Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 4, 2013, 01:41 PM   #1
kathryne_B
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CA
PDF file

I'm trying to add a link to my PDF file, but I see no chain link at the bottom of my annotation toobar and under "annotation," the "add link," is grayed out. Would someone be so kind as to tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanx in advance!

P.S. Please, if anyone here knows, I'd really appreciate your help. Thank you.
__________________
Kathryne

Last edited by kathryne_B; Jan 4, 2013 at 10:37 PM.
kathryne_B is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:38 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
I guess you use Mac OS X' own Preview application to do so?

"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" created by mad jew in 2006
EDIT: Again, was too bored and found the solution, if you use Preview:

This article, titled Add links to PDF’s in Mac OS X, found via this search, brought me to this:

Last edited by simsaladimbamba; Jan 5, 2013 at 06:46 PM.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:41 PM   #3
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
I guess you use Mac OS X' own Preview application to do so?
You can do stuff in PDFs using Preview? I thought you could just create them starting with a document from another application?
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:48 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
You can do stuff in PDFs using Preview? I thought you could just create them starting with a document from another application?
Depending on the type of PDF, you can do lots of things, not only merge them, as far as I have found out via searches for others asking this and that, as my PDF editing needs are quite low, and when I have to handle a PDF, it is a badly formatted one and I have to take the long road (Photoshop the last time).
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:24 PM   #5
kathryne_B
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Depending on the type of PDF, you can do lots of things, not only merge them, as far as I have found out via searches for others asking this and that, as my PDF editing needs are quite low, and when I have to handle a PDF, it is a badly formatted one and I have to take the long road (Photoshop the last time).
Ok Simsalad and Huntn, I should have explained that I took a snapshot of a piece of my desktop and it showed up as a PDF file, which I want to load up as a photo on a website. I went to annotation and put text into snapshot which showed up as a PDF file. Some of the text that I put into that PDF (the snapshot) I wanted to turn into a hyperlink, which I could not do, because "Add Link," was grayed out. I hope I haven't confused you. Thank you for responding to my question.
__________________
Kathryne
kathryne_B is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:34 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by kathryne_B View Post
Ok Simsalad and Huntn, I should have explained that I took a snapshot of a piece of my desktop and it showed up as a PDF file, which I want to load up as a photo on a website. I went to annotation and put text into snapshot which showed up as a PDF file. Some of the text that I put into that PDF (the snapshot) I wanted to turn into a hyperlink, which I could not do, because "Add Link," was grayed out. I hope I haven't confused you. Thank you for responding to my question.
How did you take that snapshot on what Mac OS X version? Because normally using the built-in tools of Mac OS X gets you a PNG file, which is an image file, thus cannot have links inside, unless you turn it into a text document.

Anyway, I just took a screenshot of my Desktop via CMD+SHIFT+4 and selected an area to shoot, then a PNG file got created, then I have opened that file in Preview, then I added text via the Annotation Tool and saved it as PDF.
I reopened the PDF and was not able to select the text.

Another idea, if you screenshot something with text, that text will be handled as graphic, not as text, thus it is not selectable.

Or do you mean something else?

To edit your thread title to a descriptive one, to get a knowledgable audience and help making the thread easier to find for people looking for the same information, just click on the button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the button below your message.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 03:13 PM   #7
kathryne_B
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
How did you take that snapshot on what Mac OS X version? Because normally using the built-in tools of Mac OS X gets you a PNG file, which is an image file, thus cannot have links inside, unless you turn it into a text document.

Anyway, I just took a screenshot of my Desktop via CMD+SHIFT+4 and selected an area to shoot, then a PNG file got created, then I have opened that file in Preview, then I added text via the Annotation Tool and saved it as PDF.
I reopened the PDF and was not able to select the text.

Another idea, if you screenshot something with text, that text will be handled as graphic, not as text, thus it is not selectable.

Or do you mean something else?

To edit your thread title to a descriptive one, to get a knowledgable audience and help making the thread easier to find for people looking for the same information, just click on the Image button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the Image button below your message.
Thanx! I'll give your suggestions a try.
__________________
Kathryne
kathryne_B is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 03:35 PM   #8
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by kathryne_B View Post
Thanx! I'll give your suggestions a try.
There was only one suggestion about the thread title. The rest was asking you, if you have PDF confused with PNG, and then showing you, that using a PNG will not work the way you intend to.
In order to get further help, you at least have to answer the questions.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 09:20 PM   #9
kathryne_B
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
There was only one suggestion about the thread title. The rest was asking you, if you have PDF confused with PNG, and then showing you, that using a PNG will not work the way you intend to.
In order to get further help, you at least have to answer the questions.
No, there is no confusion about the two. And the way I took the snapshot is the same way you described taking yours. It's really probably too complex to try to explain. I'll play around with it and see what I can do, but your post has given me some ideas and if it doesn't work, well it doesn't. Thanx.
__________________
Kathryne

Last edited by kathryne_B; Jan 6, 2013 at 09:27 PM.
kathryne_B is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 10:57 PM   #10
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by kathryne_B View Post
No, there is no confusion about the two. And the way I took the snapshot is the same way you described taking yours. It's really probably too complex to try to explain. I'll play around with it and see what I can do, but your post has given me some ideas and if it doesn't work, well it doesn't. Thanx.
But you get PDFs instead of PNGs?

"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" created by mad jew in 2006
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 04:02 PM   #11
kathryne_B
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
But you get PDFs instead of PNGs?

"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" created by mad jew in 2006
Hi.

No, I rechecked the snapshot and you're right. When I take a snapshot, it's a PNG file. I assumed it was a PDF, because it opens the file in the PREVIEW mode. I hope that makes sense. Thank you for your reply.
__________________
Kathryne
kathryne_B is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Wanting to 'attach a file' (PDF) but only opens my gallery? (PDF is in iBooks) brakket iPad 9 Jun 30, 2014 01:10 AM
Is it possible to convert a PDF file to a Word file? Hold Community Discussion 1 Nov 27, 2012 09:54 AM
PDF file hiding. BoxerBoy OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 9 Oct 5, 2012 04:32 PM
One PDF file is becoming tiny when combining two PDF files... Chelsea rabbit Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 13, 2012 11:41 PM
Making AI or PDF file from any GIMP file extensions without loss of quality? twiggy0 Design and Graphics 6 Aug 29, 2012 11:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC