Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:06 AM   #1
PavelT
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Cannot erase HDD with mountain lion disk utility? error

i tried eraseing my internal hdd with disk utility to use it for secondary storage only, because i am booting osx mountain lion off a external ssd. so i dont need the osx on the internal hard drive anymore, id rather use it to store random files....But when i go in disk utilty to erase it (journaled), it gives me an error "Volume Erase Failed with error: Couldn't unmount disk"... so it doesnt let me go further...anybody understand this? much aprecciated. thanks.
PavelT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:10 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
That's because it's booting from the external drive, where you have OSX. I don't know exactly what you have left behind on the internal, but remove the sad if it's USB or F/W and then try booting holding down OPTION again, if you get nothing, then that drive is wiped, but your Mac is obviously booting from the ssd hence the "Eject " message. If you erase from there, you willlose the info on the SSD.
__________________
..That's All Folks

Last edited by Macman45; Jan 6, 2013 at 01:11 AM. Reason: Typo
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:26 AM   #3
PavelT
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
sorry,im a bit confused by your reply. both the internal harddrive osx and the external ssd osx are visable on the imac. i am currently using the external ssd osx and i just want to wipe out the internal drive so i can simply use it to store files. because i have teh osx running on my ssd.
PavelT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:35 AM   #4
viktorvos
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Can you please try to disable Time Machine in the system preferences ?

Found this :

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1294299
viktorvos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:48 AM   #5
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PavelT View Post
sorry,im a bit confused by your reply. both the internal harddrive osx and the external ssd osx are visable on the imac. i am currently using the external ssd osx and i just want to wipe out the internal drive so i can simply use it to store files. because i have teh osx running on my ssd.
If you boot of the external you should be able to wipe the internal HD, BUT if you startup from the internal and want to wipe the internal you can NOT do so because it is the startup disk.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:52 AM   #6
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
If you boot of the external you should be able to wipe the internal HD, BUT if you startup from the internal and want to wipe the internal you can NOT do so because it is the startup disk.
This is what I was getting at. If you boot normally, then enter Disk Utility, locate the Internal drive you want to erase, it should be a simple process.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:54 AM   #7
PavelT
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
yeah i am booting, starting up, using the external ssd osx, but i get that error "coudnt unmount disk" trying to erase theh internal hdd...
PavelT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:55 AM   #8
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by PavelT View Post
yeah i am booting, starting up, using the external ssd osx, but i get that error "coudnt unmount disk" trying to erase theh internal hdd...
So it does boot to a useable state?

Try a disk permissions repair:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1452
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:56 AM   #9
viktorvos
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Then, what happens if you re-partition it ? and Then erase it ? Also make sure you use GUID in the partition options and NOT MBR

Maybe the recovery partition is raising the error upon trying to erase the drive ?
viktorvos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:57 AM   #10
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
To the OP, you should also select the HD and not the volume under it.

See attachment, the one in blue is the disk, the ones under it the Volumes.
Attached Images
 
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 02:04 AM   #11
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
I think(might know) what the problem is, go into System Preferences, select Spotlight and under privacy add the internal disk to it.
This prevents Spotlight from indexing your internal disk, I have seen this before.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 02:22 AM   #12
PavelT
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
I think(might know) what the problem is, go into System Preferences, select Spotlight and under privacy add the internal disk to it.
This prevents Spotlight from indexing your internal disk, I have seen this before.
ok. thanks, i will try this. but before i do, i heard that the internal drives on the imacs are laced with a recovery osx on them but on the motherboard. if i erase the internal drive, will the recovery osx get erased as well?
PavelT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 03:52 AM   #13
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PavelT View Post
ok. thanks, i will try this. but before i do, i heard that the internal drives on the imacs are laced with a recovery osx on them but on the motherboard. if i erase the internal drive, will the recovery osx get erased as well?
Yes/No, if you select the Volume and not the HD it won't, if you select the HD it will.
This has nothing to do with firmware, if there is an internet recovery in the firmware it will stay, it will not get erased since it is in firmware.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:41 AM   #14
PavelT
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
I think(might know) what the problem is, go into System Preferences, select Spotlight and under privacy add the internal disk to it.
This prevents Spotlight from indexing your internal disk, I have seen this before.
ok. i did add the internal hdd in the system pref>spotlight>privacy>
...then i tried again. i tried to disk utility erase 'journal' the internal hd Volume and it popped up error again telling me that it could not unmount disk....

image:
PavelT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 12:52 PM   #15
viktorvos
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Another idea :

Boot into recovery mode with your external SSD (that is holding ALT upon starting your Mac)

Use diskutility from there to erase your 1 tb HDD

Edit : by the way , do they both have the name : Macintosh HD ? Because if that is the case , the SSD will be Macintosh HD and your 1 tb disk will be Macintosh HD1 upon mounting. And then using Macintosh HD will not work it think because the SSD already has that name
viktorvos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:18 PM   #16
PavelT
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
they both have distinctive names.
PavelT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:44 PM   #17
viktorvos
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Why don't you try to repartition that 1 tb ?

Click on the 1 TB APPLE HDD disk (not volume) and choose 1 partition then apply ?
viktorvos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:55 PM   #18
Jeantro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by PavelT View Post
they both have distinctive names.
Image
I follow this post I want to do the same I hope will find the solution
Jeantro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 09:52 PM   #19
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by viktorvos View Post
Why don't you try to repartition that 1 tb ?

Click on the 1 TB APPLE HDD disk (not volume) and choose 1 partition then apply ?
If you read than you should know that's exactly what he is trying to do now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavelT View Post
ok. i did add the internal hdd in the system pref>spotlight>privacy>
...then i tried again. i tried to disk utility erase 'journal' the internal hd Volume and it popped up error again telling me that it could not unmount disk....

image:
Image
Sorry for the somewhat late reply, I live in a different time zone.

The problem you can't do wipe or partition on the disk is that the disk is in use, that's why I said before to do the Spotlight Privacy thing.
Now, this did not work so there is/are some other things still going on, there are most likely files in use.
The easiest way around this problem seems to be to startup from a non working full system, what I mean with this, startup from an install disk or recovery, this uses no files on the disk and you should be able to wipe/partition it this time.

But, you can also do the following, you want to use the disk for files, why not just move everything to the trash, or better use terminal to remove all files on the disk.

The command for this is:

sudo rm -rf "path to folder/file"
Hit enter

Note: You may have to enter a password, the sudo command gives you root permissions and will delete everything.
"path to folder/file" without the quotes, you can just drag the folder on the terminal window, it will automatically add the path.
After -rf there needs to be a space.

If you do this will all the folders at the root level it is clean and you can then use it for files.
This way you don't need to erase anything.

Note: Be careful with what you do, this command WILL delete everything you point the path to
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 05:56 AM   #20
viktorvos
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
@justperry

where can i read that he is trying to partition the disk ?
viktorvos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:59 AM   #21
PavelT
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
great stuff. yeah i just went for on>option>recovery>disk utility>and erase the internal volume from there. and its worked...now theres an empty internal drive. thanks a bunch guys
PavelT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:06 AM   #22
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by viktorvos View Post
@justperry

where can i read that he is trying to partition the disk ?
In his first post he says erasing, erasing the disk is the same as creating 1 new partition!!!!
Or more in some cases, most of the time it creates also invisible disks needed by the system.


Quote:
Originally Posted by PavelT View Post
great stuff. yeah i just went for on>option>recovery>disk utility>and erase the internal volume from there. and its worked...now theres an empty internal drive. thanks a bunch guys
Glad you eventually were able to, good for you.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:48 PM   #23
ndatta22
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
In his first post he says erasing, erasing the disk is the same as creating 1 new partition!!!!
Or more in some cases, most of the time it creates also invisible disks needed by the system.




Glad you eventually were able to, good for you.
I'm having the same problem. Was the solution to startup from an install disk/recovery? Thanks!
ndatta22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 09:23 PM   #24
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndatta22 View Post
I'm having the same problem. Was the solution to startup from an install disk/recovery? Thanks!
Here is your answer, it's just a few posts above yours.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavelT View Post
great stuff. yeah i just went for on>option>recovery>disk utility>and erase the internal volume from there. and its worked...now theres an empty internal drive. thanks a bunch guys
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2014, 10:32 AM   #25
limtub
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Sweden
Still don't get it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Here is your answer, it's just a few posts above yours.
I Still actually not understand this, for example where is "on" and options in Maverick. On like the power button? And then there's no option selection.

If possible could someone show me with picture and Step 1-5 how you did this?
Thanks
limtub is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC