Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2012, 01:07 PM   #1
radiohead1075
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Mac Pro (Early 2008) video card upgrade options

Looking for a budget upgrade, ~$200, for a Mac Pro 3,1 (Early 2008).

The machine currently has the stock 2600XT.

Considering the 8800 GT, could pick this up for around $150.

Are there better options?

Main uses of computer are:
- Adobe CS
- Aperture
- Some gaming (ie. COD 4)
radiohead1075 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 01:11 PM   #2
kendall69
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Here's what I did on my 2008

ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB More than $150.00, BUT you get what you pay for and it works AMAZING, took my 3D cad work to a new dimension
kendall69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 01:55 PM   #3
radiohead1075
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall69 View Post
ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB More than $150.00, BUT you get what you pay for and it works AMAZING, took my 3D cad work to a new dimension
Looks like the 5770 can be had for $245, that seems reasonable.
radiohead1075 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 01:56 PM   #4
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
I concur, I wouldn't bother with an 8800GT, they have issues and have to be 'baked' when they start acting up. Go with a 5770 or even one of the new kepler PC cards, you don't get the apple boot screen with the PC cards but there can be some real value to be found. I just upgraded from an apple 5770 to a PC EVGA 670, but its way out of your budget, so far I love it.
__________________
Iphone 5s 32GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB Thunderbay IV enclosure.
MacBook Air 13" mid 2014, 128GB, 4GB RAM.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 05:04 PM   #5
Einz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Get the GTX 660 for about $230 or less. It's much better than the 5770 I replaced in my 3.1.
Einz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 05:21 PM   #6
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
I'm selling my 570 Platinum Sonic on ebay. Just look for it there. There will be no boot screen and you'll need to find a way to power it unless you want to get a 6>8 pin adapter(personally not recommended.) I ran it in my 4,1 so I don't know how the 3,1 would handle it? Much faster than any of the Apple cards.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 07:42 AM   #7
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Mountain Lion will let you use many different PC cards instead thereby saving a fortune on an Apple branded card and giving much higher performance at the cost of the boot screen. Keep your original HD2600 in another slot to allow bootscreen use if you need it.

GTX650 for less than $100: http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-1024MB-Graphics-01G-P4-2650-KR/dp/B00966IU4M/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1356615710&sr=8-16&keywords=GTX660
The GTX650 has slightly better performance than a 5770 for $150 less. It also beats the 8800GT with more than twice the performance for $50 less.

Last edited by gpzjock; Dec 27, 2012 at 07:50 AM.
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:22 AM   #8
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
My wife & I both use our 3,1 early 2008 Mac Pros for video editing with Premiere Pro so CUDA is important but OpenCL is also important for Photoshop. We previously had GTX285 cards but i just bought a couple of used PC GTX570s off eBay (an MSI N570GTX Twin Frozr III Power Edition & an MSI N570GTX Twin Frozr II) & the performance is vastly better than the GTX285 (CUDA 2X better OpenCL 3X better). The fans on the cards are quieter too. Thoroughly recommended as a upgrade. My wife's machine is set up for DaVinci Resolve so she has a GT120 as well so has a boot screen. My machine only has the GTX570 but as it has an SSD & boots within about 30 seconds the lack of boot screen isn't noticeable. I do have aGT120 that I could put in were it ever necessary to see the boot screen. The cards cost 150 & 120 each (about $225 & $180 respectively). Now if only I could upgrade the RAM at a reasonable cost:-)
nigelbb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 03:27 AM   #9
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelbb View Post
Now if only I could upgrade the RAM at a reasonable cost:-)
I use MemoryAmerica for my RAM, 16 GB for under $300 (182) but you will pay import taxes (20%) on top.

http://www.memoryamerica.com/apple-m...l-a--a118.html

Considering the tax this might be more cost effective:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Komputerbay-...pr_product_top

Not sure about their version of "Lifetime warranty" though.

Last edited by gpzjock; Dec 28, 2012 at 03:36 AM.
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 11:14 AM   #10
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzjock View Post
I use MemoryAmerica for my RAM, 16 GB for under $300 (182) but you will pay import taxes (20%) on top.

http://www.memoryamerica.com/apple-m...l-a--a118.html

Considering the tax this might be more cost effective:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Komputerbay-...pr_product_top

Not sure about their version of "Lifetime warranty" though.
Thanks for the links. Crucial price had frightened me off at 220.79 for just 2x4GB. The price of the memory on Amazon at 230 for 4x4GB is far less frightening. The price on MemoryAmerica appears to be $379.99 for 4x4GB i.e. about 230 even before tax.
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 03:55 AM   #11
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
You're welcome.
I was quoting 8x2GB from MemoryAmerica they are the modules I use in my 3,1, I filled the slots with them and never looked back. 16 GB of matched pairs is ample headroom for me.
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 04:39 AM   #12
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiohead1075 View Post
Looks like the 5770 can be had for $245, that seems reasonable.
Shop through the student store online, much cheaper
Don't need to show id.

(Yes, I know this is wrong. I am a student, however)
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:36 AM   #13
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzjock View Post
You're welcome.
I was quoting 8x2GB from MemoryAmerica they are the modules I use in my 3,1, I filled the slots with them and never looked back. 16 GB of matched pairs is ample headroom for me.
I already have 12GB (4x2GB + 4x1GB) whereas my wife has 16GB (8x2GB) but when I look with Activity Monitor even she could use more sometimes. Buying 4x4GB would enable me to upgrade both systems to 20GB & I might even be able to sell 4x1GB to defray the cost a bit.
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 11:34 AM   #14
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelbb View Post
I might even be able to sell 4x1GB to defray the cost a bit.
1 GB modules are very poor sellers practically anyone who has upgraded all their slots had at least 2 kicking about.
Enjoy your boosted RAM 20 GB sounds great, I went from 10 to 16 GB and discovered the headroom and speed was plenty good enough.
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 11:53 AM   #15
jpine
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiohead1075 View Post
Looking for a budget upgrade, ~$200, for a Mac Pro 3,1 (Early 2008).

The machine currently has the stock 2600XT.

Considering the 8800 GT, could pick this up for around $150.

Are there better options?

Main uses of computer are:
- Adobe CS
- Aperture
- Some gaming (ie. COD 4)
If you are patient, you can find a 5770 on eBay for less than that which is what I did.

BTW, I'm now on a quest to find a faster card but I need the boot screen for to run Bootcamp. Any suggestions anyone? I'm running Lion and have no problem updating to ML if I can get a boot screen.
jpine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 12:21 PM   #16
Jake0604
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vulcan
This is a sub $200 card i bought for my mac pro
http://www.amazon.com/GIGABYTE-GeFor...rds=gtx+650+ti

It works great
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, Quad-Core, 16GB RAM, GTX 680
Jake0604 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:43 AM   #17
Baunkjaer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzjock View Post
I use MemoryAmerica for my RAM, 16 GB for under $300 (182) but you will pay import taxes (20%) on top.

http://www.memoryamerica.com/apple-m...l-a--a118.html

Considering the tax this might be more cost effective:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Komputerbay-...pr_product_top

Not sure about their version of "Lifetime warranty" though.
Thanks a lot. Its price Ill consider fair...
__________________

MP 5,1, W3565, 24GB, 240GB OWC 6G [Solo x2], 120GB OWC 3G, 1TB, HD 5870, 2*Dell P2314H
MBA 6,2, 1,4GHz (i5), 4GB, 128GB, HD 5000  iPhone 6  2TB TC, DS 214+
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 08:31 AM   #18
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzjock View Post

Considering the tax this might be more cost effective:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Komputerbay-...pr_product_top

Not sure about their version of "Lifetime warranty" though.
I just tried to install the 4x4GB that I bought from this link. Two DIMMs were DOA & the other two are only recognised as 2GB 667MHz rather than the 4GB 800MHz that it says on the label. They will be on their way back for a refund & I will just have to bite the bullet & buy Crucial just like I knew I should have all along.

Needless to say this supplier is definitely not recommended. The packaging looked crappy from the start as though the plastic trays weren't the right size for FB-DIMMs. The thermal paste under the heatsinks is a mess compared to the Crucial & Hynix RAM already in the Mac Pro.
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 04:48 PM   #19
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiohead1075 View Post
Looking for a budget upgrade, ~$200, for a Mac Pro 3,1 (Early 2008).

The machine currently has the stock 2600XT.

Considering the 8800 GT, could pick this up for around $150.

Are there better options?

Main uses of computer are:
- Adobe CS
- Aperture
- Some gaming (ie. COD 4)
6870 all the way (pc version works with osx mountain lion) You wont have a boot screen, but you don't need one frankly. works wonders when i am on win 7 through bootcamp playing planetside 2, given the price i paid.

Yea nvidea is probably better for Adobe CS... but from what i understand the 6870 does alright with it, certainly an upgrade.

Look though, the key here is to NOT purchase a mac EFI GPU. They will always cost more than they are worth. Purchase a PC GPU that is now compatible with newer versions of OSX, and then either don't have a boot screen, or flash it if you are confident in your abilities to do so.

As for ram for the 3.1, its ridiculously overpriced now a days. I paid 100 dollars for 12gigs alittle over a year ago...
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:15 PM   #20
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelbb View Post
I just tried to install the 4x4GB that I bought from this link. Two DIMMs were DOA & the other two are only recognised as 2GB 667MHz rather than the 4GB 800MHz that it says on the label. They will be on their way back for a refund & I will just have to bite the bullet & buy Crucial just like I knew I should have all along.

Needless to say this supplier is definitely not recommended. The packaging looked crappy from the start as though the plastic trays weren't the right size for FB-DIMMs. The thermal paste under the heatsinks is a mess compared to the Crucial & Hynix RAM already in the Mac Pro.
Komputerbay sound like they suck for build quality then, hope they refund you properly. What a shame they can't make a good product.
I am still running Memory America RAM and very happy with their build quality and RMA policy. I have had 2 sticks fail in 5 years, both were replaced along with the rest of their batch for the price of the postage.
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 01:38 PM   #21
Philscbx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mpls Mn
From notes saved -
New MacPros have option for ATI Radeon HD 5870 vs the standard 5770.

So what's the best card - for the 3.1?
Regardless of cost.

Mine came with the 8800.
The issues just read here on it - I'm not sure I've seen them.
Usually issues I post - no one has ever had them - or related to discus.
Or maybe hardware tests don't tell the truth - saying all is Ok.
__________________
MP3.1,8GB,4TB, MBPro13 5.5, iPad1 64G, iPhone 3gs, iTouch, PB15 1.6, ATv, Rxv3900.
Philscbx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 01:50 PM   #22
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philscbx View Post
From notes saved -
New MacPros have option for ATI Radeon HD 5870 vs the standard 5770.

So what's the best card - for the 3.1?
Regardless of cost.

Mine came with the 8800.
The issues just read here on it - I'm not sure I've seen them.
Usually issues I post - no one has ever had them - or related to discus.
Or maybe hardware tests don't tell the truth - saying all is Ok.
5770.

Or a more recent nVidia GTX card. You will lose the Apple EFI boot logo, though. Also the most powerful cards won't work, you will need additional power supplies.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 05:50 AM   #23
Genghis Khan
macrumors 65816
 
Genghis Khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzjock View Post
Mountain Lion will let you use many different PC cards instead thereby saving a fortune on an Apple branded card and giving much higher performance at the cost of the boot screen. Keep your original HD2600 in another slot to allow bootscreen use if you need it.
Hey guys, can someone explain this post to me. Is it only certain PC cards that can work with Mountain Lion? Or all (most)?

My 8800GT died, and I'm in need of a replacement
__________________
Mac Pro 3,1
2.8GHz Octo, 10GB RAM, EVGA GTX660 SC 2 GB
Genghis Khan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 05:51 AM   #24
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genghis Khan View Post
Hey guys, can someone explain this post to me. Is it only certain PC cards that can work with Mountain Lion? Or all (most)?

My 8800GT died, and I'm in need of a replacement
Only certain cards.
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:00 AM   #25
Genghis Khan
macrumors 65816
 
Genghis Khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Found it

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...graphics+cards
__________________
Mac Pro 3,1
2.8GHz Octo, 10GB RAM, EVGA GTX660 SC 2 GB
Genghis Khan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Precision X best configuration options for early 2008 Mac Pro BlackMonkey Mac Pro 2 Apr 19, 2014 10:36 AM
Video Card Options for Early 2008 Mac Pro? mishine MacBook Pro 0 Mar 5, 2014 11:07 AM
My (Early 2008) Mac Pro Video Card Question boodaddyz Mac Pro 9 Feb 3, 2014 07:28 AM
video card upgrade for early 08 mac pro. mnm321 Mac Pro 10 Jan 27, 2014 01:05 PM
2008 8-core Mac pro video card options? Davesc36 Mac Pro 4 Mar 8, 2013 02:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC