Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:46 AM   #1
nosnhojm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Changing an existing iMac order

If I call Apple to update an existing iMac order, will it reset me to the back of the queue?

I'm still debating the 680mx (right now I have the 675mx on order). Is there really that much performance gain? What is the frame rate difference (e.g., when playing WoW, CS, or something else)?
__________________
iMac 2012 | iPad Air | iPhone 5S | TV 3 | Airport Extreme 6
nosnhojm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:52 AM   #2
iWaiting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
yes
iWaiting is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:54 AM   #3
nosnhojm
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by iWaiting View Post
yes
Yes to what?
__________________
iMac 2012 | iPad Air | iPhone 5S | TV 3 | Airport Extreme 6
nosnhojm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:56 AM   #4
iWaiting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
or should i have said yes yes
iWaiting is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:56 AM   #5
Outrigger
macrumors 65816
 
Outrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosnhojm View Post
Yes to what?
Yes, it will set you back to the back of the line.
__________________
iMac | Intel i7 3.4GHz | 32GB RAM | 1TB Fusion | GTX 680MX
Mini | Intel i5 2.5GHz | 8GB RAM | 750GBSSD | AMD 6630M
rMBP 13 | Intel i5 2.6Ghz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
Outrigger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:59 AM   #6
lilface
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
I'm having the same dilemma about calling to change something on my order, I think I'd rather just be happy with what I've already ordered than to be pushed all the way back in the queue lol
__________________
iPhone 5 32GB | 27" iMac 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB FD, 680MX | iPad2 32GB | iPod Touch 2nd gen 32GB
lilface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:01 AM   #7
laryenhilllvr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosnhojm View Post
If I call Apple to update an existing iMac order, will it reset me to the back of the queue?

I'm still debating the 680mx (right now I have the 675mx on order). Is there really that much performance gain? What is the frame rate difference (e.g., when playing WoW, CS, or something else)?
i think that may be a yes to both. everyone says the 680mx is definitely better than the 675, but unless you are a gamer or do 3d rendering it may not be that noticeable (if i remember correctly).

regarding the reque part...umm i can't say. i've read some that have called and been assured their order would not reque while others swear theirs did because orders that were placed after them have shipped off before them. idk...but depending on when you placed your order it is a risk i would take.
__________________
I'm living the iLife, but it's time to upgrade all my products.
laryenhilllvr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:02 AM   #8
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
If you want to play modern, demanding games, then definately go for the 680MX. There is a big difference in FPS, check out the 680MX benchmarks thread for more specific examples. However, you can't simply "change" your order. You will in reality make a new order, so you are going to wait a bit longer before receiving your iMac
Mac32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:07 AM   #9
Towelie1288
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
yes and yes

there is a big difference but only if u are a gamer or video rendering
680mx all the way for me its a deal
Towelie1288 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:07 AM   #10
nosnhojm
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I didn't plan to use it for gaming (mainly for Lightroom), so I ordered the 675mx; however, I may want to play a casual game once in a while (like Guild Wars 2). I don't expect to be able to play a modern FPS at 60+ fps.

My hope is to buy a steambox for "big picture" gaming, whenever those come out.
__________________
iMac 2012 | iPad Air | iPhone 5S | TV 3 | Airport Extreme 6
nosnhojm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:22 AM   #11
messiry
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosnhojm View Post
I didn't plan to use it for gaming (mainly for Lightroom), so I ordered the 675mx; however, I may want to play a casual game once in a while (like Guild Wars 2). I don't expect to be able to play a modern FPS at 60+ fps.

My hope is to buy a steambox for "big picture" gaming, whenever those come out.
I initially ordered i7 and 675MX on 31st Dec and then i changed my order to i5 + 680MX.. here what apple told me
1- if i needed to upgrade only the GPU form 675 to 680 then there is price increase, means they need to cancel the order and make new order, since this is violating their contract with you once you placed the order.
2- when i changed to i5 and 680MX however the price went down, then they only changed the order and i didn't lose my queue position (on the order page still showing 31st Dec), since my iMac is not yet in production and still on waiting list, i can change the specs as long as the price is not going above the initial amount.. seems fair to me

HTH
messiry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:42 AM   #12
Beardy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by messiry View Post
I initially ordered i7 and 675MX on 31st Dec and then i changed my order to i5 + 680MX.. here what apple told me
1- if i needed to upgrade only the GPU form 675 to 680 then there is price increase, means they need to cancel the order and make new order, since this is violating their contract with you once you placed the order.
2- when i changed to i5 and 680MX however the price went down, then they only changed the order and i didn't lose my queue position (on the order page still showing 31st Dec), since my iMac is not yet in production and still on waiting list, i can change the specs as long as the price is not going above the initial amount.. seems fair to me

HTH
That is what I was told to. If the change in spec involves an increase in cost they have to cancel the order.
Beardy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:49 AM   #13
HenryDJP
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosnhojm View Post
I didn't plan to use it for gaming (mainly for Lightroom), so I ordered the 675mx; however, I may want to play a casual game once in a while (like Guild Wars 2). I don't expect to be able to play a modern FPS at 60+ fps.

My hope is to buy a steambox for "big picture" gaming, whenever those come out.
When in doubt always max out your order for future use. If you're more worried about your order being pushed back vs. getting something better than the upgrade isn't worth it to you.
HenryDJP is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Change an existing order to Personal Pickup KingArthurVI iPhone 4 Oct 31, 2013 03:52 PM
Changing Order Online Finz72 iPhone 3 Sep 23, 2013 05:29 PM
changing an order? gaddster iMac 2 Jan 28, 2013 02:39 AM
Changing of Order photocoke iMac 21 Dec 2, 2012 11:23 PM
Pre-order iPhone 5: Move from AT&T and merge with existing Verizon contract? chucknelson iPhone 0 Sep 13, 2012 12:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC