Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2012, 09:24 AM   #1
theanimala
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Handbrake on Mini - how with no CDrom?

How is it you people are using Handbrake on your Mini since it does not have a CDrom? Are you using a USB connected one? I do have an older iMac that I turned on CD sharing, and it works, but I'm not sure if since it is connected over an 802.11G network that it can't pipe the data quick enough. I am ripping a movie now and I am not getting the CPU to be more than 40% used. I have heard of you guys basically getting all 8 virtual cores to max out during handbrake, just curious how you are doing that...

FYI, I am encoding a 1 hour 45 minute movie to iPad preset format and Handbrake is saying it will take approximately 45 minutes. Not sure if this is what I should expect from an i7 based mini.
__________________
'12 Mac Mini, 16GB, 2.3 Ghz i7, 256SSD, Dell U2412m; 24" Alum iMac, 2.4 Ghz C2D, 4GB
theanimala is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 09:34 AM   #2
mobilehaathi
macrumors 601
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Anthropocene
You can use handbrake for other jobs than ripping from a DVD. Incidentally the makers don't recommend using handbrake to rip. But yes, it seems obvious that if people are ripping DVDs using handbrake on a mini with no DVD drive, they must be using an external drive. I suppose it would be possible to rip using DVD sharing too, but oh how miserable that would be.
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
Does size matter?
mobilehaathi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 10:06 AM   #3
xlii
macrumors 68000
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Millis, Massachusetts
You can buy an external dvd, cd drive for $30. You can buy one that also does Blu-ray for $50. I've converted all my blu-ray and dvd movies to .mkv files using makemkv. Running makemkv is about the only thing I've used my cd,dvd,blu-ray drive for in several years.
xlii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 12:52 PM   #4
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by theanimala View Post
How is it you people are using Handbrake on your Mini since it does not have a CDrom?
You can use Handbrake with a CDrom? What for?
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 03:49 PM   #5
jimbo1mcm
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I rip an 1:41 hour movie with my I7 late 2012 mini, basic drive, in 20 minutes, using Apple Super Drive using Handbrake.
jimbo1mcm is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Mac Mini for Handbrake + Media Center adjohan Mac mini 16 Jan 4, 2014 06:34 PM
I need a new cdrom drive but want a faster one. steve knight Mac Peripherals 0 Jul 30, 2013 02:17 PM
Newbie to Mac mini as HTPC - Question RE Handbrake LawDog1180 Mac mini 4 Jul 6, 2013 02:25 PM
No CDRom, need to verify disc pitt1717 MacBook Pro 0 Dec 1, 2012 03:47 PM
Base Mini for Handbrake and CS5? Molson1020 Mac mini 12 Nov 4, 2012 08:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC