Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2012, 12:10 PM   #1
patchouli
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Help? Re getting apple extreme to work as my previous router did

I have voip through Primus..
I have Rogers cable internet..
I used to have a really old DLink router, which we threw out the other day and replaced with a new Airport Extreme...
The old DLink router used to be hooked up to a DLink 'wired router' model EBR-2310, which basically acted as a hub to extend the wired connection up to my 2 boys' bedrooms for their xboxes..

Internet comes into our house and goes like this:

Rogers modem -> Primus VoIP LinkSys Phone Adapter with Router -> Airport Extreme -> DLink Wired Router Model EBR-2310

When I set up the AE, I set it up as a 'Bridge', because the Primus router came before the AE..

Voip phone works, my computer and husband's xbox directly wired to AE work, all the wireless connections work.. but.. the DLink Wired Router no longer brings internet connection to my boys' rooms..

Is there anything I can do to make it work? Do I need to change a setting in the AE to let it know that it is not only a bridge, but that it is also sharing an internet connect? (or something like that??)

Thanks for any help..
patchouli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 12:30 PM   #2
musicpenguy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Don't think this is the right part of the forum for this question - is there a networking section you could post in?
__________________
(2006: 17" MBP, Rev A: MBA Sold), 2009 Mac Mini, MBA 1.4GHz, 2GB, 128GB, 11" - iPad 64GB 3G, eMate 300, MP2100, 2G 8GB iPhone, 3G 16GB iPhone, 3G&6G Nano, 2G Shuffle, 160GB TV, TV-V2 - TPPN.TV
musicpenguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 12:34 PM   #3
patchouli
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicpenguy View Post
Don't think this is the right part of the forum for this question - is there a networking section you could post in?
omg, i'm sorry..
patchouli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 12:37 PM   #4
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Put the AE into the default "DHCP and NAT" mode, don't use the D-Link as a hub but instead buy a 5port 10/100 switch ~$20 and use that instead.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 04:15 PM   #5
hallux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
Put the AE into the default "DHCP and NAT" mode, don't use the D-Link as a hub but instead buy a 5port 10/100 switch ~$20 and use that instead.
I think this ^^ is the best advice, maybe spend another $10 and get a 10/100/1000 switch instead. Too many devices in that chain with the word "router" in them, only need one. If you use one as an actual router, turn off the DHCP functions of the downstream devices and don't utilize the WAN port, it's basically a switch then.
__________________
2012 15" MBP, 2.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Hi-Res glossy
hallux is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camera will not work over internet (Port Fwd and DDNS Problems?) w/Apple Router thomamon Mac Peripherals 2 Dec 5, 2013 07:58 AM
AirPort Extreme Router Problems Alex65x Mac Peripherals 0 Jun 8, 2013 12:31 PM
Router recommendationds: Airport Extreme or ? mikethewxguy Mac Peripherals 5 Nov 21, 2012 10:38 AM
How can I get my previous system to work with my new Macbook Pro? jbrown MacBook Pro 4 Jun 24, 2012 10:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC