Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 13, 2009, 01:41 AM   #1
owen.andrews.00
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
iMac as External monitor

Hi All

I have an iMac G5 1.8 GHZ
And a Mac mini intel core duo

is it possible to use the imac display as a monitor for the Mac mini

I am aware of software such as screen recycler that uses a firewire cable but id like to connect directly via VGA/DVI so it dont lag

An comments appreciated

Thanks
owen.andrews.00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 01:43 AM   #2
smurfjammer
macrumors 6502a
 
smurfjammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Send a message via AIM to smurfjammer
I don't think there is a hardware option...
__________________
iPad 2 16GB ~ iPhone 4s 32GB ~ 27" 2.93 GHz i7 iMac ~ Apple TV2 ~ iPhone 8GB ~ 2.0GHz White MacBook ~ 20" 2.0 GHz G5 iMac
smurfjammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 06:23 AM   #3
Beanlok
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
No...It Sucks! Ive wanted to do this. It technically is possible. You'd have to totally gut the imac and figure out the display power and rig it up. While you're in there throw the mini in and have a C2D imac.
__________________
2.3 i7 2012 MacBook Pro w/Retina Display
2.66 C2D 2009 Imac 4gb 640 HDD
16gb wifi iPad 3 16gb iPhone 4s
Beanlok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 12:32 PM   #4
edgew8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beanlok View Post
No...It Sucks! Ive wanted to do this. It technically is possible. You'd have to totally gut the imac and figure out the display power and rig it up. While you're in there throw the mini in and have a C2D imac.
HAHA, yeah I wish. The major hurdle is hooking up the lcd's inverter to the mini's logic board (or any other motherboard out there besides the g5's logic board) and as far as I know cannot be done.

This project is like a holy grail of hardware hacks and people have been trying to do it with laptop screens since...forever. Sadly this kind of project requires the expertise of an engineering team to figure out all the power wiring and hooking up the lcd to a graphics card or port.
__________________
2ghz iMac G5 20"/ 4gb iPod nano 3rd gen:apple/ Macbook Pro 15"
edgew8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 12:42 PM   #5
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
You can use a usb video-in card from Elgato on the iMac. A pain to do so really.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 03:22 PM   #6
MTI
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
You can use a usb video-in card from Elgato on the iMac. A pain to do so really.
The video in from Elgato isn't digital, is it? I thought it was more along the lines of S-video and/or composite.
MTI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 05:48 PM   #7
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Elgato offers a new model that accepts s-video.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2009, 07:00 AM   #8
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
iMacs don't have input, only output. You can't use iMac's screen as a monitor.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2009, 08:04 AM   #9
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
iMacs don't have input, only output. You can't use iMac's screen as a monitor.
You can with the Elgato devices.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 04:37 PM   #10
willcapellaro
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by owen.andrews.00 View Post
Hi All

I have an iMac G5 1.8 GHZ
And a Mac mini intel core duo

is it possible to use the imac display as a monitor for the Mac mini

I am aware of software such as screen recycler that uses a firewire cable but id like to connect directly via VGA/DVI so it dont lag

An comments appreciated

Thanks
Unhelpful reponse: Look up requirements for firewire and/or thunderbolt target display mode. I know it is possible with thunderbolt, and perhaps is possible with firewire, but I might be thinking target disk mode for firewire.

If not, you are inconvenienced like most Apple users at some point of owning a device. Hopefully you've made good use of your devices. But they've got new things for you and you'll be really happy with them. Just ignore the fact that you'll soon be in the same boat, after what is hopefully a long honeymoon.
willcapellaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a 2009 27" iMac as external monitor with a 2011 Air maccauni MacBook Air 8 Sep 2, 2011 02:16 AM
Will a Thunderbolt iMac work as a monitor for a Thunderbolt MBA? demodave iMac 14 Jul 26, 2011 03:15 AM
bizarre effects connecting external monitor Skald MacBook Pro 9 Apr 14, 2011 08:03 PM
15" wont allow full resolution for external monitor legreve MacBook Pro 2 Apr 6, 2011 06:48 AM
Imac as external display for MBP w/ Henge dock? meulemaster iMac 0 Jan 6, 2011 01:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC