Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 2, 2013, 05:56 PM   #1
WizardHunt
macrumors Demi-God
 
WizardHunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada USA
Questions about the new Fusion Drive in the new iMacs

I am considering getting a new iMac soon. I need to know whether or not the option with the Fusion Drive will work for me or not. Some advice would be appreciated. Here are my questions below:

1.) Often I will put too much software on my iMac and will end up reformating and starting over so to speak, but I am not clear how this will affect me when reformating the Macintosh HD. If I order the 3TB Fusion Drive. Is that a 3 TB 7200 rpm HD plus a 128GB SSD? How does one format both of them as one drive?

2.) The main applications and OS/X is installed on the fusion drive but when the drive is on the desktop, it only shows (on my sisters iMac with a fusion drive) as one single drive. How will I know if I am putting what applications or programs on just the SSD drive or flash drive as they call it?


3.) I don't want to separate the main HD and the 128GB Flash drive but not sure how this combining works. Can anyone explain it in more detail?

4.) if the flash drive(128 GB SSD) fails will that kill the drive on the Mac since it is a combined HD setup? If so that does not seem like a good setup at all. Any ideas?


If you reply to this post, you can reply only to question 1 or 2 or 3 or 4 or all of them.
__________________
Bought: 2014 27" Retina iMac 4.0GHz i7,32GB Ram, 1TB SSD Drive,M295X 4Gb - Express Shipping coming Oct 22, 10:30 AM PST
WizardHunt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 06:06 PM   #2
AT06
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Winwick, UK
1) OSX makes it appear as one drive, and software then sorts out what content to put where (SSD or HDD). Reformatting the drive shouldn't stop this so don't worry. The HDD is 5400rpm.

2) Again, the fusion software picks what to put where. From the performance people have been getting, it seems very quick and reliable. Software is mainly, if not always, put on the SSD section of the fusion drive.

3) The software looks at what data is accessed most often - pattern recognition basically. It then chooses what software needs to be put on the SSD section for fast access, and what can be out on the HDD. If something is on the HDD because it isn't accessed often, but then the user begins to access it often, then the software will move it to the SSD.

4) If the SSD fails, then your fusion drive is pretty dead. Like any drive though, a regular time machine backup should be kept externally.
__________________
"Twenty seconds of insane courage"
iMac 27"| iPad 32GB | iPhone 5 | Canon 6D, 24-105mm f/4L & 50mm f/1.8

Last edited by AT06; Jan 2, 2013 at 07:08 PM.
AT06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 06:12 PM   #3
spinstorm
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
New question: can I partition the drive and fusion still works?

I would like to partition my 1TB fusion drive with half for media and the other half for the OS and library.

Will doing that damage the fusion drive in respect of slowing it all down?
__________________
US 8GB FW 1.0.2>iUnlock>iPhoneSIMfree>1.1.1>1.1.2>Soft upgrade 1.1.3>1.1.4 using signal.app
UK 16GB FW 1.1.3 OOB>1.1.4>iPlus 1.2 unlocked!
spinstorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 06:19 PM   #4
AT06
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Winwick, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinstorm View Post
I would like to partition my 1TB fusion drive with half for media and the other half for the OS and library.

Will doing that damage the fusion drive in respect of slowing it all down?
I honestly can't see why it would affect it, although I could be wrong. If it gives you the option to in disk utility, without warning you it could affect the drive, then it should be fine. I would get some more opinions though to be sure
__________________
"Twenty seconds of insane courage"
iMac 27"| iPad 32GB | iPhone 5 | Canon 6D, 24-105mm f/4L & 50mm f/1.8
AT06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 10:56 AM   #5
gocsan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by AT06 View Post
1) The HDD is 5400rpm.
Just like to make a correction, the HDD is 7200rpm. 5400rpm only applies to 21.5" iMacs. As the OP asked about the 3TB option, this cannot be the 21.5" because the highest configurable HDD is 1TB on the 21.5" iMac. I am therefore assuming that the OP is referring to the 27" iMac.
__________________
Late 2012 27" iMac, 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5, 8GB RAM, GTX 680MX 2GB, 1TB Fusion drive | iPhone 4S 16GB | iPad 2 64GB
gocsan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:07 AM   #6
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinstorm View Post
I would like to partition my 1TB fusion drive with half for media and the other half for the OS and library.

Will doing that damage the fusion drive in respect of slowing it all down?
Yes you can do this with a little command line work, i have mine setup just like this. It works perfectly btw.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by WizardHunt View Post
1.) Often I will put too much software on my iMac and will end up reformating and starting over so to speak, but I am not clear how this will affect me when reformating the Macintosh HD. If I order the 3TB Fusion Drive. Is that a 3 TB 7200 rpm HD plus a 128GB SSD? How does one format both of them as one drive?
This will not be an issue the system handles this. For all intents and purposes you have a single drive that you can format as per normal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WizardHunt View Post

2.) The main applications and OS/X is installed on the fusion drive but when the drive is on the desktop, it only shows (on my sisters iMac with a fusion drive) as one single drive. How will I know if I am putting what applications or programs on just the SSD drive or flash drive as they call it?
Once again this is all handled by the sytem automatically, there is no way to know what files are where as Fusion works on a block level.


Quote:
Originally Posted by WizardHunt View Post

3.) I don't want to separate the main HD and the 128GB Flash drive but not sure how this combining works. Can anyone explain it in more detail?
Basically all your files are broken up into little chunks (blocks) These are distributed across the two drives so that the most used chunks are on the SSD. For example you may have a 8GB file, 2 gigs of the file that gets used often may be stored on the SSD while the other 6Gb is stored on the HDD as it does not get used often.


Quote:
Originally Posted by WizardHunt View Post

4.) if the flash drive(128 GB SSD) fails will that kill the drive on the Mac since it is a combined HD setup? If so that does not seem like a good setup at all. Any ideas?
You should have a back system anyway, any disk system can fail!!!
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:12 AM   #7
themcfly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1485175

Maybe this can help you, it shares some good insights on how fusion drive works.
themcfly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:19 AM   #8
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
BootCamp can create 1 partition on the hard disk easily ... No Terminal command-line work needed. Once the partition is created, it is no longer part of the Fusion drive and can be formatted and used as you please for "static" OS X data.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:24 AM   #9
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
BootCamp can create 1 partition on the hard disk easily ... No Terminal command-line work needed. Once the partition is created, it is no longer part of the Fusion drive and can be formatted and used as you please for "static" OS X data.
Damb i forgot about that, yes you are right. I had to use terminal as i installed windows.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:35 AM   #10
Arman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by WizardHunt View Post
I am considering getting a new iMac soon. I need to know whether or not the option with the Fusion Drive will work for me or not. Some advice would be appreciated. Here are my questions below:

1.) Often I will put too much software on my iMac and will end up reformating and starting over so to speak, but I am not clear how this will affect me when reformating the Macintosh HD. If I order the 3TB Fusion Drive. Is that a 3 TB 7200 rpm HD plus a 128GB SSD? How does one format both of them as one drive?

2.) The main applications and OS/X is installed on the fusion drive but when the drive is on the desktop, it only shows (on my sisters iMac with a fusion drive) as one single drive. How will I know if I am putting what applications or programs on just the SSD drive or flash drive as they call it?


3.) I don't want to separate the main HD and the 128GB Flash drive but not sure how this combining works. Can anyone explain it in more detail?

4.) if the flash drive(128 GB SSD) fails will that kill the drive on the Mac since it is a combined HD setup? If so that does not seem like a good setup at all. Any ideas?


If you reply to this post, you can reply only to question 1 or 2 or 3 or 4 or all of them.
1. Yes. I believe you reformat by going through internet recovery assistant. otherwise you download mountain lion from App store and place on USB stick.

2. All OSX and system files will be on the SSD. The rest you let OSX decide. There is no way at this time to know what is on SSD and what is HDD.

3. Don't know the details but it's some OSX wizardry. Creates a logical volume combining both on the software side.

4. Yes if either the HDD or the SDD fail then you're whole system will likely fail. Fail rate is likely very unlikely even given two drive system. SSD probably have a lower fail rate given no moving parts. You should invest in a good backup system. Time machine makes this simple.
__________________
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4Ghz, 32GB, 1TB fusion, 675MX
Late 2011 15" MacBook Pro, 2.2Ghz, 16GB, 250GB SSD
iPhone 5 Black 32GB; iPad 4 Black 32GB
Arman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:58 AM   #11
iWaiting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arman View Post
1. Yes. I believe you reformat by going through internet recovery assistant. otherwise you download mountain lion from App store and place on USB stick.

2. All OSX and system files will be on the SSD. The rest you let OSX decide. There is no way at this time to know what is on SSD and what is HDD.

3. Don't know the details but it's some OSX wizardry. Creates a logical volume combining both on the software side.

4. Yes if either the HDD or the SDD fail then you're whole system will likely fail. Fail rate is likely very unlikely even given two drive system. SSD probably have a lower fail rate given no moving parts. You should invest in a good backup system. Time machine makes this simple.
wrong

the OS that come over with the internet recovery is different from the one one the app store at least until 10.8.3 is up I believe it starts 12Cxxxx
iWaiting is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 02:48 PM   #12
mrbrown
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ozark, Missouri
Send a message via ICQ to mrbrown Send a message via AIM to mrbrown Send a message via MSN to mrbrown Send a message via Yahoo to mrbrown
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
BootCamp can create 1 partition on the hard disk easily ... No Terminal command-line work needed. Once the partition is created, it is no longer part of the Fusion drive and can be formatted and used as you please for "static" OS X data.
Unless you have the 27" iMac with the 3TB fusion drive.
__________________
Mr. Brown - www.mrbrown.net
mrbrown is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 04:22 PM   #13
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbrown View Post
My response above was to "spinstorm" who was asking how to do it on a 1TB Fusion. It can be done without Terminal commands and non-destructivly from within the 1TB Fusion environment as delivered from Apple.

If you look here on the forums there are several threads detailing exactly how to accomplish this on the 3TB fusion. It does require breaking the Fusion drive and then partitioning the 3TB hard disk, then restoring the Fusion join to the desired hard disk partition. This will require Terminal commands and you must backup your data and restore it when you are through. Whether you also install Windows is up to the user ... the partitions external to the Fusion join can be used any way desired.


-howard
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 04:48 PM   #14
WizardHunt
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
WizardHunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by gocsan View Post
Just like to make a correction, the HDD is 7200rpm. 5400rpm only applies to 21.5" iMacs. As the OP asked about the 3TB option, this cannot be the 21.5" because the highest configurable HDD is 1TB on the 21.5" iMac. I am therefore assuming that the OP is referring to the 27" iMac.
This is true, I am only speaking of the 27 inch model as that model only has the 3 TB Fusion Drive option.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post

Basically all your files are broken up into little chunks (blocks) These are distributed across the two drives so that the most used chunks are on the SSD. For example you may have a 8GB file, 2 gigs of the file that gets used often may be stored on the SSD while the other 6Gb is stored on the HDD as it does not get used often.


You should have a back system anyway, any disk system can fail!!!
I will have a 2 TB Time machine backup of course. But still i doubt the SSD will fail before the HHD will. That is my guess. But I have many (2 TB) Hard drives that I use for backups. I believe in backups.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
Yes you can do this with a little command line work, i have mine setup just like this. It works perfectly btw.

----------

This will not be an issue the system handles this. For all intents and purposes you have a single drive that you can format as per normal.



Once again this is all handled by the sytem automatically, there is no way to know what files are where as Fusion works on a block level.




Basically all your files are broken up into little chunks (blocks) These are distributed across the two drives so that the most used chunks are on the SSD. For example you may have a 8GB file, 2 gigs of the file that gets used often may be stored on the SSD while the other 6Gb is stored on the HDD as it does not get used often.




You should have a back system anyway, any disk system can fail!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbrown View Post
I had boot camp on my iMac once, now I will not use boot camp on my new iMac when I buy it.


I want to thank you guys for all the responses, you answered my questions and I appreciate it. I will go with the 3 TB Fusion Drive option when I buy mine next month.
__________________
Bought: 2014 27" Retina iMac 4.0GHz i7,32GB Ram, 1TB SSD Drive,M295X 4Gb - Express Shipping coming Oct 22, 10:30 AM PST
WizardHunt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 04:53 PM   #15
AT06
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Winwick, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by WizardHunt View Post
This is true, I am only speaking of the 27 inch model as that model only has the 3 TB Fusion Drive option.

----------



I will have a 2 TB Time machine backup of course. But still i doubt the SSD will fail before the HHD will. That is my guess. But I have many (2 TB) Hard drives that I use for backups. I believe in backups.

----------





I had boot camp on my iMac once, now I will not use boot camp on my new iMac when I buy it.


I want to thank you guys for all the responses, you answered my questions and I appreciate it. I will go with the 3 TB Fusion Drive option when I buy mine next month.
Glad to hear you have made your mind up - hope you enjoy it when it arrives
__________________
"Twenty seconds of insane courage"
iMac 27"| iPad 32GB | iPhone 5 | Canon 6D, 24-105mm f/4L & 50mm f/1.8
AT06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run fusion VM from external drive questions. dazed Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Apr 26, 2014 11:54 PM
DIY Fusion Drive Questions p3ntyne MacBook Pro 3 Feb 1, 2014 08:07 AM
Considering creating a fusion drive .... questions InfiniteLoopy OS X 1 Jul 14, 2013 10:56 AM
System Memory and Fusion Drive questions BIG-b iMac 3 Apr 20, 2013 10:04 AM
MM fusion drive questions eyepea Mac mini 1 Mar 12, 2013 04:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC