Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:23 AM   #1
xShane
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Best Way to Use Windows On A Mac (Particular Question Involved)

*If this is the wrong section, please move it so I can obtain advice/input faster.*

Hello,

I just recently ordered a MacBook Pro (YAY ). It will be coming in soon, and I'd like to figure out a few things in the meantime.

I want to be able to run Windows for various reasons (certain programs that are Windows only, games, etc.). In some situations, I'd like to run it while I'm running OSX (like say if I needed to run a Windows only app while using my Mac). I know that both VMware Fusion and Parallels can do this. However, in other situations I'll want to run Windows natively with NOTHING else (meaning, I'll want to boot directly into Windows via Bootcamp).

So this brings us to my question:
Is it possible to run Windows via Bootcamp AND a VMware/Parallels? Obviously, not both at the same time. But one day I might boot directly into Windows, the other day I'd like to use Windows via VMware/Parallels while on OSX. The key here is that when using VMware/Parallels, is that it will use the same partitioned drive that Windows via Bootcamp will use (that way I can basically access the Windows data and use the "same" Windows from either Bootcamp or VMware/Parallels, depending on which I need to do per situation).

I'd *prefer* to stick with VMware as I've used them in the past and personally know others that have, too (unless of course VMware can't do what I'm requesting and maybe Parallels can?).

On a side note, I still have my old copy of VMware Fusion 2 (in a Retail Box w/ CD). Would it be unwise to use this until I can get my hands on VMware Fusion 5 (the latest edition)? Is it possible to upgrade from 2 to 5 if, say, I already had Windows set on it?

Your help is appreciated
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
"Everything for the people, nothing by the people."

"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:26 AM   #2
ezramoore
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
VMWare Fusion does what you're asking, see this link for verification: http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/mic...rnalId=1014618

The oldest version that you can upgrade from is three. You can, however, download a trial of version 5 before you purchase it.

500th post, finally.
ezramoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:35 AM   #3
xShane
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezramoore View Post
VMWare Fusion does what you're asking, see this link for verification: http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/mic...rnalId=1014618

The oldest version that you can upgrade from is three. You can, however, download a trial of version 5 before you purchase it.

500th post, finally.
Perfect. I didn't know what to search because I didn't really know what I was searching for LOL. But this helps tremendously (bookmarked it for later)

Congrats on your 500th post!
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
"Everything for the people, nothing by the people."

"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:42 AM   #4
ezramoore
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
Quote:
Originally Posted by xShane View Post
Perfect. I didn't know what to search because I didn't really know what I was searching for LOL. But this helps tremendously (bookmarked it for later)

Congrats on your 500th post!
Glad to have helped! Thanks!

FWIW, VMWare Fusion is by far my favorite virtualization system for the Mac. I have a lot of experience with their enterprise solutions, and I have found Fusion to be trouble-free and cohesive.
ezramoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:00 PM   #5
xShane
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quick question:

If I install Windows 7 on bootcamp, and then use VMware Fusion 5 to access the Windows 7 bootcamp partition, would I need two licenses of Windows 7? Or would that ONLY be if I were to install Windows 7 on bootcamp and another copy on VMware *separately*?

Because I've found the cheapest copies of Windows 7 are OEM ones (I like to save money), and I don't want to run into problems where I'll have to buy a second copy.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
"Everything for the people, nothing by the people."

"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:47 AM   #6
ezramoore
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
Nope, you only need one license to use Boot Camp and Fusion together.

Either way you wouldn't qualify to use an OEM copy (nothing stopping you, however).
ezramoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Tags
bootcamp, parallels, vmware, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual airport extreme setup question. new extreme involved chuffman15 Mac Peripherals 3 Jun 19, 2013 10:46 PM
Question on Hidden Folders (Mac & Windows) dliu OS X 4 Nov 17, 2012 11:11 AM
Noob windows to mac question Cjallen MacBook Pro 11 Oct 28, 2012 02:38 PM
Backing up a NAS to a NAS with or without a Mac involved? infobleep Mac Peripherals 7 Aug 4, 2012 08:06 AM
Question about installing windows on NEW mac from old mac. BlazednSleepy Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Jul 9, 2012 09:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC