Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:04 PM   #1
dimme
macrumors 6502a

Recommend a site like flicker but more customizable

I love flicker and have many photos on the site. I am a pro member and upload my own photography and plus over the last year or so I also scanned countless family photos from the last 50 years. My family is spread out over the country so it's a great way of sharing. Plus for the price it is a excellent value. I do not care for the layout and would like something more elegant. Also I would not mind a custom domain. However I see to setup my own site vis square space is in the neighborhood of $16 a month that's a bit more that the $25 a year I spend on flicker. I looked at smug mug and it looks like for $60 a year I can get what I want. Anyone have any recommendations or comments?
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:40 PM   #2
maflynn

I use and like smugmug, and 60 bucks a year to get what you want isn't all that much imo
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 11:32 PM   #3
DirtySocks85
macrumors Demi-God

500px is pretty new, but starting to look promising, particularly if you're looking for something rather "elegant".
DirtySocks85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 09:30 AM   #4
Hankster
macrumors 68000

I've used SmugMug for several years and I love it. It fully customizable and it doesn't cost too much. Also, I agree with the second poster. $60/yr to get "everything you want" is very cheap.

We are talking about photography. This is not a cheap interest. $60/yr is only $5 a month, That's about two cups of coffee a month or a combo meal at a fast food restaurant.

While I look for deals as well, I realize photography is not cheap and you need to spend money to get what you want. I have a full subscription to SmugMug and I don't mind spending the money at all since it gives me every custom item I could want