Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:57 AM   #1
macmesser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Headless Mac Pro?

Would it be possible to run a Mac Pro without a monitor and connect via LogMeIn or something similar? This would be great if I could run a web server and other low user input applications, like the data recovery program I'm using now.

If this is feasible and advisable, what would be the best way to implement it?
macmesser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 09:30 AM   #2
chrfr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmesser View Post
Would it be possible to run a Mac Pro without a monitor and connect via LogMeIn or something similar? This would be great if I could run a web server and other low user input applications, like the data recovery program I'm using now.

If this is feasible and advisable, what would be the best way to implement it?
It works fine. Just use the built-in screen sharing.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 09:53 AM   #3
macmesser
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
It works fine. Just use the built-in screen sharing.
Cool. I signed up for the free LogMeIn trial and will check it out.
macmesser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 10:20 AM   #4
chrfr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmesser View Post
Cool. I signed up for the free LogMeIn trial and will check it out.
You don't need LogMeIn if your computer is on your local network.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 11:37 AM   #5
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
If it's not on the local network, you can use TeamViewer. It's free.

If it's on the local network, use the built in screen sharing as mentioned by chrfr.

It can be found in: System Library CoreServices Screen Sharing.app
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 11:48 AM   #6
monkeybagel
macrumors 6502a
 
monkeybagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
I would recommend using ssh if you just need console access, or VNC if you need local access.

I do not trust the "free" screen sharing applications, and they have complete and total access to your computer and files at all times. If their system is compromised, it would lead to serious trouble.
monkeybagel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 12:06 PM   #7
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
I would recommend using ssh if you just need console access, or VNC if you need local access.

I do not trust the "free" screen sharing applications, and they have complete and total access to your computer and files at all times. If their system is compromised, it would lead to serious trouble.
TeamViewer is legit...
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 06:44 PM   #8
24Frames
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
You could use Screen Sharing from another Mac.
Google Chrome also allows you to do this, so you could control the Mac Pro from a Windows computer, very simple to setup.
24Frames is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 10:35 PM   #9
Dr. Stealth
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
I do the same....

I do the same thing using ARD (Apple remote Desktop). It works awesome.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 10:46 PM   #10
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Stealth View Post
I do the same thing using ARD (Apple remote Desktop). It works awesome.
What is the difference between Screen Sharing (which is included in OS X) and Apple Remote Desktop (which is $79 from App Store)?

Sorry if you see this as thread jacking...
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 11:23 PM   #11
chrfr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by minifridge1138 View Post
What is the difference between Screen Sharing (which is included in OS X) and Apple Remote Desktop (which is $79 from App Store)?

Sorry if you see this as thread jacking...
Remote Desktop does a lot more than just screen sharing. It's a tool to manage multiple computers, install software, etc. For the typical home user, it's not at all useful.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 06:57 PM   #12
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
II do not trust the "free" screen sharing applications, and they have complete and total access to your computer and files at all times. If their system is compromised, it would lead to serious trouble.
Have you bothered to research the security features that they use and how they are implemented before just deciding that you do not trust them? Are you saying that you do trust the "paid" screen sharing applications? You are aware that if a paid for system is compromised that is would lead to serious trouble? Just because a program costs money does not make it any more secure than a free program.

It seems kinds narrow minded to me.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:46 PM   #13
monkeybagel
macrumors 6502a
 
monkeybagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
Have you bothered to research the security features that they use and how they are implemented before just deciding that you do not trust them? Are you saying that you do trust the "paid" screen sharing applications? You are aware that if a paid for system is compromised that is would lead to serious trouble? Just because a program costs money does not make it any more secure than a free program.

It seems kinds narrow minded to me.
I do not trust my data if it is going through someones network if it is not encrypted. Many of these services record session information and log that on their servers. if you do trust your data with just anybody, that sounds very naive to me.

I will add that Bomgar makes an excellent product that you can keep on your network and you are not passing data through a third party. That is the only product I use and would use.
monkeybagel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:11 PM   #14
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
I do not trust my data if it is going through someones network if it is not encrypted.
Both of the services mentioned prior to your post are encrypted. So why you are trying to bring up encryption when the only services mentioned at that time were encrypted make no sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
Many of these services record session information and log that on their servers
Care to give a few examples since there are so many.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:13 PM   #15
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
I do not trust my data if it is going through someones network if it is not encrypted. Many of these services record session information and log that on their servers. if you do trust your data with just anybody, that sounds very naive to me.

I will add that Bomgar makes an excellent product that you can keep on your network and you are not passing data through a third party. That is the only product I use and would use.
No passwords/data is stored on their servers. TeamViewer is used in high end companies (see list). It's a point-to-point service with 256bit security.

Regardless, if you're "so worried" about your data, you probably shouldn't be using services from Google, Facebook, etc. So please spare us the nonsense.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 02:59 AM   #16
monkeybagel
macrumors 6502a
 
monkeybagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
No passwords/data is stored on their servers. TeamViewer is used in high end companies (see list). It's a point-to-point service with 256bit security.

Regardless, if you're "so worried" about your data, you probably shouldn't be using services from Google, Facebook, etc. So please spare us the nonsense.
I do not use services from Google typically. Particularly their mail, etc.

I didn't say TeamViewer is not "legit." I am sure it is a good company and probably has a good track record. DropBox did too until they allowed log in using any password to any of their accounts in a huge security oversight.

What I am saying, is why take risks with data (assuming you are dealing with sensitive data - you may not be and may not care who has it)? If you can SSH or tunnel into a machine on the local network?

TeamViewer would be a good application for a quick remote troubleshooting session. But I would not leave it running 24/7 on a machine. But what I do with the machines I am responsible for is up to me, and what you do is up to you.
monkeybagel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 04:01 AM   #17
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
I do not use services from Google typically. Particularly their mail, etc.

I didn't say TeamViewer is not "legit." I am sure it is a good company and probably has a good track record. DropBox did too until they allowed log in using any password to any of their accounts in a huge security oversight.

What I am saying, is why take risks with data (assuming you are dealing with sensitive data - you may not be and may not care who has it)? If you can SSH or tunnel into a machine on the local network?

TeamViewer would be a good application for a quick remote troubleshooting session. But I would not leave it running 24/7 on a machine. But what I do with the machines I am responsible for is up to me, and what you do is up to you.
Sure, I am not trying to enforce my opinion onto you.

However, your reply was very uninformed when you mentioned "trust" when it comes to such services. You need to dig a little deeper as to how they work. It's a point-to-point service, it doesn't go through their servers.

Regardless, you can definitely use the OS X included "Screen sharing" (which is kind of hidden) even remotely, I think. You just need to enable certain ports in your firewall/router.

If you are an advanced user and like tinkering around, sure, you can SSH into it.

However, TeamViewer is fantastic and I've troubleshooted devices 10,000 miles away, no problem. The end user didn't even need to fiddle with any ports, just ran the app and emailed me the passcode. It was even a Windows machine.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 04:35 AM   #18
monkeybagel
macrumors 6502a
 
monkeybagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
Sure, I am not trying to enforce my opinion onto you.

However, your reply was very uninformed when you mentioned "trust" when it comes to such services. You need to dig a little deeper as to how they work. It's a point-to-point service, it doesn't go through their servers.

Regardless, you can definitely use the OS X included "Screen sharing" (which is kind of hidden) even remotely, I think. You just need to enable certain ports in your firewall/router.

If you are an advanced user and like tinkering around, sure, you can SSH into it.

However, TeamViewer is fantastic and I've troubleshooted devices 10,000 miles away, no problem. The end user didn't even need to fiddle with any ports, just ran the app and emailed me the passcode. It was even a Windows machine.
That is good that it has worked well for you.

I know that GoToAssist, GoToMeeting, etc. will record the session as an option to allow the user to download the session to review later, or to allow the technician's manager to review it, etc. From what I understand, the host computer being remoted into maintains a TCP connection outbound to Citrix servers (in GoToAssist case) and when you start the remote session, their server acts as a proxy, hence bypassing all firewall rules unless DPI is set up and properly configured. This "cloud" stuff is a network administrator's nightmare with the current state of firewall, etc.

I was not trying to challenge your knowledge, but just offer an option based on my experiences.
monkeybagel is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't change screen resolution on headless Mac scott216 Mac Pro 8 Jan 28, 2014 07:26 PM
[Help] Setup Headless Mac mini lilabila OS X 5 Jul 4, 2013 12:18 PM
Air to Mac Pro: Back to Headless Mac whyrichard Mac Pro 4 Aug 18, 2012 12:27 AM
Headless Mac Mini mattonthemoon Mac mini 4 Aug 9, 2012 03:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC