Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2012, 04:35 PM   #1
jmcgeejr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Genius bar upgrades?

So I am seriously pondering taking my new 27 in and having the ssd added to it, I only got the 1TB hdd and have been using my external thunderbolt with ssd for osx, but I think I want it internally. Can the genius bar upgrade it for me? I really dont want to have to return my BTO and get a new BTO.
jmcgeejr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 04:36 PM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcgeejr View Post
So I am seriously pondering taking my new 27 in and having the ssd added to it, I only got the 1TB hdd and have been using my external thunderbolt with ssd for osx, but I think I want it internally. Can the genius bar upgrade it for me? I really dont want to have to return my BTO and get a new BTO.
I'm not 100% sure, but to get a clear answer, just call your local Apple Store and ask them.
__________________
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:06 PM   #3
TypeMRT
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I called Apple Support and was told the Genius Bar only does faulty part replacement. An Apple Authorized Repair facility will do the upgrade at an hourly rate but the new part isn't covered under Apple's regular or AppleCare warranties.

I'm considering buying the 1TB model then spending $100 to have a repair place install a 512GB SSD internally and keep the 1TB external. That way when the 1TB is full it'll be easy to replace it.
TypeMRT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 08:28 PM   #4
Auramancer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TypeMRT View Post
I called Apple Support and was told the Genius Bar only does faulty part replacement. An Apple Authorized Repair facility will do the upgrade at an hourly rate but the new part isn't covered under Apple's regular or AppleCare warranties.

I'm considering buying the 1TB model then spending $100 to have a repair place install a 512GB SSD internally and keep the 1TB external. That way when the 1TB is full it'll be easy to replace it.
Do this void the warranty of the original parts?

Last edited by Auramancer; Dec 27, 2012 at 08:43 PM.
Auramancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 11:26 PM   #5
TypeMRT
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Auramancer View Post
Do this void the warranty of the original parts?
All of the original parts remain under warranty as long as an authorized technician does the labor.
TypeMRT is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Should I go back to the Genius Bar? KUguardgrl13 MacBook Pro 1 Sep 20, 2013 11:35 PM
iPhone: Genius bar replacement with 6.1.2? iFiend Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 12 Jun 5, 2013 12:01 AM
Genius bar macman312 MacBook Pro 7 Dec 10, 2012 08:22 PM
About done with Genius Bar ARRRR camaroIOM iMac 3 Sep 27, 2012 10:11 PM
Having to take MBP into Genius Bar, AGAIN SimonUK5 MacBook Pro 1 Sep 12, 2012 01:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC