Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:27 AM   #1
determig
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
iMac 20" graphic card in 24"

Hey
I have a 24" 2.8ghz 2008 with a defect 256 MB Radeon HD 2600 PRO

I also have a 20" 2.16ghz with a 128 MB Radeon HD 2400 XT.

Will i be able to put the graphic card from the 20" and put into the 24"

thanks

P.S sorry for my poor english
determig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:28 AM   #2
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by determig View Post
Hey
I have a 24" 2.8ghz 2008 with a defect 256 MB Radeon HD 2600 PRO

I also have a 20" 2.16ghz with a 128 MB Radeon HD 2400 XT.

Will i be able to put the graphic card from the 20" and put into the 24"

thanks

P.S sorry for my poor english
No, unfortunately not.
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; Lacie Quadra D2 external HDs; 4S iPhone; Nikon DLSR
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:39 AM   #3
determig
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkaufmann87 View Post
No, unfortunately not.
Thanks
Sorry to hear it dont fit
When the graphic card is dead, how stable is it with reflow?

Thinks the graphic cards i extremely expensive
determig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:53 AM   #4
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by determig View Post
Thanks
Sorry to hear it dont fit
When the graphic card is dead, how stable is it with reflow?

Thinks the graphic cards i extremely expensive
You'd be surprised.
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:55 AM   #5
determig
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by All Taken View Post
You'd be surprised.
so it is possible?
determig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 12:03 PM   #6
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by determig View Post
so it is possible?
I was referring to your comment on the expense of the part needed, it's not that expensive. Check eBay.
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:17 PM   #7
FuriousGreg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by determig View Post
Hey
I have a 24" 2.8ghz 2008 with a defect 256 MB Radeon HD 2600 PRO

I also have a 20" 2.16ghz with a 128 MB Radeon HD 2400 XT.

Will i be able to put the graphic card from the 20" and put into the 24"

thanks

P.S sorry for my poor english
If you can find it and you want a better card look for the nVidia 8800GSX 512, thats the card they also used for those machines and it will fit as well.
The problem is that the cards Apple uses are very specific to apple machines, no one else uses them so replacements are going to be difficult to find, not impossable just difficult. You may be able to find one/order one through an Applestore if you can't find it elsewhere.

Good luck
FuriousGreg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:22 PM   #8
Brian Y
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuriousGreg View Post
If you can find it and you want a better card look for the nVidia 8800GSX 512, thats the card they also used for those machines and it will fit as well.
The problem is that the cards Apple uses are very specific to apple machines, no one else uses them so replacements are going to be difficult to find, not impossable just difficult. You may be able to find one/order one through an Applestore if you can't find it elsewhere.

Good luck
As long as the card you get was shipped with a mac of the same age it'll be fine.

You *can* use (much cheaper) generic MXM cards - but you need to find and flash Apple's vBios to them, and they need to be a supported model. Not an easy task by any stretch.
Brian Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 10:28 AM   #9
FuriousGreg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Y View Post
As long as the card you get was shipped with a mac of the same age it'll be fine.

You *can* use (much cheaper) generic MXM cards - but you need to find and flash Apple's vBios to them, and they need to be a supported model. Not an easy task by any stretch.
The cards are available, just not easy to find on the open market. To get either the one he has or the nVidia the OP is likely going to have to go through an AppleStore as a repair (I did it last year but I was still covered by AppleCare - well it had just expired a month before the card failed but they covered me anyway). You will pay too much for the card $250+- + $40 for the repair but it's still cheaper than a new machine.
FuriousGreg is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC