iMac 'Ambient Temperature' - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 25, 2012, 06:25 AM   #1
TW95
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London
iMac 'Ambient Temperature'

Hey,

I have a new iMac 2012 which was delivered about a week ago, everything is working fine but one thing seems to intrigue me...

The ambient temperature sensor. I am using iStat as a dashboard widget and the ambient temperature reading is hovering around the 5-7 degrees Celsius mark. Obviously this isn't the temperature of the room I am in which is what the ambient temperature is.

Does anyone have any ideas on why the reading is so low?

Something else interesting is that the air temperature outside corresponds almost exactly to the ambient temperature reading on the iMac.

Thanks for reading, look forward to hearing your replies.
__________________
 21.5" iMac 2012, 3.1GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB Fusion
 13" MacBook Pro, 2.53GHz, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HD
 iPhone 5 16GB
 iPad 3 WiFi + 3G 32GB
TW95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 08:37 AM   #2
joe-h2o
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Is that a 27" iMac 2012?

I know my old 2006 iMac had an ambient temp sensor, and it always read a couple of degrees above the temp of the room since I figured inside the case was always a bit warmer.

My new 27" 2012 iMac doesn't have an ambient sensor. It has:

CPU Proximity (assume it's on the logic board next to the socket)
GPU Die (Nvidia's on-die temp sensor for the 680MX)
LCD Proximity (attached to backside of LCD panel)
MLB Proximity (I assume this might be the ambient temp sensor - just measuring the local temp near the logic board)
PCH Die (on-die sensor in Intel's platform controller hub chip)
joe-h2o is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 12:46 PM   #3
TW95
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London
Sorry, it is the 21.5" model. On iStat my temps are: Apple SSD, Apple HDD, Ambient, GPU Diode, Mem bank A1, Mem controller. They are the ones that are listed. Current reading is 7 Celsius.
TW95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:01 PM   #4
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
These are the temps on my 27 inch (in F) I've got the ambient temp. I just started using it from a period of sleep, but it's pretty low, lower than the room temp.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-25 at 11.58.37 AM.png
Views:	215
Size:	146.5 KB
ID:	385763  
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 05:13 PM   #5
TW95
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London
That ambient temperature is similar to my reading. It's at 7 (C) at the moment, yours translates to be about 8.8 (C).

I guess then no one has any idea why the reading is so low?
__________________
 21.5" iMac 2012, 3.1GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB Fusion
 13" MacBook Pro, 2.53GHz, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HD
 iPhone 5 16GB
 iPad 3 WiFi + 3G 32GB
TW95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 05:22 PM   #6
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Maybe iStat needs to be updated to work correctly with the new machines.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 05:26 PM   #7
baxlobs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Suffolk UK
Mine says 1deg C

No way is my study anywhere near that temp, it seems pretty meaningless, at that least that is what I have assumed, unless there is built in Air-Con?
baxlobs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 05:31 PM   #8
Paulywauly
macrumors 6502a
 
Paulywauly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham, UK
The ambient sensor in my brand new Mini isn't correct either. Although iStat shows it correctly before i migrated from my last Mac (an iMac) it must be an issue with the newer 2012 models not working with iStat correctly, this kind of thing has happened before and an iStat update usually fixes it
__________________
I admit it, i spend too much on products
Paulywauly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 06:58 PM   #9
ThirteenXIII
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
the main reading for the ambient temp sensor is not the room, its an estimate mix of the temperature around the components internally.
ThirteenXIII is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 11:39 PM   #10
gazzazh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirteenXIII View Post
the main reading for the ambient temp sensor is not the room, its an estimate mix of the temperature around the components internally.
HI guys, I am using Istat version 4.03, and i cant find ambient temp.Where is it located,, My CPU Proximity averages between 41-50 Degrees
gazzazh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 06:36 PM   #11
Justin Stuart
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
My new late-2012 iMac "Ambient Air" temperature sensor reads 48F/9C all of the time too.
Justin Stuart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 07:42 PM   #12
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
My 27" late 2012 iMac is showing 13 degrees C for ambient temperature.
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 08:36 PM   #13
Leonavice
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
iStat is currently not working for the 2012 iMac. Mine shows an ambient temperature of 1 degree Celsius, and I am living in the tropics...
Leonavice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 03:19 PM   #14
whiskymac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spey Valley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonavice View Post
iStat is currently not working for the 2012 iMac. Mine shows an ambient temperature of 1 degree Celsius, and I am living in the tropics...
I think iStat needs updating - I have an ambient temperature reading of 1 degree C - freezing
- or 255 degrees C melt down - nothing in between - and I live nearer the North Pole than the tropics

Mac
whiskymac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 iMac Ambient Temperature Sensor failure after installing another drive Gurpartap Singh iMac 3 Apr 13, 2014 02:30 AM
Safe ambient temperature minnieoi iMac 1 Aug 2, 2013 05:47 PM
Thermodo from Robocat Measures Ambient Air Temperature Using the iPhone's Headphone Jack MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 39 Mar 8, 2013 09:40 AM
OS X force sleep with excessive ambient temperature? monkeybagel Mac Pro 5 Dec 16, 2012 09:58 AM
Ambient Noise Reduction new Imac jp2123 iMac 2 Dec 15, 2012 01:03 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC