Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:45 AM   #1
triggaadenley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Help, I can connect my Netgear N300 to my mac

I'm a techno phobe but trying to overcome my fears!

I can't get my new netgear N300 wireless router to configure with my iMac and I have no idea why!

The router works (my iphone is connected to it as we speak).

Issues I'm having are....

'The network requires a WPA password' - I am entering the correct one yet it still it asks.
When I have scanned using the airport utlities I'm told that no airport devices were dectected.
At one point it seemed to connect and said - 'AirPort is connected but there is no IP address.

So, I'm stuck.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Merry Christmas to you all



Airport utilities scans but can find no wireless utilities.
triggaadenley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:50 AM   #2
Tomorrow
macrumors 603
 
Tomorrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Always a day away
WPA passwords are case-sensitive. I've overlooked that many times and had a similar outcome.

Also check to make sure you're using WPA and not WPA2. There's also a difference between using TKIP and AES.

I haven't tried, but I'm not sure a non-Apple router shows up as an "Airport" device in Airport Utility. I could be totally wrong there, though.
__________________
I would scream just to be heard, as if yelling at the stars - I was bleeding just to feel.
You would never say a word, kept me reaching in the dark - always something to conceal.
Tomorrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 12:31 PM   #3
triggaadenley
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
You may be right about airport!

I'm connected to Netgear again but this is showing
AirPort has the self-assigned IP address 169.254.30.22 and will not be able to connect to the Internet.
Any ideas?
triggaadenley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 12:55 PM   #4
triggaadenley
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Hello,

My two year old son just turned my modem off! I turned back on and it started working.
So I think I'll put this down to user error.
I am going to disperse my stress with beer.

Enjoy your day
triggaadenley is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
set up time capsule using a NETGEAR Universal N300? tbluhp Mac Peripherals 0 Feb 7, 2014 08:25 AM
Connect Airport Extreme (2011 ver) to my NetGear R7000 to extend my network utopianbl Mac Basics and Help 1 Jan 7, 2014 12:58 PM
Mac Mini Netgear readynas Time Machine threat found apgeek Mac Peripherals 1 Oct 23, 2013 09:15 AM
How to Connect Mac to TV jacobson00 Mac Pro 5 Jun 25, 2012 10:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC