Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2012, 03:22 PM   #26
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sayer View Post
OP said they were using Firefox. Firefox is a huge memory hog (on every platform). Installing more physical RAM is always a better solution than trying to juggle virtual memory in Mac OS X.

Unless you have a MacBook Air or Retina you can install more RAM. The minimum RAM Macs come with really is a minimum. I usually end up doubling whatever RAM the Mac came with.
Firefox is only using around 250MB, is that a lot? I heard Safari also has memory hog issues. So what's the solution?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 03:43 PM   #27
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
Firefox is only using around 250MB, is that a lot? I heard Safari also has memory hog issues. So what's the solution?
Please post a screenshot of your Activity Monitor screen.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 04:11 PM   #28
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
....
Firefox says : Real Memory size 160MB and Virtual Memory size 3.37GB. What is VM and why does it state 3.37GB RAM seeing firefox is only using 160MB real RAM?
Next time, before clearing the memory with that "Free Memory" app, Quit Firefox. And I don't mean just close it, but Quit it. Then reopen and see if the problem persists. If Firefox is behaving badly and leaking memory, then that should clear it. When you were rebooting, you were also Quitting Firefox... So you may have been doing more than you needed to.

If the memory issue goes away when you Quit and reopen Firefox, then it's time to look at what is happening with Firefox. What extensions and add-ons does have it have, etc etc

If the memory issue doesn't go away with the Firefox Quit and reopen cycle, then I suspect the problem is with something else you have installed. What people have been telling you is correct, OS X manages memory very well. You should not have to run an app like Free Memory, if OS X is running properly. This does not mean that your problem does not exist... but if it does exist then there is something unusual happening with OS X, and it may be better to figure that out rather than just treating the symptom. Specifically, what other little apps, add-ons, enhancers, etc have you installed to make OS X run better? It will almost certainly be one of those...

Luck.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 04:26 PM   #29
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
Please post a screenshot of your Activity Monitor screen.
http://i49.tinypic.com/2m2xkxh.png

What's using the 1.69GB RAM?
----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by snberk103 View Post
Next time, before clearing the memory with that "Free Memory" app, Quit Firefox. And I don't mean just close it, but Quit it. Then reopen and see if the problem persists. If Firefox is behaving badly and leaking memory, then that should clear it. When you were rebooting, you were also Quitting Firefox... So you may have been doing more than you needed to.

If the memory issue goes away when you Quit and reopen Firefox, then it's time to look at what is happening with Firefox. What extensions and add-ons does have it have, etc etc

If the memory issue doesn't go away with the Firefox Quit and reopen cycle, then I suspect the problem is with something else you have installed. What people have been telling you is correct, OS X manages memory very well. You should not have to run an app like Free Memory, if OS X is running properly. This does not mean that your problem does not exist... but if it does exist then there is something unusual happening with OS X, and it may be better to figure that out rather than just treating the symptom. Specifically, what other little apps, add-ons, enhancers, etc have you installed to make OS X run better? It will almost certainly be one of those...

Luck.
Didn't work, closing firefox didn't reclaim all the used RAM. If I don't run FreeMemory or reboot then it starts swapping out and claiming I have no free RAM left to be used.
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 06:32 PM   #30
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
http://i49.tinypic.com/2m2xkxh.png

What's using the 1.69GB RAM?
----------



Didn't work, closing firefox didn't reclaim all the used RAM. If I don't run FreeMemory or reboot then it starts swapping out and claiming I have no free RAM left to be used.
At the point it starts swapping, and you are getting frustrated... post that Activity Monitor screen. The one you have posted is showing no issues that I can see.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 07:26 PM   #31
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by snberk103 View Post
If the memory issue goes away when you Quit and reopen Firefox, then it's time to look at what is happening with Firefox. What extensions and add-ons does have it have, etc etc
+1. Try opening Firefox in safe mode.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:23 AM   #32
Hasn'tbeensober
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Will memory paging occur if I have plenty of RAM left?
Hasn'tbeensober is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did 10.8.4 lower inactive RAM usage? smithrh OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jun 28, 2013 01:27 PM
Prevent specific app from using Inactive RAM? paintballmjm OS X 2 Apr 17, 2013 06:40 AM
Inactive RAM usage fryc86 MacBook Pro 26 Jan 4, 2013 09:03 PM
Inactive RAM vs Free RAM? B.A.T iMac 3 Dec 30, 2012 03:20 PM
Why so much inactive RAM ? jigsb007 MacBook Pro 2 Aug 6, 2012 07:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC