Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2013, 02:23 PM   #1
trlyka
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Time Machine and WD My Passport

I just got a 1TB WD My Passport backup hard drive. I am new to doing backup this way so I just want to make sure I don't screw anything up. Even though I haven't done anything yet, when I plug in the WD, it says I need to format (Erase) whatever is on the WD in order to use it with my Macbook because of an incompatible file system. That seems to be the first step. I assume Time Machine takes care of the rest?

I guess I'm just afraid to hit that 'Erase' button

Thanks
__________________
Late 2011, 17" Macbook Pro, 2.5 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HD, Anti-Glare iPad iPhone 6 SG 64 GB (retired 3GS, 4 & 5)
trlyka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 02:25 PM   #2
Rhyalus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Yes, you have to format it as Mac extended (Journaled). Then Time machine will ask you if you want to use it.

Of course, you lose anything already on there.

Make sure you have the right drive selected... :-)

R
Rhyalus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 02:28 PM   #3
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
Quote:
Originally Posted by trlyka View Post
I guess I'm just afraid to hit that 'Erase' button
Unless you've already put data on the drive, which it doesn't seem you have, then why are you afraid to erase it? It's just going to format the drive, which will clear any and all data on it. Since you have none, it shouldn't be an issue.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 03:53 PM   #4
trlyka
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Ok. As soon as I plugged it a window popped up and says 'Are you sure you want to erase the backup disk “My Passport”? Erasing will destroy all information on the disk and can’t be undone. So since it's new, nothing is on it yet. Just a little nervous with the warning I guess. Thanks
__________________
Late 2011, 17" Macbook Pro, 2.5 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HD, Anti-Glare iPad iPhone 6 SG 64 GB (retired 3GS, 4 & 5)
trlyka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:26 AM   #5
trlyka
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Everything seemed to work ok. It didn't take too long to back up. Maybe an hour or 2? I just left it alone and did my housework. I had under 100 GB to backup and I didn't unselect anything.

After I install Windows, I assume I would have to partition the WD HD or get another one if I wanted to back that up too? I don't see myself using Windows for many things, or saving many files. What I did want to do is take my old Dell HD and get the information off of that and either put it onto my Macbook, or an external. I guess I could use my WD for that, or just buy another smaller external.

I'm not sure how that works for reading files from a non Mac system if I were to transfer the information. Or am I better off keeping it separate and just using an external for when I want to access something?
__________________
Late 2011, 17" Macbook Pro, 2.5 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HD, Anti-Glare iPad iPhone 6 SG 64 GB (retired 3GS, 4 & 5)
trlyka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:03 AM   #6
Rhyalus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Do you really need Windows to run on the Mac? Files are files, after all. I sync some folders between my PC and my Mac so I have access to all of my Office documents.

Video, music files, etc., are all compatible.

I just have a folder under documents with all of these docs.

R
Rhyalus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 08:26 AM   #7
trlyka
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhyalus View Post
Do you really need Windows to run on the Mac? Files are files, after all. I sync some folders between my PC and my Mac so I have access to all of my Office documents.

Video, music files, etc., are all compatible.

I just have a folder under documents with all of these docs.

R
Yes, I need Windows. I have a Vag-com for my car and the software only runs on Windows. I also do real estate and certain sites only run on IE. There were a few other reasons, but those are the main ones.
__________________
Late 2011, 17" Macbook Pro, 2.5 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HD, Anti-Glare iPad iPhone 6 SG 64 GB (retired 3GS, 4 & 5)
trlyka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 08:55 AM   #8
Ccrew
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhyalus View Post
Do you really need Windows to run on the Mac? Files are files, after all. I sync some folders between my PC and my Mac so I have access to all of my Office documents.

Video, music files, etc., are all compatible.

I just have a folder under documents with all of these docs.

R
the OP if the drive was partitioned as a single partition under OSX won't now be able to access that drive under Windows, without an HFS+ driver like Paragon's for Windows. Before going too far I'd suggest splitting the drive into 2 partitions and formatting one exFAT and the other HFS+. That way it'll be usable from both.
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:03 PM   #9
Rhyalus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ccrew View Post
the OP if the drive was partitioned as a single partition under OSX won't now be able to access that drive under Windows, without an HFS+ driver like Paragon's for Windows. Before going too far I'd suggest splitting the drive into 2 partitions and formatting one exFAT and the other HFS+. That way it'll be usable from both.
Understood... I guess I was suggesting that another Windows PC could access and store files on the Mac.

I use windows 7 and I am sharing folders from the MBP preferences - file sharing is on, and I have Windows SMB checked.

I can login from Windows 7 and read and write files.

If the OP needs Windows running on that box, I guess they have to do this partitioning.

R
Rhyalus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:40 PM   #10
trlyka
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I'm not so much looking to backup the new Windows portion of my Macbook. I have an old hard drive from my Dell that I need to move the info from. I'm hoping I can only pull files. My ex used to do this stuff, so I am not as familiar with how to partition and move the information, but I can figure it out. So far I did the backup for my Macbook before I partition for Windows. I just need to figure out how much space I need for Windows and to run a few programs. I don't have a lot on my Macbook as it is, so I will probably use 250G for the partition. That will leave 500G for my Macbook. Should be plenty.

Since Windows wouldn't load on my old Dell HD anymore, I'm hoping to get the information off and move it. I may just buy another smaller drive for that or put the information on my Macbook after I install Windows. I could use the new WD backup drive, but I would need to partition it which means I have to format it again then partition then backup my Macbook again? I already did the backup on my Macbook, but to reformat, then partition the WD and then try to get files from my old HD and backup my Macbook again?

I have a co-worker who is supposed to help me with installing Windows. I'll see if he wants to do all the partitioning and backing up if I decide to use the WD to back up my Dell HD.
__________________
Late 2011, 17" Macbook Pro, 2.5 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HD, Anti-Glare iPad iPhone 6 SG 64 GB (retired 3GS, 4 & 5)
trlyka is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine problem: how can I manually transfer my Time Machine files to a new user Lucagfc OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Apr 17, 2014 03:44 PM
USB Hub - Time Capsule - WD Passport reds99 Mac Basics and Help 7 Feb 11, 2014 03:57 AM
Time Machine SuperDuper - incremental backups taking an exxcessive amount of time sputacus Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 27, 2013 07:44 AM
Question on Two time capsules and time machine backups for multiple computers belarocks Mac Peripherals 4 Sep 13, 2012 10:40 AM
Time Machine Preference In Time Machine, macswitcha2 Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 2, 2012 06:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC