Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 24, 2013, 05:44 AM   #1
mare92
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Parallels 8 Settings

Hello!

I have Macbook Pro Retina(early 2013) with 2.6Ghz i5 and 8GB RAM.

I dedicated Parallels 4GB of RAM, set it to use 2 cores and 512MB of video RAM. Installed host OS is Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

Its still somehow laggy even in very basic and old games. What would you suggest? More cores?
And maybe a stupid question, but when I quit Parallels, does it immediately rellocate that RAM and processing power back to OSX?

Thank you very much!
mare92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 05:49 AM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
If its a 13" rMBP then you only have the integrated GPU, so gaming performance in windows is going to be pretty bad. I don't think there's too much you can do other then throw as much cores and ram at the VM to see if its better but the bottleneck for most games is the GPU and integrated GPUs are generally pretty bad performance wise.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 08:45 AM   #3
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Just make sure that you leave enough resources (ram, CPU cores) for OS X. Other than that, it's all about your gpu strength. Also make sure you have enabled the 3d acceleration in parallels settings.

Yes, parallels it's just another application. Once it is stopped, the resources will return to the native OS.
antonis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 04:59 PM   #4
dyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: .nl
You are assigning way too many resources to the vm. Assign as little as possible and try how it runs. If it needs a bit more than add little by little. The key thing with virtualisation is to be very conservative in what you assign to the vm. Usually you are better off using the defaults when creating the vm.
dyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2013, 02:21 PM   #5
MathBunny123
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada | Sibiu, Romania
Games generally run bad on my VM's, and no matter how many cores or how much RAM I allocate.

It's MUCH better on bootcamp for me.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Crc7IUDMth4
__________________
Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini; iPod Touch 5th Generation [64GB]; MacBook Pro Retina 15.4'' Mid-2012; Surface 2 [32GB]
MathBunny123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Settings Red Badge Got Deleted After Erasing All Contents and Settings please help Dan50 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 16 Apr 13, 2014 01:10 PM
Ideal settings for running Windows in Parallels? holyindian Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 15 Mar 4, 2014 01:12 PM
Apple Retail Stores to Encourage Mac Business Usage with Parallels Desktop, Parallels 9 Pre-Orders Begin Popping Up MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 132 Nov 13, 2013 05:48 PM
OS X: Parallels settings for GAME BLUR Luigiss Mac and PC Games 5 Dec 30, 2012 04:55 AM
Erasing all content and settings for factory settings without deleting on ICloud Brad9753 iPhone 7 Sep 16, 2012 06:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC