Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2012, 10:24 AM   #1
theanimala
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Handbrake on Mini - how with no CDrom?

How is it you people are using Handbrake on your Mini since it does not have a CDrom? Are you using a USB connected one? I do have an older iMac that I turned on CD sharing, and it works, but I'm not sure if since it is connected over an 802.11G network that it can't pipe the data quick enough. I am ripping a movie now and I am not getting the CPU to be more than 40% used. I have heard of you guys basically getting all 8 virtual cores to max out during handbrake, just curious how you are doing that...

FYI, I am encoding a 1 hour 45 minute movie to iPad preset format and Handbrake is saying it will take approximately 45 minutes. Not sure if this is what I should expect from an i7 based mini.
__________________
'12 Mac Mini, 16GB, 2.3 Ghz i7, 256SSD, Dell U2412m; 24" Alum iMac, 2.4 Ghz C2D, 4GB
theanimala is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 10:34 AM   #2
mobilehaathi
macrumors 601
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Anthropocene
You can use handbrake for other jobs than ripping from a DVD. Incidentally the makers don't recommend using handbrake to rip. But yes, it seems obvious that if people are ripping DVDs using handbrake on a mini with no DVD drive, they must be using an external drive. I suppose it would be possible to rip using DVD sharing too, but oh how miserable that would be.
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 11:06 AM   #3
xlii
macrumors 68000
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Millis, Massachusetts
You can buy an external dvd, cd drive for $30. You can buy one that also does Blu-ray for $50. I've converted all my blu-ray and dvd movies to .mkv files using makemkv. Running makemkv is about the only thing I've used my cd,dvd,blu-ray drive for in several years.
xlii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:52 PM   #4
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by theanimala View Post
How is it you people are using Handbrake on your Mini since it does not have a CDrom?
You can use Handbrake with a CDrom? What for?
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 04:49 PM   #5
jimbo1mcm
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I rip an 1:41 hour movie with my I7 late 2012 mini, basic drive, in 20 minutes, using Apple Super Drive using Handbrake.
jimbo1mcm is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Mac Mini for Handbrake + Media Center adjohan Mac mini 16 Jan 4, 2014 07:34 PM
I need a new cdrom drive but want a faster one. steve knight Mac Peripherals 0 Jul 30, 2013 03:17 PM
Newbie to Mac mini as HTPC - Question RE Handbrake LawDog1180 Mac mini 4 Jul 6, 2013 03:25 PM
No CDRom, need to verify disc pitt1717 MacBook Pro 0 Dec 1, 2012 04:47 PM
Base Mini for Handbrake and CS5? Molson1020 Mac mini 12 Nov 4, 2012 09:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC