Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:32 PM   #1
kevintech
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Using a BlackBerry Curve Sim Card on iPhone 5

Hey all, my aunt gave my mom her iPhone 5 [locked to AT&T] and my mom wants to use it WITHOUT a data plan. Can we just cut her BlackBerry Curve [on AT&T without a data plan] regular SIM card and make it fit into the iPhone 5, and use it to just make calls, SMS and WIFI? All of this without contacting AT&T?

Thanks!
kevintech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:34 PM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
No.
Even if you dont contact AT&T and just cut the sim to nano size their system will detect it and will add the mandatory iphone data plan automaticly on the iphone 5 line.
Only way to use it without a data plan is if you're on prepaid AT&T account or any other prepaid GSM carriers.
On post paid monthly AT&T accounts they will add it automaticly and send you a text that its been included to your account.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:37 PM   #3
kevintech
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
No.
Even if you dont contact AT&T and just cut the sim to nano size their system will detect it and will add the mandatory iphone data plan automaticly on the iphone 5 line.
Thank you for your response, however I think her line is set to block data no matter what. Maybe that's why the iPhone 5 doesn't detect the cut SIM?
kevintech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:40 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
It doesnt make a difference blocked data on the line or not.
Sooner or later their system will detect it and you will get the text.
Maybe not the same day but a few days later or maybe weeks.
You will find out soon.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:41 PM   #5
kevintech
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
It doesnt make a difference blocked data on the line or not.
Sooner or later their system will detect it and you will get the text.
Maybe not the same day but a few days later or maybe weeks.
You will find out soon.
Thanks Applejuiced.

If any others agree or disagree with Applejuiced, please reply.
kevintech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:42 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Welcome bro.
I wish it wasnt like that and I dont like how AT&T and most US carriers force you to pay for a service that you might not want or need at all.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:45 PM   #7
kevintech
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Welcome bro.
I wish it wasnt like that and I dont like how AT&T and most US carriers force you to pay for a service that you might not want or need at all.
Yeah, word.

So my cousin uses the iPhone 5 on T-Mobile without data, is it because T-Mobile doesn't require a data plan when using iPhones on their carrier?
kevintech is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:55 PM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevintech View Post
Yeah, word.

So my cousin uses the iPhone 5 on T-Mobile without data, is it because T-Mobile doesn't require a data plan when using iPhones on their carrier?
Exactly.
Tmobile doesnt mandate that.
So you can just use it for calls and texts and use data when connected on wifi.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 11:58 PM   #9
kevintech
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
thanks for all your help bro, appreciate your prompt responses
kevintech is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 12:00 AM   #10
lelisa13p
macrumors 68000
 
lelisa13p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
I can't speak to T-Mobile's policies but I've been with BellSouth > Cingular > AT&T since they went into the cellphone business and it's a fact that AT&T will definitely find you out and bill you. You'd be better off just signing up for the minimum data plan that you think you'd use rather than letting them choose for you and then having to change it if you want a different plan.

With AT&T, smartphone = required data plan. If you play, you pay.
__________________
Experience is what you get when you thought you were getting something else.
lelisa13p is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will my AT&T iPhone 5 SIM card work with a Galaxy S3 or a Blackberry for AT&T Myiphone7 iPhone 11 Feb 27, 2013 05:33 PM
Setting up iPhone 5 without a SIM card...or Help me find a nano-SIM! turbodelta iPhone 5 Dec 7, 2012 04:52 PM
sim card/activation problem/extra sim card ??? tcoche iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2012 06:38 PM
Selling iphone 4S Sim card is needed? iphone5 comes SIM card? chrisfromalbany iPhone 4 Sep 17, 2012 01:36 PM
iPhone Sim in a blackberry, for now? ChadRClaussen iPhone 0 Sep 14, 2012 07:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC