Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:07 AM   #26
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
"Fusion drive" is just a gimmick. Very transparent to the user, but it's pretty much an mSATA SSD and HDD combo. That will go away once SSD's are more affordable.

Your iMac has a 2.5" HDD slot, so if you just have an SSD in there, you can upgrade it yourself and make it into a "fusion drive". There are plenty of tools out there and people have made it work on systems that didn't come with it by default.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:11 AM   #27
MacDav
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
You can create your own "fusion" setup. The software is included in both Lion and Mountain Lion 10.7, 10.8. It's easier if you have a MacPro because you've got slots for extra hard drives and easy access to them. You can use external drives also. Just install your drives, one SSD and one HD. Open up the terminal app. and type: diskutil cs create bla disk0 disk1

Disk0 being your ssd and disk1 being your regular HD. Depending on your set up it may not be disk0 or disk1. You need to know the disk number that is assigned to each disk and use those accordingly. The system software does the rest for you. The two drives mount as a single drive. I haven't tried this myself, I might at some point. If you screw up your Mac don't blame me. I'm not telling you to do this. I didn't come up with this, it's all over the net, do a search. In fact I recommend you do a search and use those instructions instead of mine. You can let me know how I got it all wrong.
MacDav is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:16 AM   #28
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
The iMac storage options are pure BS. What about offering a couple of SSD-options instead, like 256GB and 512GB (in all iMac models)? I for one am not gonna get any fusion drive ever in an iMac. I want SSD. It's safer, cooler, less noisy, faster/always fast etc., pretty much completely superior to HDs in every way expect storage size, but a lot of people don't need 1-3 GBs of internal data in their iMacs!!
Mac32 is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:17 AM   #29
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by azentropy View Post
I remember reading in one of the first base teardowns that it did not have the socket connector.
I know, what I meant was, do they ALL come with the connector NOW.

My own quote:

Quote:
The next question is, is the connector standard on all Logic boards so that you can D.I.Y. ?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:27 AM   #30
roverma
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac32 View Post
The iMac storage options are pure BS. What about offering a couple of SSD-options instead, like 256GB and 512GB (in all iMac models)? I for one am not gonna get any fusion drive ever in an iMac. I want SSD. It's safer, cooler, less noisy, faster/always fast etc., pretty much completely superior to HDs in every way expect storage size, but a lot of people don't need 1-3 GBs of internal data in their iMacs!!
Your comment is pure BS!!
Fusion drive is safe, cool, very silent and fast......
roverma is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:31 AM   #31
Mike MA
macrumors 6502a
 
Mike MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Germany, Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by haruhiko View Post
Early adopters are screwed again.
Limited availability at the beginning?
__________________
Macbook Air 13" (late 2010) - Apple TV2 - Time Capsule - iPhone 4
Mike MA is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:50 AM   #32
MacAddict1978
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
The next question is, is the connector standard on all Logic boards so that you can D.I.Y. ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Santabean2000 View Post
Should be standard in my opinion. Option to go fully SSD.
agreed.... the fusion drive should be a trade off on the optical drive, not the " we took something away, raised the price, and will stick you with more money here" that it is
MacAddict1978 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:52 AM   #33
paulbeattie87
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North East Scotland
The fusion drive is simply scandalous! For the price they charge Apple should be ashamed, it's like the RAM upgrade pricing pay full amount and more for the upgrade and we will keep the original RAM cost built in. This time they're just charging many times over for an SSD that's worth less than $100
paulbeattie87 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:53 AM   #34
Tanax
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
How about getting GTX 680MX for the base 27" too, while we're at it? That's really the only thing I need from the high-end 27" - most likely I'll have to get the high-end because of that reason alone.
Tanax is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:58 AM   #35
Morrile
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In an Apartment
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macdick View Post
128Gb HD in any Mac's should be legaly Banned!!! what a joke!!!
then change it http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/O...ro_Retina_2012

Morrile
__________________
MacBook Pro i7 2.6Mhz, 16Mb RAM, 512Gb SSD.
MacBook Pro 2.4Mhz, 4Mb RAM, 500Gb HDD.
iPhone 3
iPhone 4
Morrile is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:58 AM   #36
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc View Post
...I can't believe 7200rpm isnt even an option on 21, never mind SSD... Ridiculous.
7200 RPM drives are “less green”, produce a lot of heat & noise, and are NOT much faster. The Fusion drive does not need a 7200 RPM HDD.
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:08 AM   #37
apolloa
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
The next question is, is the connector standard on all Logic boards so that you can D.I.Y. ?
But you can't open this model up? If you watch ifixit they had to use a heat gun and loads of guitar picks as Apple has glued the front screen onto the chassis! No doubt it can be done but they have made it pointlessly very difficult and you have to re glue the screen back in afterwards.

IMO the worst iMac design yet because of this. But the fusion drive goes a bit of the way to alleviate frustration I guess?
__________________
RIP Jasper, 2000 - 2014
You made our lives special
apolloa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:08 AM   #38
Kebabselector
macrumors 68020
 
Kebabselector's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
Hopefully it might make an appearance in the base Mac Mini - mind you it's fairly easy to install your own SDD in that
__________________
Mac Mini 1.66Ghz/2gb - 2.3/i5/8gb - MacBook 2.0Ghz/2gb
iPhone 6 64gb - iPad Mini Retina 16gb wifi
Others: Canon Eos Stuff - Passat B6 - Smeg - Firewire devices - Prefers Matte
Kebabselector is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:15 AM   #39
Lancer
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Good move that is likely to piss off any one who bought an early base model or upgraded to the top 21.5" for Fusion.

Correct me but no one makes a 1Tb 2.5" 7200 HDD, I've seen some 750Gb but I agree there should be a not cost upgrade to the 7200 because it's smaller than the 5400 1Tb.

Over all this is a good move but get Fusion and 16Gb of RAM and the base model becomes a $2000 iMac. It will be some time before Fusion is standard on the iMac, not the next update but maybe the one after that.
Lancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:16 AM   #40
Morrile
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In an Apartment
Fusion with Express port

Hi,

The idea of creating your own Fusion drive is great but can this be done with a SSD drive within the Express port? I do have a 96Gb SSD express card and wondered if combined with the internal 750GB Std drive if it's possible or not?

Morrile
__________________
MacBook Pro i7 2.6Mhz, 16Mb RAM, 512Gb SSD.
MacBook Pro 2.4Mhz, 4Mb RAM, 500Gb HDD.
iPhone 3
iPhone 4
Morrile is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:23 AM   #41
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by apolloa View Post
But you can't open this model up? If you watch ifixit they had to use a heat gun and loads of guitar picks as Apple has glued the front screen onto the chassis! No doubt it can be done but they have made it pointlessly very difficult and you have to re glue the screen back in afterwards.

IMO the worst iMac design yet because of this. But the fusion drive goes a bit of the way to alleviate frustration I guess?
It is by no means as hard as you say, there is a long thread here on MR, look there. Rip Those Macs Open

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morrile View Post
Hi,

The idea of creating your own Fusion drive is great but can this be done with a SSD drive within the Express port? I do have a 96Gb SSD express card and wondered if combined with the internal 750GB Std drive if it's possible or not?

Morrile
Too slow.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:25 AM   #42
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by haruhiko View Post
Early adopters are screwed again.
"Early adopters" got exactly what they paid for. Now Apple offers you to buy something that is better than the lowest end iMac for more money, or less good than the better iMac for less money. So please explain how these "early adopters" getting screwed?
gnasher729 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:27 AM   #43
barkmonster
macrumors 68020
 
barkmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lancashire
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morrile View Post
Hi,

The idea of creating your own Fusion drive is great but can this be done with a SSD drive within the Express port? I do have a 96Gb SSD express card and wondered if combined with the internal 750GB Std drive if it's possible or not?

Morrile
It wouldn't work because a fusion drive is based around 2 SATA drives, not a mix of external and internal drives. It would also be very dangerous to have a fragmented file system span over 2 drives when one of them relies on an external adapter.

Your best bet would be to get a DVD to 2.5" drive caddy such as the Optibay.

You replace your DVD drive with the caddy and then fit an SSD in it's place.

The Optibay comes with a USB case for the optical drive but you can put your existing DVD in any number of third party external USB cases for future use. There's plenty of alternatives to the Optibay, I got one from a company called Bipra for £20 and then bought a £6 USB to optical SATA cable and plug in the bare drive with my Mac Mini:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/USB2-0-Sliml...A1WVEK949ZXAY8

There's plenty of sites that show you how to create a fusion drive once you've got the SSD fitted. Barefeats did tests and provided a few links on their page:

http://www.barefeats.com/hard158.html

Personally, I'd boot from the SSD and then move all your large files outside of the users folder and onto the HDD (iTunes Music, Movies, iPhone library and any large items in your Documents folder etc...).
__________________
16Gb iPhone 5 • 2.53Ghz Mac Mini (8Gb, 60Gb Vertex 2) • Icy Box IB-328U3SEb with Toshiba DT01ACA300 HDD
Mbox2 • LG W2343T • Samsung SyncMaster 913n

Last edited by barkmonster; Jan 5, 2013 at 06:57 AM.
barkmonster is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:45 AM   #44
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulbeattie87 View Post
The fusion drive is simply scandalous! For the price they charge Apple should be ashamed, it's like the RAM upgrade pricing pay full amount and more for the upgrade and we will keep the original RAM cost built in. This time they're just charging many times over for an SSD that's worth less than $100
So how much do Dell, HP, Toshiba, Acer, ASUS etc. charge for a Fusion drive?
gnasher729 is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:47 AM   #45
Morrile
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In an Apartment
Quote:
Originally Posted by barkmonster View Post
It wouldn't work because a fusion drive is based around 2 SATA drives, not a mix of external and internal drives. It would also be very dangerous to have a fragmented file system span over 2 drives when one of them relies on an external adapter.
I see your point but the express port is internal from a point of view. As my data on the current drive is safe, I think I will try and see what happens

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by gnasher729 View Post
So how much do Dell, HP, Toshiba, Acer, ASUS etc. charge for a Fusion drive?
I think it's only Apple, so it's looks to be software driven... as I understand it, but no doubt someone will correct me if I am wrong; which I don't mind

Morrile
__________________
MacBook Pro i7 2.6Mhz, 16Mb RAM, 512Gb SSD.
MacBook Pro 2.4Mhz, 4Mb RAM, 500Gb HDD.
iPhone 3
iPhone 4
Morrile is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:49 AM   #46
iGrip
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Send a message via ICQ to iGrip Send a message via AIM to iGrip Send a message via MSN to iGrip Send a message via Yahoo to iGrip Send a message via Skype™ to iGrip
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifij775 View Post
That should help push imac's ASP higher.
GPM too!
iGrip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:52 AM   #47
Mackan
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnasher729 View Post
"Early adopters" got exactly what they paid for. Now Apple offers you to buy something that is better than the lowest end iMac for more money, or less good than the better iMac for less money. So please explain how these "early adopters" getting screwed?
Are you for real? Before you had to pick the high end 21.5'' to have the option to add the Fusion drive. Now you don't need to. Buying the low end + Fusion drive is cheaper than buying high end + Fusion drive.

See, very easy to explain. Now you go think about it.
Mackan is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:52 AM   #48
iLondoner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London (the big one, not London Ohio, Texas, Kentucky, etc)
I don't see this as Apple trying to screw anyone. More a case of realising what a good move it was to introduce Fusion and spreading the ability to all customers.

Fusion was the only thing that excited me about the recent iMac launch. I wasn't that interested in the mildly enhanced processor/GPU specs or the skinny-edged screen.
__________________
13" MacBook Air 27" iMac 3TB Fusion 3TB Time Capsule Apple TV 3 iPhone 5 iPad Air
iLondoner is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:52 AM   #49
iGrip
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Send a message via ICQ to iGrip Send a message via AIM to iGrip Send a message via MSN to iGrip Send a message via Yahoo to iGrip Send a message via Skype™ to iGrip
Quote:
Originally Posted by azentropy View Post
Still wish there was just a SSD or Flash Drive option. Some people don't require 1TB and don't want ANY mechanical HDD and the noise, heat and higher failure time that come along with them.

But those folks don't represent a high enough amount of profit for Apple to care about. Apple skates to where the puck is GOING TO be.
iGrip is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 06:56 AM   #50
bbydon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ATL
They most likely didn't have enough or the ability to get the upgrade done before the holidays. Or they listened to the audience and decided to do it. I'm not sure what people are complaining about. The one we got for my uncle with no fusion drive works great ( no beach balls) and is still the same machine we payed for.
bbydon is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 2012: DIY fusion drive low blackmagic speed Kositch iMac 0 Nov 4, 2013 12:47 AM
Base 21.5" iMac w/ Fusion Drive, 16GB RAM option worth it? 50voltphantom iMac 2 Jan 5, 2013 10:27 AM
Completely Absurd That There Is No Fusion Drive Option For Entry Level iMac Spungoflex Wasteland 49 Dec 3, 2012 03:37 PM
refurb iMac 21.5" low end vs. late 2012 imac 21.5" low end hwrdrrk Buying Tips and Advice 6 Nov 6, 2012 03:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC