Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 25, 2007, 02:46 PM   #1
adroit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Victoria, BC
How do you do a print screen on a mac running Windows?

Help
adroit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2007, 02:52 PM   #2
apfhex
macrumors 68030
 
apfhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern California
F14 (it's exactly the same as the "Print Screen" key on PC keyboards).
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 2.66Ghz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT, 23" ACD, Lion
Verizon iPhone 4 16GB ; White iPad 3 16GB
apfhex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2007, 03:10 PM   #3
adroit
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Victoria, BC
Where is the F14

I've tried hitting ctrl+F2 and alt+F2 but that didn't work.
adroit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2007, 03:20 PM   #4
Shadow
macrumors 68000
 
Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Keele, United Kingdom
Send a message via MSN to Shadow
Shift--3 or Shift--4.

EDIT: Just realised you meant in Windows. Silly me
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.66GHz C2D 8GB 128GB SSD 9600m
iPhone 4 16GB
Shadow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2007, 03:20 PM   #5
apfhex
macrumors 68030
 
apfhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern California
On external/full-size keyboards only I'm afraid.
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 2.66Ghz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT, 23" ACD, Lion
Verizon iPhone 4 16GB ; White iPad 3 16GB
apfhex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2007, 03:26 PM   #6
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
You should be able to pull up an onscreen keyboard map in Windows somehow. Or download a third-party screen grab app. Or get an external keyboard with the full complement of keys.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2007, 08:27 PM   #7
leereeves
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
You can use a third party app, or an on screen keyboard, or the "Snipping Tool" in Windows Vista, of course. But I just learned there's a registry hack for remapping keys on XP and Vista. With that, I remapped my right Apple key to Print Screen.

It was pretty easy, and truly awesome because my USB keyboard has an option/alt key right next to the right Apple key, and taking screenshots in Windows Vista is now easier on my MacBook than on my PCs.

(I posted this in an older thread before I found this one. Sorry about the double post.)
leereeves is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2007, 10:05 AM   #8
jeremy.king
macrumors 603
 
jeremy.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fox Lake, IL
I use Input Remapper which will automatically map func+eject on MB/MBP, however I haven't tried since upgrading to bootcamp 1.1.2
jeremy.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2007, 10:08 AM   #9
pengu
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Diddily Daddily...
http://www.mirekw.com/winfreeware/mwsnap.html

free. simple. does the "pick a window", "pick an area" "whole screen" thing simmilar to OSX. i use it at work (on xp) all the time!
pengu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2007, 08:00 AM   #10
leereeves
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Actually Vista includes a screen capture tool that can capture windows, rectangles, the whole screen, even a lasso. (Admittedly another example of Microsoft stealing markets from third-party developers.)

But sometimes I do need the regular print screen key. (To capture the start menu, or in full screen games, for example.)

Input Remapper seems interesting; does it work in games?

I personally like the registry change best. It's more complicated, but it is part of the normal Windows keyboard driver so there are no additional processes running, no additional layers between my keyboard and my games, and no compatibility issues.
leereeves is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2007, 08:22 AM   #11
clevin
macrumors G3
 
clevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
http://www.ntwind.com/software/winsnap.html
luv it, totally free for personal use, and can add background shadow or other quick effects, amazing.
clevin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2007, 03:54 PM   #12
jethro.hon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
does anyone know other tricks without 3rd party programs which does screengrabs? i have been using on-screen keyboard for printscreen, but it does seem a bit annoying having parts of the keyboard on my screen as well.

thanks for the help
jethro
jethro.hon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2007, 04:18 PM   #13
clevin
macrumors G3
 
clevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jethro.hon View Post
does anyone know other tricks without 3rd party programs which does screengrabs? i have been using on-screen keyboard for printscreen, but it does seem a bit annoying having parts of the keyboard on my screen as well.

thanks for the help
jethro
go buy another cheap keyboard.
clevin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2008, 08:44 AM   #14
wwilliams
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Print screen in windows in bootcamp - onscreen keyboard

Print screen for the Mac in windows Via boot camp
I was happy to find this solution..not convenient but it works.
all programs>>Accessories >> accessibility >> onscreen keyboard
click the ctrl and psc, then normal paste.

oops guess i should have read the thread all the way through..this suggestion has already be offered.
wwilliams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2010, 07:47 AM   #15
nunoro35
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
print screen on mac (running windows)

keyboard combination: SHIFT + FN + F11
nunoro35 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2010, 09:15 PM   #16
HBOC
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PDX
this thread is like 3 years old....
__________________
500px
dustingentadventures.com
HBOC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2010, 11:43 PM   #17
mbjorkegren
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nunoro35 View Post
keyboard combination: SHIFT + FN + F11
Thanks nunoro, this works
mbjorkegren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2010, 06:20 PM   #18
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Here's the link to the official article: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1220
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2010, 08:11 PM   #19
Beebeedee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Nunoro - you are the best - short and sweet and straight to the point!
Beebeedee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 04:39 PM   #20
verma27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Just press control shift and f11, works like a charm for me, ive tried this on windows side on boot camp, not quiot sure on the os x side though lol
verma27 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 10:00 PM   #21
techdevil
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Amesome!

I've used long time for finding this solution.
Thank you so much rep. #15
techdevil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 06:52 AM   #22
TooCoolJuul
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Print Screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by apfhex View Post
F14 (it's exactly the same as the "Print Screen" key on PC keyboards).
Then why didn't they put PRINT SCREEN on the darned KEY!
TooCoolJuul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:22 AM   #23
chemibarowgma
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks Nunoro35,

Quote:
Originally Posted by nunoro35 View Post
keyboard combination: SHIFT + FN + F11
Thank you so much
chemibarowgma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:19 AM   #24
gadget17
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nunoro35 View Post
keyboard combination: SHIFT + FN + F11
Fantastic !!
Short , sweet , and it works - wahooooo!!
gadget17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: help in running windows game on a mac frankmau5 Mac and PC Games 17 Dec 19, 2013 02:33 PM
iMac added to Windows print server but won't print fimy Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 May 23, 2013 01:04 PM
Running windows on mac Lizcaleil Mac Basics and Help 1 Nov 3, 2012 07:04 AM
How to Print Screen on a MacBook Pro Using Parallels For Windows Lulu-144 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Oct 24, 2012 04:42 PM
Windows display Mac Edited Word file correctly, but print out unedited version .. foosayhow Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Oct 18, 2012 10:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC