Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2012, 06:13 PM   #1
macchiato2009
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
RAM for photoshop: 8 vs 16 GB

hi

considering changing my mac to a new retina MBP

and hesitating about how much ram to buy (as soldered)

wondering if photoshop cs6 will benefit from more RAM

8 vs 16 Gb: any real difference ?

and what about system overall performance too ?

thanks
macchiato2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 08:27 PM   #2
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Photoshop loves RAM. More RAM is generally considered to be the single most important factor to better performance. And consider that it is very difficult, I believe, to upgrade the RAM post purchase for that system.

So... my advice is to get the 16GB option.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 09:51 PM   #3
MCAsan
macrumors 68030
 
MCAsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
on a rMBP go with 16GB. You never know in advance the memory requirements for 1-3 years from now. So give both today's and tomorrow's apps plenty of memory. If you have to save money, do it on SSD size...not memory or CPU.
__________________
Retina MBP 11,3 2.6GHz | 16GB | 1TB
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 6 | Silver | 128GB | Unlocked
iPad Air 2 | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 10:08 PM   #4
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
It is a small percentage of the cost of the machine, and you can't upgrade it later. Go for 16 gigs.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 10:37 PM   #5
Flash SWT
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
It is a small percentage of the cost of the machine, and you can't upgrade it later. Go for 16 gigs.
Agreed.
__________________
'09 Mac Pro (4,1) | 2.26 Octo | 20 GB | 3.8 TB | ATI 4870 | HP LP2475w
15" MacBook Pro Retina (10,1) | 2.6 Quad | 16 GB | 512 SSD
DEAD: '06 Mac Pro (1,1) | 2.66 Quad | 10 GB | ACD 23
Flash SWT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:32 AM   #6
OreoCookie
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
It is a small percentage of the cost of the machine, and you can't upgrade it later. Go for 16 gigs.
This.
That being said, Photoshop will probably not need the additional RAM. However, chances are that you are also using Lightroom or Aperture, and these eat RAM for breakfast. The math is easy: RAW files are often ~20 MB and larger a piece these days. If you are looking at a project with ~100 photos, that's at least 2 GB RAM right there before doing any manipulations on them.
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
OreoCookie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:59 AM   #7
Laird Knox
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Two weeks ago I had PS and/or Windows freak out on a single image. Granted it was a 3GB file but for some reason the RAM was pegged at 16GB used for a good 20 minutes when I tried to save. Convinced me to upgrade to 32GB.

I think it was a Windows issue but it was still annoying. I expect OS/X would handle it better but memory is never a bad thing.
Laird Knox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 11:28 AM   #8
wolfpuppies3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
Some's good, more's better
__________________
2012 MBA 13, 2 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; 2011 MBA 11, 1.8 Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD; 2010 MB Pro 15, 2.66 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; two iPad 3s and a mini, two iPhones and a bunch of iPods
wolfpuppies3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:02 PM   #9
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laird Knox View Post
Two weeks ago I had PS and/or Windows freak out on a single image. Granted it was a 3GB file but for some reason the RAM was pegged at 16GB used for a good 20 minutes when I tried to save. Convinced me to upgrade to 32GB.

I think it was a Windows issue but it was still annoying. I expect OS/X would handle it better but memory is never a bad thing.
I'm not surprised, entirely. Ps often wants 6x to 8x times the size of the image for a scratch file.... so in this case it might have wanted up to 24 GB of RAM.... Just for the one image. Plus whatever is running, plus Windows... it would have been trying to write a big chunk of this to the HDD instead of RAM, and if there was something else trying to write to the HDD - well, it should have worked better but sometimes the system just gets bogged down.

But... 32 GB of RAM is definitely good!
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:10 PM   #10
Laird Knox
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by snberk103 View Post
I'm not surprised, entirely. Ps often wants 6x to 8x times the size of the image for a scratch file.... so in this case it might have wanted up to 24 GB of RAM.... Just for the one image. Plus whatever is running, plus Windows... it would have been trying to write a big chunk of this to the HDD instead of RAM, and if there was something else trying to write to the HDD - well, it should have worked better but sometimes the system just gets bogged down.

But... 32 GB of RAM is definitely good!
Nothing else was open so everything should have fit in memory just fine. Even if it did need a scratch file it is on striped SSDs.

It was something else - I took me five minutes just to open up the task manager. Doubling the memory was a cheap way to cure the symptom. At least until Nikon comes out with the D900.
Laird Knox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM or SSD upgrade for Photoshop east1999 Buying Tips and Advice 14 Apr 1, 2014 10:57 PM
Adobe Offering Photoshop CC and Lightroom for $9.99/Month to Current Photoshop Owners MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 162 Oct 12, 2013 11:55 PM
Resolved: rMBP: Is 8GB enough RAM for light Photoshop and Illustrator use? rawrtiger MacBook Pro 19 Aug 3, 2013 04:26 AM
Is 8GB RAM enought to use photoshop? dgrog MacBook Pro 22 May 31, 2013 07:20 AM
can mac mini (2.3ghz, 2GB RAM) run photoshop CS5? sona123 Mac mini 8 Jul 18, 2012 08:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC