Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2013, 10:37 AM   #1
Ron12
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
27 i5 or 21 i7 ?

Hello friends , after i think what to take ,
mac mini 2012
512 ssd
quad core 17
16ram
or
imac 2012 with fusion drive + 16ram

I made a decision and i take the imac

i dont sure which model take .
27 with i5 quad core 2.9 or 21.5 with i7 3.1 ?

thanks
Ron12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 10:56 AM   #2
Calipad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron12 View Post
Hello friends , after i think what to take ,
mac mini 2012
512 ssd
quad core 17
16ram
or
imac 2012 with fusion drive + 16ram

I made a decision and i take the imac

i dont sure which model take .
27 with i5 quad core 2.9 or 21.5 with i7 3.1 ?

thanks
Really depends on what you are going to do with it. For me I do graphics and video so I went with the 27" 3.4 i7, Nvidia 680.
Calipad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 10:59 AM   #3
Ron12
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calipad View Post
Really depends on what you are going to do with it. For me I do graphics and video so I went with the 27" 3.4 i7, Nvidia 680.
Music Production .
Just this .
no internet , just music production .
Ron12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:51 AM   #4
Calipad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron12 View Post
Music Production .
Just this .
no internet , just music production .
Then if it were me I would go with 21.5 with i7 3.1 and a Fusion Drive.
Calipad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:54 AM   #5
Brian Y
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calipad View Post
Then if it were me I would go with 21.5 with i7 3.1 and a Fusion Drive.
Bear in mind the extra real estate would be bloody handy with Logic. Think about the extra number of tracks you're going to be able to have on screen with a 27".
Brian Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:55 AM   #6
Calipad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bma View Post
Bear in mind the extra real estate would be bloody handy with Logic. Think about the extra number of tracks you're going to be able to have on screen with a 27".
Good point!
Calipad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 12:02 PM   #7
Ron12
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bma View Post
Bear in mind the extra real estate would be bloody handy with Logic. Think about the extra number of tracks you're going to be able to have on screen with a 27".
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calipad View Post
Good point!
Thank you so much guys !

so I5 QUAD CORE 2.9GHZ will make good work for sure ?

with 32GB RAM and 1tb fusion drive
Ron12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 12:16 PM   #8
Brian Y
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron12 View Post
Thank you so much guys !

so I5 QUAD CORE 2.9GHZ will make good work for sure ?

with 32GB RAM and 1tb fusion drive
If you're getting a 27" - upgrade the RAM yourself, don't pay Apple's prices.

And the i5 will be good enough for logic IMO. The i7 will obviously be faster, but it depends how much $$$ that speed bump is worth to you.
Brian Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 12:18 PM   #9
Ron12
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bma View Post
If you're getting a 27" - upgrade the RAM yourself, don't pay Apple's prices.

And the i5 will be good enough for logic IMO. The i7 will obviously be faster, but it depends how much $$$ that speed bump is worth to you.
sure i update the ram by myself .. i put 32GB RAM

i cant buy 27 with i7 ..

27 with quad core i5 3.2 make better ? i fill the diffrent between 2.9 i5 or 3.2 i5 ?

IMAC 27
QUAD CORE I5 3.2
32GB RAM
1 FUSION DRIVE

Last edited by Ron12; Jan 6, 2013 at 12:25 PM.
Ron12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 12:48 PM   #10
Brian Y
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron12 View Post
sure i update the ram by myself .. i put 32GB RAM

i cant buy 27 with i7 ..

27 with quad core i5 3.2 make better ? i fill the diffrent between 2.9 i5 or 3.2 i5 ?

IMAC 27
QUAD CORE I5 3.2
32GB RAM
1 FUSION DRIVE
I'd just stick with the 2.9 in that case. It will be fine for what you're doing .
Brian Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 12:49 PM   #11
Ron12
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bma View Post
I'd just stick with the 2.9 in that case. It will be fine for what you're doing .
ok !

so for sure , take this :

IMac 27
Quad Core I5 2.9Ghz
32GB RAM
1TB FUSION DRIVE
Ron12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC