I had't connected the iPass cable, but I did...


If anyone has any ideas of what I could do I'd be really grateful!
technotica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:06 AM   #2
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by technotica View Post
Hi!

I have a really stupid problem that I can't seem to fix.

We have several Mac Pros here (early 2008). One of these had a Apple Raid Card (A1247 EMC 2156) and four HDDs in a raid.

One day the Mac Pro just stopped working and after restarting it it had lost all harddrives.

Now after many tries to get it to recognize the harddrives again I bought another raid card (same model) via eBay thinking the one we had micht be broken.

I tried both cards in the broken down Mac Pro, the cards would be recognized but none of the disks or any other hdds I put in there are shown in either the raid manager or the disk utility software.

If I start the mac without a raid card and with the iPass cable back on the motherboard the hdds are recognized.

So I thought maybe the Mac Pro is the problem and installed the card in another Mac Pro, but there the same problem happens, again with either raid card.

So regardless of what I use, with either raid card installed the mac won't show any hdds (even brand new ones) connected.

I am not very well versed in the macs raid functionality, am I missing something?

Shouldn't I just have to connect the raid card, plugin the hdds and then be able to use them?

It's as if I had't connected the iPass cable, but I did...


If anyone has any ideas of what I could do I'd be really grateful!
The RAID card battery?
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:10 AM   #3
technotica
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Hmm, won't it see any hard drives if its charging?

If so then that would be a really simple problem I guess!

I guess I then jsut have to keep it in the computer and wait for it to be fully charged?

Thanks!
technotica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:37 AM   #4
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by technotica View Post
Hmm, won't it see any hard drives if its charging?

If so then that would be a really simple problem I guess!

I guess I then jsut have to keep it in the computer and wait for it to be fully charged?

Thanks!
They need to be replaced on occasion, I believe every three years or so. Please keep in mind that this is just a guess. The only time I had a RAID card do what you're describing the RAM module went bad.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:49 AM   #5
technotica
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Hmm, the card is definitely older than 3 years, I'll let the 'new' one recharge and see if that helps. It tells me the battery is charging and write cache is disabled.

I am crossing my fingers that thats the problem, it would be so easy if it were

If the battery was broken it would show an error in the raid utility wouldn't it? Or does it simply charge forever?
technotica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 05:27 AM   #6
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
With a dead battery you should still see all the disks but the write cache will be disabled. This is for data integrity reasons as for maximum speed the data is written to the RAM cache on the RAID card & then a lazy write is done to the actual disk but the write completion is signalled to the OS as soon as the data is in the cache. If you have a power fail before the data is written to disk then your data is now inconsistent. The battery is supposed to keep data live in the cache memory for many house (days even) until power is restored & the data can be properly written to the hard disk.

However a dead battery is not your problem.
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:16 AM   #7
technotica
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Yep, the battery is charged now, the status is good but no hard drives. None, not even brand new ones are shown.

Maybe the port for the cable on the card is broken, but it would be a really big coincidence if the card I bought off ebay had the exact same problem as the one I had here...

If it's not the hard drives, nor the cable (works on the motherboard) and the card shows up as functioning, the port is the only thing left isn't it?
technotica is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can the Mac Mini have Raid 0 Samsung 830 Pros? nemesis379 Mac mini 24 Jan 5, 2014 10:19 AM
Do AMD FirePro Cards work in 2006-2012 Mac Pros? jkheit Mac Pro 2 Dec 29, 2013 07:44 PM
Video cards in 3-5 years and current mac pros? mazuma Mac Pro 16 Dec 16, 2013 06:43 PM
Mac Pros, Hacks, Video Cards, and NLEs jasonvp Mac Pro 7 Jul 9, 2013 01:50 AM
External HDDs in RAID 0 ? MacMan988 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Oct 13, 2012 02:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC