Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2013, 10:31 AM   #1
Dr. Stealth
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Dual GTX 680 4GB make my 2010 12-core Fly!

Two EVGA GTX 680 FTW+: Total 8GB & 3,072 Cuda Cores

FSP Group Booster X5 450W PSU - Newegg

I don't game, this is for cadd & rendering. I've given it a 20 hour render to test and all works awesome. Just need to find a little time to stuff it all in the box.



__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 10:51 AM   #2
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Great, looks awesome!

The FSP Booster should in theory have anough space inside the second optical bay, shouldn't it?
__________________
Hackintosh 3.5Ghz i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, eVGA GTX 680 2048 MB SuperClocked, Samsung 830 128GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late '08 2.8 Ghz C2D, 4GB RAM, Nvidia 9400M & 9600M GT
El Awesome is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 10:55 AM   #3
Dr. Stealth
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Fits Fine

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Awesome View Post
Great, looks awesome!

The FSP Booster should in theory have anough space inside the second optical bay, shouldn't it?

Yea... It fits just fine in the bay and it has two small fans. Only work will be running the wires.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 10:58 AM   #4
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Please don't poke any holes in the back of the Mac Pro, that's all I ask! Have some mercy!!
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:31 AM   #5
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
Please don't poke any holes in the back of the Mac Pro, that's all I ask! Have some mercy!!
Yeah, that's why he's gonna fit the PSU in the second 5.25 bay.
El Awesome is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:47 AM   #6
Dr. Stealth
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Too Late....

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
Please don't poke any holes in the back of the Mac Pro, that's all I ask! Have some mercy!!
Opppp Too Late......

My drill bit was just delivered......

__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883

Last edited by Dr. Stealth; Jan 6, 2013 at 07:39 PM.
Dr. Stealth is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:48 AM   #7
BigJohno
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco
Nice!!
__________________
Late 2013 RMBP, iPhone 6, iPad air
Flickr
500px
BigJohno is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 03:27 PM   #8
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
Please don't poke any holes in the back of the Mac Pro, that's all I ask! Have some mercy!!
I did with mine. So what?

Looks good btw. These cards with their aluminum on them makes them look right at home in the Mac Pros.

I do wonder how that PSU compares with the EPower one? I think the Epower has 3 small fans in it so it is a little audible. Looks to be nicer too?
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4

Last edited by OrangeSVTguy; Jan 6, 2013 at 03:32 PM.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 04:46 PM   #9
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Nice rig, the floor in front of the PCI Fan could do with a clean.
All Taken is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 05:35 PM   #10
Dr. Stealth
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Lil' Lady

Quote:
Originally Posted by All Taken View Post
Nice rig, the floor in front of the PCI Fan could do with a clean.

I'll get the lil' lady right on it....

Of course first I'll make her put on the French Maid outfit....

(If she knew I said that, she'd slap me around the room like a Russian weight lifter....)
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883

Last edited by Dr. Stealth; Jan 6, 2013 at 07:45 PM.
Dr. Stealth is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 05:41 PM   #11
bernuli
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Any heat issues while running with the side panel off? I thought that was required for proper airflow to the rest of the machine?

B

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Stealth View Post
Two EVGA GTX 680 FTW+: Total 8GB & 3,072 Cuda Cores

FSP Group Booster X5 450W PSU - Newegg

I don't game, this is for cadd & rendering. I've given it a 20 hour render to test and all works awesome. Just need to find a little time to stuff it all in the box.

Image

Image
bernuli is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 05:45 PM   #12
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Stealth View Post
I'll get the lil' lady right on it....

Of course first I'll make her put on the French Maid outfit....
Could you do me a favour? In the interest of research could you plug one 6 pin connector from the Mac into each card and one 6 pin from external PSU into the cards? So each card is powered half by the Mac and half by the external supply. The reason I'm asking is to see if the slight delay in power either from the Mac side or external PSU side causes the Mac to crash or GPU to not start. Nobody has actually done this and posted the results so you'd be the first.

The theory goes that either the power management on the GPU is clever enough to compensate for a delay in power from either 6 pin, or it is totally dependant on both 6 pin connections being live concurrently. Catch my drift?

My only advice would be to definitely have the lady in the french maid outfit dusting around the office whilst you do this.

EDIT: What's your PCI fan speed running at now? What was it before? (If you still have a EFI card to hand)
All Taken is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 05:57 PM   #13
Dr. Stealth
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Singin' 680's

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
I did with mine. So what?

Looks good btw. These cards with their aluminum on them makes them look right at home in the Mac Pros.

I do wonder how that PSU compares with the EPower one? I think the Epower has 3 small fans in it so it is a little audible. Looks to be nicer too?
I looked for the one you had and newegg said "This item is currently out of stock and it may or may not be restocked."

So I just picked another that had good reviews. It seems really well built but... When I first plugged it in one fan sounded like it was hitting something. Like a card in your BMX spokes. So I opened it up and found the screws that held the two fans in had never been tightened all the way. All eight needed like one more full turn to seat. Been working perfect ever since. I can hear the fans but I haven't buttoned up the box yet. Plus it's nothing like the sound of the 680s during a render. They sing pretty good but it doesn't bother me. But then, I like going to the drags too.

But, my hearing has never been the same since an indoor Led Zeppelin concert in '72 or '73... That's fact.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bernuli View Post
Any heat issues while running with the side panel off? I thought that was required for proper airflow to the rest of the machine?

B
No problem... There's enough fans in this thing to keep everything moving. Plus I'm one block from the beach so it's always pretty cool here.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883

Last edited by Dr. Stealth; Jan 6, 2013 at 07:48 PM.
Dr. Stealth is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 06:18 PM   #14
MacVidCards
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by All Taken View Post
Could you do me a favour? In the interest of research could you plug one 6 pin connector from the Mac into each card and one 6 pin from external PSU into the cards? So each card is powered half by the Mac and half by the external supply. The reason I'm asking is to see if the slight delay in power either from the Mac side or external PSU side causes the Mac to crash or GPU to not start. Nobody has actually done this and posted the results so you'd be the first.

The theory goes that either the power management on the GPU is clever enough to compensate for a delay in power from either 6 pin, or it is totally dependant on both 6 pin connections being live concurrently. Catch my drift?
Don't do this.

I did it with a GTX580 3GB and it never worked again.

This is sort of like "I wonder what happens if I put my finger in a coffee grinder?" You don't really need the answer and the risk isn't worth it.
MacVidCards is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 06:50 PM   #15
Dr. Stealth
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Don't do this.

I did it with a GTX580 3GB and it never worked again.

This is sort of like "I wonder what happens if I put my finger in a coffee grinder?" You don't really need the answer and the risk isn't worth it.

Yea.... At this point I have so much invested in this rig and it's running so good I'm just looking forward to buttoning it all up. I'm good to go for 5 more years.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 07:07 PM   #16
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Don't do this.

I did it with a GTX580 3GB and it never worked again.

This is sort of like "I wonder what happens if I put my finger in a coffee grinder?" You don't really need the answer and the risk isn't worth it.
This is how I powered my 570 for a few weeks till I tidied up my setup. I ran the 2 mobo power connectors to a custom 8 pin and a 6 pin off the aux PSU and never had any issues.

Funny how the 12v and grounds were upside down on the PSU connector side and originally wired it up wrong and the Mac wouldn't start. Just a swap of the pins and it worked. I was relieved
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:46 AM   #17
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Stealth View Post
Two EVGA GTX 680 FTW+: Total 8GB & 3,072 Cuda Cores

FSP Group Booster X5 450W PSU - Newegg
The 1 PSU 450W seems under Wattage - no headroom?
Power consumption for GTX 680 = System Wattage with GPU in FULL Stress = 307 W
so x 2 cards 614W?
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,9.html

Just curious.
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 11:08 AM   #18
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaTheHut View Post
The 1 PSU 450W seems under Wattage - no headroom?
Power consumption for GTX 680 = System Wattage with GPU in FULL Stress = 307 W
so x 2 cards 614W?
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,9.html

Just curious.
He's only supplying the 6-pin power connections, or 150W each per card. So, rated max is 300W out of 450W, leaving plenty of headroom on the PSU.

FWIW "system wattage" most likely includes everything in the entire system, including CPUs, hard drives and so on.
Asgorath is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 11:27 AM   #19
Dr. Stealth
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Plenty of Overhead....

Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaTheHut View Post
The 1 PSU 450W seems under Wattage - no headroom?
Power consumption for GTX 680 = System Wattage with GPU in FULL Stress = 307 W
so x 2 cards 614W?
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,9.html

Just curious.
What a lot of people on this forum don't understand is that there is overhead built into every component in your system.

I have an air compressor tank stamped and rated at 200 PSI. I had to take it in (state requirement) to have it Hydro tested. To pass the test they fill it with water stick it in a hole in the ground and pressure tested it to 800 PSI ! That means it can be certified to operate at 200 PSI.

Okay back to the Mac... I run GPU-Z in windows and it indicates that when my cards are MAXED out at 100% on a heavy render they only draw from 50 to 70% thermal design power (TDP). Plenty of headroom.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
He's only supplying the 6-pin power connections, or 150W each per card. So, rated max is 300W out of 450W, leaving plenty of headroom on the PSU.

FWIW "system wattage" most likely includes everything in the entire system, including CPUs, hard drives and so on.
These cards require a 6-pin and an 8-pin connection each. See the pic, different colored cables.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 12:15 PM   #20
MacMilligan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
That's pretty neat. Two PSUs used to be a big no-no, but that thing seems to be purpose built.
MacMilligan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 12:25 PM   #21
Dr. Stealth
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Servers

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacMilligan View Post
That's pretty neat. Two PSUs used to be a big no-no, but that thing seems to be purpose built.
Servers run 2, 4 or even more PSUs all the time. Always have.

Actually my MP is the server version whatever that means. Besides the OS, the only difference I could see was there was no keyboard or mouse in the box.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:56 PM   #22
Prince134
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
This is how I powered my 570 for a few weeks till I tidied up my setup. I ran the 2 mobo power connectors to a custom 8 pin and a 6 pin off the aux PSU and never had any issues.

Funny how the 12v and grounds were upside down on the PSU connector side and originally wired it up wrong and the Mac wouldn't start. Just a swap of the pins and it worked. I was relieved

This is simpler way to deal with 8+6 pins.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1514609
Prince134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 05:16 PM   #23
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
I also liked how there was a plug in the black pic bracket. That's how I originally thought mine was but it was just a passthrouh. One solid cable from plug to plug which is why I had to cut mine and resolver the connections.

How is the back of your PSU wired? Is there just one large connector and all the wires come of of one plug?
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 05:50 PM   #24
MacMilligan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Stealth View Post
Servers run 2, 4 or even more PSUs all the time. Always have.

Actually my MP is the server version whatever that means. Besides the OS, the only difference I could see was there was no keyboard or mouse in the box.
Redundant power is purpose built as well. I cringe thinking of running two 30 dollar PSUs together
MacMilligan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 08:37 PM   #25
Dr. Stealth
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Psu

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacMilligan View Post
Redundant power is purpose built as well. I cringe thinking of running two 30 dollar PSUs together

I've never owned a $30 PSU in my life......

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
I also liked how there was a plug in the black pic bracket. That's how I originally thought mine was but it was just a passthrouh. One solid cable from plug to plug which is why I had to cut mine and resolver the connections.

How is the back of your PSU wired? Is there just one large connector and all the wires come of of one plug?
Yes.... All wires merge into one plug in the back of the PSU.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sleep issues with 5.1 and GTX 680 4GB Lucas Godfrey Mac Pro 8 Feb 6, 2014 08:56 AM
GTX 680 4GB Classified issues on mac 3,1 BlueQube Mac Pro 1 Oct 27, 2013 06:49 AM
GTX 680 4GB CUDA and OpenCL cristtiah Mac Pro 59 Jul 13, 2013 12:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC