Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 3, 2013, 02:31 AM   #1
windjunkie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Macbook Air Monitors

I've read on several occasions that a Mac is compatible with any monitor that has VGA, HDMI or DVI inputs. Not true as many monitor manufacturers have PC connectivity only. Can anyone that uses an external monitor with a Macbook Air please refer me to a $100-17 priced monitor? Note I use Office applications 99.9% of the time
windjunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 02:33 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by windjunkie View Post
I've read on several occasions that a Mac is compatible with any monitor that has VGA, HDMI or DVI inputs. Not true as many monitor manufacturers have PC connectivity only.
What kind of connection is this pleas?
Most common video interfaces on external computer displays and TVs

Common video interfaces on Macs and the appropriate adapters to connect to other display devices
Quote:
Can anyone that uses an external monitor with a Macbook Air please refer me to a $100-17 priced monitor? Note I use Office applications 99.9% of the time
Any monitor you find on Amazon with a DisplayPort, Mini DisplayPort, DVI, VGA or HDMI input will work for that.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:00 PM   #3
kage207
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by windjunkie View Post
I've read on several occasions that a Mac is compatible with any monitor that has VGA, HDMI or DVI inputs. Not true as many monitor manufacturers have PC connectivity only. Can anyone that uses an external monitor with a Macbook Air please refer me to a $100-17 priced monitor? Note I use Office applications 99.9% of the time
I got an external for my desktop though I keep my desktop hooked up to my TV because it is my Plex Media Center device / online videos.

Now my external monitor sits around and is used when I need a monitor for my headless server whenever things go bad which does not happen very often.

Now I use this wonderful monitor ($150 after MIR) 23" and gives you great extra space.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=asus%20vh236

Cables:
http://www.amazon.com/DisplayPort-Fe...isplay+to+hdmi
http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-Cable-Cat...&keywords=hdmi
__________________
MBA 13", i5 1.8GHz, 8GM RAM, 128GB SSD
These are amazing products that enrich our lives that we see as toys, remember that they are expensive and should be used as tools to reach our dreams~
kage207 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 05:23 AM   #4
Emrys
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Can't get resolution / display right on external monitor

Hi

Im not sure if this is the right thread, but here goes:

Ive a Samsung SyncMaster 2343nw which was working great with my Macbook. I recently upgraded to a MBA (which I love!) but now the resolution is stuck at 1920x1080, and is not crystal sharp. I use a minidisplay port to VGA.

Please help - the blurry screen is doing my head in !!

Any advice?

Thanks
Emrys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 05:41 AM   #5
Abazigal
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emrys View Post
Hi

Im not sure if this is the right thread, but here goes:

Ive a Samsung SyncMaster 2343nw which was working great with my Macbook. I recently upgraded to a MBA (which I love!) but now the resolution is stuck at 1920x1080, and is not crystal sharp. I use a minidisplay port to VGA.

Please help - the blurry screen is doing my head in !!

Any advice?

Thanks
You may want to try DVI instead. I doubt vga supports such a resolution.
Abazigal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 05:45 AM   #6
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abazigal View Post
You may want to try DVI instead. I doubt vga supports such a resolution.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emrys View Post
Hi

Im not sure if this is the right thread, but here goes:

Ive a Samsung SyncMaster 2343nw which was working great with my Macbook. I recently upgraded to a MBA (which I love!) but now the resolution is stuck at 1920x1080, and is not crystal sharp. I use a minidisplay port to VGA.

Please help - the blurry screen is doing my head in !!

Any advice?

Thanks
Strangely enough, that monitor has a strange resolution (2048 x 1152) to begin with and it also only has analog inputs, no DVI or HDMI, but I guess in 2009 such interfaces were not that common and the CRTs I had in 2001 or 2002 were just anomalies. Or it is a Samsung thing.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 07:30 AM   #7
Emrys
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
The strange thing is that it worked fine with my old Macbook and then a few months ago it stopped displaying full screen and lost its crispness.

I bought it because it was on sale due to it's lack of DVI / HDMI inputs, and VGA was fine.

Any advice?
Emrys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 08:18 AM   #8
batlogic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Get SwitchResX

I know it sucks to pay for an app to run your monitor but it is a strange res.

Here's a link to a guy that did the same thing....

http://vapaus.org/syncmaster/
batlogic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 08:25 AM   #9
Emrys
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by batlogic View Post
I know it sucks to pay for an app to run your monitor but it is a strange res.

Here's a link to a guy that did the same thing....

http://vapaus.org/syncmaster/
Thanks Batlogic, infortunately I tried that, and it still doesnt work - for some reason the app wont allow me to use the settings that the example gives - and now it only works on 11920x1080.

Sigh
Emrys is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC