Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 25, 2012, 03:17 AM   #1
bobright
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
if I leave iMac running during file transfer and screen dims, does it stop transfer?

Im copying tons of stuff to my iMac from an external and am heading to bed. I got about 2hours left. If I let the Mac just run and the screen shuts off I guess thats sleep mode? Would the file transfer pause?

I want it to continue running in the background if possible.
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 03:26 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Based on the assumption that I can wifi in from any of my laptops, Ipad and phone when my Imac is asleep.I'd say yes, but I tend to babysit file transfers anyway....If "Put hard disks to sleep when possible " is ticked, it may simply resume when woken again.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 03:31 AM   #3
stroked
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
The screen going dark is only display sleep, not computer sleep. You can adjust both in system preference, energy saver.
stroked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 03:59 AM   #4
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroked View Post
The screen going dark is only display sleep, not computer sleep. You can adjust both in system preference, energy saver.
Ahh so setting Computer Sleep to say 2 hours or so leaves my unit running, when Display Sleep would just shut the screen off in 15min or so
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:04 AM   #5
stroked
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
Ahh so setting Computer Sleep to say 2 hours or so leaves my unit running, when Display Sleep would just shut the screen off in 15min or so
Yes, but to be safe, you might want to set it to 2 1/2 hrs.
stroked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:25 AM   #6
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroked View Post
Yes, but to be safe, you might want to set it to 2 1/2 hrs.
Thanks thats exactly what I want. I'm always a Shut Down when not in use kind of guy so I dont mind the long 2hour wait till the computer sleeps. It'll be for good reason e.g. like right now transferring files.
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:36 AM   #7
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroked View Post
Yes, but to be safe, you might want to set it to 2 1/2 hrs.
Stroked,
One more thing do you happen to know if my External HD would also go into "sleep mode" and shut off when the iMac eventually does the same after these couple hours? That'd be nice.
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 05:01 AM   #8
Bowcaps
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cornwall, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
Stroked,
One more thing do you happen to know if my External HD would also go into "sleep mode" and shut off when the iMac eventually does the same after these couple hours? That'd be nice.
If the mac is still 'on' but the display is off, then all the ports should be 'live' until sleep time.

HTH
__________________
2012 iMac 27" i7 | 2012 MBA 13" i7 | 2013 rMBP 13" i7 | iPad 2 | iPhone 5 | TV3
Bowcaps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 05:07 AM   #9
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bowcaps View Post
If the mac is still 'on' but the display is off, then all the ports should be 'live' until sleep time.

HTH
I mean after I go into Computer Sleep does the external HDD get shut off as well?
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 08:39 AM   #10
joe-h2o
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
I mean after I go into Computer Sleep does the external HDD get shut off as well?
Depending on the model of HD, yes.

My USB drives spin down when the iMac sleeps. The old firewire ones (on my 2006 iMac) stay powered, but they spin down.
joe-h2o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 09:18 AM   #11
Hasn'tbeensober
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I use app call caffeine for this type of situation
Hasn'tbeensober is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Painfully slow file transfer between iMac and MacPro via Ethernet cable; help! Danboard iMac 10 Dec 8, 2013 02:37 PM
iMac file and software transfer question Crafty Amanda iMac 4 Oct 11, 2013 12:18 PM
Slow OSX SL server file transfer to ML iMac aicul Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Mar 6, 2013 02:17 AM
New iMac file and app transfer methods Dave26 iMac 9 Jan 23, 2013 12:33 PM
How to stop Nikon Transfer from quitting after transfer? blanka Digital Photography 0 Oct 19, 2012 03:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC