Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2012, 08:46 AM   #1
seble
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
New iMac won't boot into Lion

Have Lion on an external HD, and a piece of software is playing up on this imac so wanted to boot into lion.

When I select the Lion external HD as bootup disk it just comes up with a barrier symbol on the screen (circle with line across it). Does that mean because my machine shipped with ML, it won't boot Lion?

Thanks
seble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 08:48 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
If it is a late 2012 Mac, yes, as Mac OS X 10.7 Lion does not contain drivers for such hardware. If it is an early 2012 Mac, you need 10.7.5 on the external HDD to boot from it.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 08:50 AM   #3
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
On Macs the lowest version of OSX you can use is the version that it came with. So if you're trying to boot into an older version, i.e., 10.7, then that will not work
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 08:52 AM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
On Macs the lowest version of OSX you can use is the version that it came with. So if you're trying to boot into an older version, i.e., 10.7, then that will not work
Though there are exceptions, like the late 2011 MacBook Pros for example.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge

Last edited by simsaladimbamba; Dec 26, 2012 at 09:04 AM. Reason: took a "though" away
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 09:02 AM   #5
seble
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
On Macs the lowest version of OSX you can use is the version that it came with. So if you're trying to boot into an older version, i.e., 10.7, then that will not work
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Though there are exceptions though, like the late 2011 MacBook Pros for example.
Thought that would generally be the case. Oh well, I'll have to think of something else. Thanks guys.
seble is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC