Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 09:24 AM   #1
LogicPro
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
GTX 660M Gaming?

Has anyone used the GTX 660M for games yet? How does it feel? I'm def. not a serious gamer, but would love to take on WOW, Dragon Age, Portal 2, etc with nice settings. What'll it be like? The notebookcheck.com benchmarks look promising!
__________________
MPStudios Film and Media Scoring: www.maxscoring.com
27" 2012-iMac; Logic Pro, Yamaha HS-80s, ATH50s, MXL V67GS.
LogicPro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 10:16 AM   #2
LogicPro
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
bump!
__________________
MPStudios Film and Media Scoring: www.maxscoring.com
27" 2012-iMac; Logic Pro, Yamaha HS-80s, ATH50s, MXL V67GS.
LogicPro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 12:15 PM   #3
C-Dub
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I'd like to know as well
C-Dub is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 12:27 PM   #4
gibsonjv
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ohio
My late 2009 iMac can certainly play WoW and Portal 2. Not at max eye candy, but enjoyable. Radeon 4850 512 MB fyi.

Last edited by gibsonjv; Dec 28, 2012 at 12:28 PM. Reason: Spelling, Doh!
gibsonjv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 12:37 PM   #5
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
Cod 4 seems to run with no bother, thinking about a Magic Mouse now to play it though

Going to try mw2 next, will let you know how it goes.
__________________
2011 MBP 13" 2.4 i5 8GB, 16GB ipad 2, 16GB ipad mini, apple tv 2nd gen, 80GB ipod.
2012 27"iMac i5 2.9 1TB 8GB Ram, black iPhone 5 16GB
steve119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 01:03 PM   #6
LogicPro
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Awesome, let us know! And keep this thread going

----------

This is gonna be such a great upgrade from my 2008 MacBook GMA X1300 which struggles with WOW at lowest resolution...
__________________
MPStudios Film and Media Scoring: www.maxscoring.com
27" 2012-iMac; Logic Pro, Yamaha HS-80s, ATH50s, MXL V67GS.
LogicPro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 03:36 PM   #7
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
Unfortunately my 'version' of mw2 did not work..will try another app, real racing 2 not too bad, will find another app to try.

On the gizmondo review of the 21"

As for actual brute force computing prowess, in our standardized render test, the new iMac averaged 43 seconds. That came out well ahead of the Retina MacBook Pro 13-inch (54 seconds) and an older Mac Pro (2 minutes), but it was behind a Retina MBP 15-inch (34 seconds) that had double the RAM and a beefier graphics card. Real world-wise, that nudges the bang-for-buck value toward the RMBP 15, especially since its default graphics card is a little better.

For gaming, our near-base configuration was fine. It's 1080p (non-Retina) screen ran Diablo 3 at 1080p on medium settings at close to 60fps. But for any heavy lifting, you're going to want to upgrade to the beefier cards on the 27-inch iMacs. If you ramp up the settings on D3 or Witcher 2, you're not going to squeeze great performance out of the baseline GT cards. Our framerate dipped under 30 on both games, in a hurry.


Just for reference purposes, of course.
__________________
2011 MBP 13" 2.4 i5 8GB, 16GB ipad 2, 16GB ipad mini, apple tv 2nd gen, 80GB ipod.
2012 27"iMac i5 2.9 1TB 8GB Ram, black iPhone 5 16GB

Last edited by steve119; Dec 29, 2012 at 03:50 PM.
steve119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 01:33 AM   #8
rand0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
If you're getting a new 2012 27-inch and you DIDN'T fork over the extra $150 for a 680MX you should rethink.

Last edited by stridemat; Dec 31, 2012 at 02:33 AM. Reason: Clean
rand0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 04:12 AM   #9
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
Quote:
Originally Posted by rand0 View Post
If you're getting a new 2012 27-inch and you DIDN'T fork over the extra $150 for a 680MX you should rethink

Well I bought mine for music recording and a bit of photography editing. That said I still want to see how far the GPU will go though out of interest.

Last edited by stridemat; Dec 31, 2012 at 02:34 AM. Reason: Cleanup
steve119 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 06:17 AM   #10
mlynchmob16
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by rand0 View Post
If you're getting a new 2012 27-inch and you DIDN'T fork over the extra $150 for a 680MX you should rethink
It is actually $350 if you are getting the regular 27" as you have to pay $200 to upgrade to the top $27, then $150 to upgrade to 680mx.

Last edited by stridemat; Dec 31, 2012 at 02:34 AM. Reason: Cleanup
mlynchmob16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 03:08 PM   #11
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
Ok, haven't been able to get black ops to work neither, not down to the imac, but it wasn't a legit copy.

But got Need for speed running but it struggled due to it running off of windows 8 on parallels 8 trial. I will keep trying....may try and get wow freeplay to see how that fairs.
__________________
2011 MBP 13" 2.4 i5 8GB, 16GB ipad 2, 16GB ipad mini, apple tv 2nd gen, 80GB ipod.
2012 27"iMac i5 2.9 1TB 8GB Ram, black iPhone 5 16GB
steve119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 06:51 PM   #12
Yullover
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Couples of days now with the base 27" with fusion drive 1TB and the GTX 660M and i'm really happy.

I'm not a big gamer... but i enjoy to play.

I play Tropico 3 with native resolution, all setting in high and is awesome. i never can play like this before with my 15" macbook pro 2 core dui of 2007. it's simply awesome... i play like 4 hours and in any time i ear the fan running more fast. the Imac was ambiant temperature. Love it.

I install Xplane 9 too, just open and play a little 10 minutes. Look promissing, but xplane is really more difficult in all little things to make in graphic side that now i can't really said if good or not, but flying couple of minutes in what i think medium-high setting look nice !!!.

Enjoy... the 27" is AWESOME !!!
__________________
"In order" Imac 27" 2,9 Ghz, 1TB fusion drive, 8gb RAM - macbook pro 2007 15" - Iphone 4s - Ipad 2 - appleTV - Airport extreme
Yullover is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:42 AM   #13
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
Ok an update, got quake 4 working with it with full settings no probs, then put on bootcamp and got nfs most wanted and it looked sweet running at the top res.

going to try and get elder scrolls to work on it and will keep you informed.
__________________
2011 MBP 13" 2.4 i5 8GB, 16GB ipad 2, 16GB ipad mini, apple tv 2nd gen, 80GB ipod.
2012 27"iMac i5 2.9 1TB 8GB Ram, black iPhone 5 16GB
steve119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 03:03 AM   #14
Akatosh86
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
got the same base iMac 27 here as well (there is no official apple store in a country i'm from, so i had to buy the best that was available to the local authorised reseller) . obviously, i wasn't going for a gaming machine, but for a properly functional mac desktop and occasional gaming fun (like Starcraft 2, Civ5, even maybe portal and some older shooters), this machine goes pretty well so far
Akatosh86 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 03:07 PM   #15
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akatosh86 View Post
got the same base iMac 27 here as well (there is no official apple store in a country i'm from, so i had to buy the best that was available to the local authorised reseller) . obviously, i wasn't going for a gaming machine, but for a properly functional mac desktop and occasional gaming fun (like Starcraft 2, Civ5, even maybe portal and some older shooters), this machine goes pretty well so far
So far I've had cod modern warfare running on it, but need to get a copy of black ops to check out how that runs.

I'm not after a total gaming experience, just after seeing how far i can push the graphics card, I don't think the gtx660m is as bad as some of the people on this site are stating.
__________________
2011 MBP 13" 2.4 i5 8GB, 16GB ipad 2, 16GB ipad mini, apple tv 2nd gen, 80GB ipod.
2012 27"iMac i5 2.9 1TB 8GB Ram, black iPhone 5 16GB
steve119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 03:26 PM   #16
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
The 660M is actually a good card. I recommended it to a friend looking for a <$1500 gaming laptop.

But the 660M with only 512MB VRAM attempting to run at the 27" 1440p resolution .. is not the experience gamers are looking for.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:40 PM   #17
tredstone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I tried running Half-Life 2 at panel resolution (i.e., 2560x1440) with everything cranked up... it's a bit choppy, so it's only playable if you lower the AA and AF (although everything else can stay maxed out).
tredstone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 05:11 PM   #18
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
Cheers for that, and I realise the card does have limitations, but will still continue to put down what I can and cannot get to work.
steve119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 04:31 PM   #19
Akatosh86
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
hmm.. i am perfectly happy with my 27-inch base right now, but eventually i will want more performance, space and presumably graphical power. in fact, i wouldn't pick up the low-end (even the word is degrading) iMac, there just wasn't anything else in my country, so now i think about eventually making it more powerful through thunderbolt and RAM increase.

what do you think, in case of RAM upgrade (to, let's say, 24 or 32 gb ideal) - how much will the performance benefit, from graphics point of view?
Akatosh86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:35 PM   #20
steve119
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Scotland, land of the haggis
Think you can never have too much ram, but graphically? none really....you've still bought an awesome machine, just enjoy it. I certainly am, if you wanted an out and out games machine(I didn't), then you should have held off until you could buy the i7 with the 680 card, I'm a very casual gamer so it doesn't matter as much to me, but I am curious.
steve119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:48 PM   #21
Akatosh86
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
i was way too impressed with this generation of iMacs (coming from windows background, i'm practically an apple virgin, though i owned ipods and an iphone for years) , so i suddenly have this urge for perfectionism. for what i do (multimedia design - mostly sound) this is perfect, it's just a shame that this pretty sleek desktop cannot run starcraft 2 on native resolution all maxed.

and oh yes, i am jealous of i7 , 680 MX owners... )))
Akatosh86 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 04:34 AM   #22
maverick72
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Thats like saying "I bought a Ford fiesta for racing". You can do it. Doesn't mean you should.
maverick72 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 04:40 AM   #23
mikeorchard
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Yeah, the only option for proper gaming on Mac is the highend 27" with or without the GPU upgrade. The 660M is only 10-15% better than the 650M (same chip, higher speed) but on the 27" it has to push more pixels.
mikeorchard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 06:27 AM   #24
mrmarts
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne Australia
Can you update video cards on a iMac I got a 2010 model
__________________
Late 2013 13" MacBook Pro Retina | Time Capsule 2TB | Iphone 5 64GB Black | Apple TV 3 Living Room | iMac 27" Late 2013: i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB Ram, 3TB Fusion, 780M, |Ipad Air 128Gb Space Grey
mrmarts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 08:07 AM   #25
davidfinchley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London UK
I went for the maxed out 27" with the full 32GB ram and the 2GB card. I have run Black Ops, MW3, FIFA 11, Battlefield 3 all at full resolution and they absolutely fly! So far so good!
davidfinchley is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I expect gfx improvement from Radeon 6970M to GTX 660M? yalag Mac Basics and Help 1 Jan 3, 2013 05:31 PM
27" GTX 675MX vs 660M WorkaholicNL iMac 3 Dec 23, 2012 06:06 AM
GTX 675M vs GTX 660M for non-gaming usage jediDev iMac 2 Dec 20, 2012 07:33 AM
If getting the base model 27" w/ GTX 660M chip can I still play games? bobright iMac 2 Dec 2, 2012 11:39 PM
Base 27" GTX 660M or 660MX? ipodmac iMac 2 Nov 30, 2012 12:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC