Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2013, 08:13 PM   #1
Afbar1114
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Two Networks?

Is it possible to use two different networks on the same iPhone?
__________________
MBP 13", 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD in Optical bay|iPad mini| 2TB Time Capsule| iPhone 5s 32GB| AppleTV
Afbar1114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 08:14 PM   #2
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
As in AT&T and Verizon at the same time? No.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 08:21 PM   #3
Afbar1114
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
so its etiher one or the other???
__________________
MBP 13", 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD in Optical bay|iPad mini| 2TB Time Capsule| iPhone 5s 32GB| AppleTV
Afbar1114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 08:26 PM   #4
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
What were you trying to do?

If you really need two networks at the same time you could always use a hotspot/MiFi from the other network...

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 08:39 PM   #5
AutoUnion39
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Technically, your iPhone is connected to two different networks. 1x for voice and EVDO/LTE for data. (if you're on VZW, Sprint)
__________________
rMBP 15| MBA| riPad| TV| AEBS| 5S|Galaxies
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 09:29 PM   #6
upnorth85
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
dual SIM phones

In China and South Asia I have seen many cell phones with dual sim cards. I bought a cheap GSM phone during my travels and one can run a phone on 2 or 1 network at the same time.
upnorth85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My mabook already knows networks? sungjupark MacBook Pro 10 Nov 19, 2013 04:05 PM
WIFI: Looking for networks val.79 MacBook Pro 0 Oct 29, 2013 02:33 AM
General: Wi-Fi Networks priority dazlicous Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Aug 22, 2013 12:04 PM
Wi-Fi: Looking for Networks... dawgfan MacBook 3 Nov 28, 2012 08:33 AM
Hopping on an off wi fi networks. StEvE1961 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Oct 18, 2012 07:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC