Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:15 PM   #1
bhigh8
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Why do I need to go to airplane mode for wifi to work?

Seems to be happening more and more. I am at home using wifi and I switch to an app and its timing out. I go to airplane mode and switch right back to wifi and it works.

Is this common? Does this happen to everyone else. I never used to do it. Now a couple times a day.
bhigh8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:44 PM   #2
iHelios
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
This will happen to me sometimes when I'm in a 4G area but the phone only picks up EDGE. Jumping in and out of airplane mode gets me back on 4G.
iHelios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:46 PM   #3
darster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
That's not common. Try rebooting your router first. If that doesn't solve it, Reset network settings on phone. if that doesn't work, restore your iphone through itunes. If that fails, return the phone for a replacement.
darster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:56 PM   #4
bhigh8
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
My wife's iPhone 4 does it also. I'm thinking its my wifi. How can I tell? I have a pretty good signal strength. My speeds are atrocious though.

I just did a restore today on my phone and still had to go to airplane mode once.
bhigh8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 10:02 PM   #5
emuyshondt
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
You are essentially turning the WiFi radio off and back on, causing your phone to log back into the network. Perhaps your router has a problem and is dropping the connection. Even if your phone has good signal strength, it may not actually be fully logged into the network.

- Do you have other WiFi devices at home that have this problem?
- Does your phone have a problem when connected to WiFi outside your home?

It may not be your phone that has the problem.
emuyshondt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 10:06 PM   #6
darster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Some of the older routers only allow 3 to 5 devices on at one time.
darster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 10:09 PM   #7
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
The iOS WiFi driver is less than perfect. I've always had grief with the HotSpot till a reboot.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 10:56 PM   #8
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
With laptops, if you have too many "preferred" networks, the thing gets confused. Fix: Delete hotspots you haven't used for a while, and only leave the 1-2 u use everyday.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 02:09 AM   #9
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
Hmm sounds like there is a problem with your phone.
__________________
Space Grey 64gb 6plus AT&T, 13.3" MacBook Air 1.86GHZ 4GB Ram 128GB SSD
Jordan921 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wifi can be used in Airplane mode now. gMacbookPro iPhone 19 Jul 28, 2013 09:14 AM
All iPads: Is Airplane Mode the same as turning off wifi? Which conserves battery better? HarryWarden iPad 1 Nov 7, 2012 05:36 PM
Airplane Mode Warning Mode With iMessage & WiFi kingray iOS 6 2 Oct 11, 2012 05:28 PM
Wished they had a drop down to on/off wifi/bluetooth/airplane mode etc aneftp iOS 6 13 Oct 5, 2012 04:05 PM
iMessage in Airplane Mode (Wifi on)? FSMBP iPhone 3 Jul 1, 2012 10:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC