Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 01:48 PM   #1
cutter74
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Please help with Parallels Desktop

I've recently switched from Windows to Mac. Today I installed Parallels 8 and added my bootcamp Windows 8 partition as a VM host. I'm having the following two problems with Parallels and I'd surely appreciate your input.

1. After creating the virtual host (added from the bootcamp installation) and booting it (either in VM mode or in clean bootcamp mode), I noticed that the bootcamp icon in the Windows taskbar has now disappeared. The only way to access the bootcamp options in Windows is through Control Panel. Is there a way to get the bootcamp icon back on the Windows task bar?

2. Upon switching from VM mode to Bootcamp and then back, each time I open a Microsoft Office application, it asks me to activate the product yet again. I'm afraid that if i keep activating, Microsoft will blacklist my key eventually. Is there a workaround for this?

I've logged support cases with Parallels for both of these issues but have yet to receive a reply, so I thought to post in here as well in case someone has encountered these issues before.

Thanks for your time.
cutter74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 01:51 PM   #2
WesCole
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
You might check to make sure the date and time in Win 8 doesn't change when switching from Bootcamp to Parallels...that happened to me with Win 7 a while back and it caused a bunch of issues.
__________________
2010 15" MacBook Pro, Anti-Glare Hi-Res, 2.4 i5 128 GB SSD & 500GB HDD in optibay; iPhone 5 32GB; ATV3; 2011 Core i7 27" iMac 2GB VRAM; "New" iPad 32GB AT&T 4G; 2012 MacBook Air 13", i7, 8GB, 256GB
WesCole is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 01:56 PM   #3
cutter74
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by WesCole View Post
You might check to make sure the date and time in Win 8 doesn't change when switching from Bootcamp to Parallels...that happened to me with Win 7 a while back and it caused a bunch of issues.
They seem consistent in either mode, but thanks for your suggestion WesCole.
cutter74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:06 PM   #4
Flyinb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
First of all why are you booting in bootcamp or VM. I run parallels simultaneously with Mountain Lion.

I would recommend calling Parallels as their tech support is pretty good
Flyinb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:32 AM   #5
cutter74
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyinb View Post
First of all why are you booting in bootcamp or VM. I run parallels simultaneously with Mountain Lion.

I would recommend calling Parallels as their tech support is pretty good
Well, to run Windows, I have to run either in VM mode (Parallels) or BootCamp, is there another way?

I have heard back from Parallels Support and I don't like what i'm hearing. Unless I've misunderstood, there is no way to just link Parallels to your existing BootCamp partition and NOT have to activate Office everytime I switch modes. They have suggested instead to import BootCamp to Parallels Desktop, but this will create an additional, separate Windows installation on my Mac partition the size of the BootCamp one.

I will wait for clarifications just in case I've misunderstood, but if this is really the case, I'll probably scrap Parallels and go back to pure BootCamp mode since the hassle of maintaining multiple Windows installations and the size requirements is simply not worth it for me.

Not a happy camper...
cutter74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 01:14 PM   #6
cutter74
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Well, it seems I have a solution. After a couple of initial emails just stating the facts, Parallels support were very helpful and asked me to check whether the Network MAC address of the VM was the same as the Physical (Bootcamp) partition. It wasn't and I changed it to match the physical one, but still no luck. This however led me to remember that I had created the VM partition with only half the CPU cores (4) whereas the physical one utilises obviously all 8. After changing the resources of the VM to match the bootcamp installation, all is well. Just posting this in case someone else experiences the same issue since it was driving me mad!

Regarding the issue of the bootcamp icon missing from the Windows taskbar, Parallels have informed me that they can't help since Windows 8 is still considered to be unsupported by both Apple and Parallels.
cutter74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 10:28 PM   #7
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cutter74 View Post
Well, to run Windows, I have to run either in VM mode (Parallels) or BootCamp, is there another way?

I have heard back from Parallels Support and I don't like what i'm hearing. Unless I've misunderstood, there is no way to just link Parallels to your existing BootCamp partition and NOT have to activate Office everytime I switch modes. They have suggested instead to import BootCamp to Parallels Desktop, but this will create an additional, separate Windows installation on my Mac partition the size of the BootCamp one.

Not a happy camper...
This is not the case. I've been using Office for Windows on a Mac through Parallels and a Boot Camp partition for over a year now. You do need to install Parallels Tools (which Parallels should do automatically), and you will need to activate Office once in Boot Camp and then again in Parallels, which might require using the phone route. It should work seamlessly after that.

In any case, regarding blacklisting, I've never had an issue activating, though for quite a while I have had to use the phone installation. I have transferred the same copy of Windows 7 from Mac to Mac (in 5 years I have managed to have a faulty logic board on one, spill wine on another, and lose one in an airport, as well as upgrade a few times, so have had about 8 Macs), and my copy of Windows 7 still works (even with the double activations). Office 2010 has been on 3 Macs from my count, again working fine.
KPOM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 04:19 AM   #8
cutter74
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I tried everything, including phone activation in Parallels, but no matter what, Office kept asking for Activation when switching from physical to virtual and back. Parallel Tools was installed as well.

The only thing that solved the issue for me, was making sure that the hardware resources in physical and virtual were identical.
cutter74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 02:52 PM   #9
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cutter74 View Post
I tried everything, including phone activation in Parallels, but no matter what, Office kept asking for Activation when switching from physical to virtual and back. Parallel Tools was installed as well.

The only thing that solved the issue for me, was making sure that the hardware resources in physical and virtual were identical.
Do you have your Boot Camp partition on an external drive? I've noticed some issues with Microsoft products regarding activation when they are installed on external drives. Sometimes they will mistakenly think the configuration has changed. It was even an issue with early versions of Office 2011 for Mac (plugging in a Thunderbolt drive would confuse the heck out of it and ask for an activation code).
KPOM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 03:18 PM   #10
cutter74
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPOM View Post
Do you have your Boot Camp partition on an external drive? I've noticed some issues with Microsoft products regarding activation when they are installed on external drives. Sometimes they will mistakenly think the configuration has changed. It was even an issue with early versions of Office 2011 for Mac (plugging in a Thunderbolt drive would confuse the heck out of it and ask for an activation code).
Nope, the Boot Camp partition is located in the same internal SSD drive as my Mac OS installation.
cutter74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to upgrade Parallels desktop 3.0? Marty62 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 4 Mar 2, 2014 04:46 PM
Apple Retail Stores to Encourage Mac Business Usage with Parallels Desktop, Parallels 9 Pre-Orders Begin Popping Up MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 132 Nov 13, 2013 05:48 PM
Parallels Desktop 8 stephen1182 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Apr 10, 2013 12:33 PM
Parallels Desktop 8 Rhinoevans MacBook Pro 10 Nov 8, 2012 01:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC