Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:20 AM   #1
Baunkjaer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
CPU upgrade Mac Pro 2008

Thinking about upgrading my CPUs, but Im not quite sure wether it has to be matched pairs or not?
Im aware I wont gain much performance increase, but the Xeon E5472 is not that expensive, and I think it would be fun to do the upgrade.
__________________

MP 5,1, W3565, 24GB, 240GB OWC 6G [Solo x2], 120GB OWC 3G, 1TB, HD 5870, 2*Dell P2314H
MBA 6,2, 1,4GHz (i5), 4GB, 128GB, HD 5000  iPhone 5S  2TB TC, DS 214+

Last edited by Baunkjaer; Jan 8, 2013 at 01:51 AM.
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 04:04 AM   #2
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
You'll get 200 MHz per core and slightly faster cache with 5472s. Not much, but better than nothing. You could go with 5482s instead if you'd find a good deal. http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/systems/2...ual_X5482s.htm
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 05:44 AM   #3
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I too have a dual 2.8GHz Mac Pro 3,1 & looked at this but considering the hassle factor & risk of damage the performance improvement is going to be marginal. It's probably better value to buy a used 3.2GHz machine & then sell your 2.8GHz system.
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 05:49 AM   #4
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
2.8 > 3.2 is not a big upgrade. Not worth it. The architecture is just too old.

Get an SSD instead and at least 10GB of RAM and you're set for a while—or wait until something new comes out.

P.S. I have the 8 Core 2008 3.2Ghz...I've used the 2.8Ghz and they're fairly similar in real world tests.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 09:51 AM   #5
Baunkjaer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
What about the issue with matched pairs?
Understand the stepping has to be xxAx in order to work in the 2008 model.
BTW I've alleady two SSD's om the rig, and 16GB RAM.
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 11:47 AM   #6
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Matched or not isn't an issue in MP. Stepping is. Must be C0 for MP: 5472 - SLASA, 5482 - SLANZ.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 12:36 PM   #7
Baunkjaer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Matched or not isn't an issue in MP. Stepping is. Must be C0 for MP: 5472 - SLASA, 5482 - SLANZ.
Only these two steppings?
Wont the 5482 run rater hot due to higer TDP?
__________________

MP 5,1, W3565, 24GB, 240GB OWC 6G [Solo x2], 120GB OWC 3G, 1TB, HD 5870, 2*Dell P2314H
MBA 6,2, 1,4GHz (i5), 4GB, 128GB, HD 5000  iPhone 5S  2TB TC, DS 214+
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 12:51 PM   #8
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baunkjaer View Post
Only these two steppings?
Wont the 5482 run rater hot due to higer TDP?
Actually one Both are C0.
About temps after 5482 upgrade: check link I've posted.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:33 PM   #9
Baunkjaer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Actually one Both are C0.
About temps after 5482 upgrade: check link I've posted.
Well, one stepping each CPU
Temp doesnt seems to be a problem. Ill look into it, and, maybe, report back.
Thanks for your help - and time. Much appreciated.
__________________

MP 5,1, W3565, 24GB, 240GB OWC 6G [Solo x2], 120GB OWC 3G, 1TB, HD 5870, 2*Dell P2314H
MBA 6,2, 1,4GHz (i5), 4GB, 128GB, HD 5000  iPhone 5S  2TB TC, DS 214+
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 04:10 PM   #10
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelbb View Post
I too have a dual 2.8GHz Mac Pro 3,1 & looked at this but considering the hassle factor & risk of damage the performance improvement is going to be marginal. It's probably better value to buy a used 3.2GHz machine & then sell your 2.8GHz system.
ditto.


I did the right thing and purchased 12gigs of ram for around 100 dollars for the 3.1 before the prices tripled or even quadrupled.

A year later i upgraded the gpu to a AMD hd 6870 1g for 180 bucks (aprox) and purchased a Crucial m4 256g boot drive for around 190. Also replaced the optical super driver for 40 bucks (IDE is more costly these days and harder to find...) between what i paid in march of 2008, and what I paid in upgrades, this has been by far the cheapest and best computing experience i have had over a 5 year period.

overall, the SSD was the biggest improvement, even though i did not purchase a PCi card to take advantage of the sata III potential. Running it on sata II was still a massive step up frankly. If i'm ever feeling quirky i might try the PCi sled deal, but that would only be if i purchased another ssd... from what i hear, win 7 boot camp doesn't like to be on anything but sled 1... could be wrong about that last bit though.

Last edited by Phrygian; Jan 8, 2013 at 04:15 PM.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 09:51 PM   #11
Baunkjaer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
I dont run Windows on my MP. OS X (ML) from the 256GB Samsung 830, and the 2TB Seagate Barracuda for storage and TM.
The 180GB Intel 330 was ment for my former Windows Workstation, which I sold, and replaced with this refurbished MP. Hence I only use it for my CD-compilation and iPhoto/Aperture library.
Please keep in mind these MPs still cost a minor fortune i Denmark. Bought it from ebay - 11.500 DKR which equals around 2K USD
So it wont be replaced this week og the next. As I mentioned in first post, this upgrade should only be for the fun of it.
So far, the machine has fully lived up to my expectations, and Im very happy with it.
__________________

MP 5,1, W3565, 24GB, 240GB OWC 6G [Solo x2], 120GB OWC 3G, 1TB, HD 5870, 2*Dell P2314H
MBA 6,2, 1,4GHz (i5), 4GB, 128GB, HD 5000  iPhone 5S  2TB TC, DS 214+
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:12 AM   #12
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baunkjaer View Post
I dont run Windows on my MP. OS X (ML) from the 256GB Samsung 830, and the 2TB Seagate Barracuda for storage and TM.
The 180GB Intel 330 was ment for my former Windows Workstation, which I sold, and replaced with this refurbished MP. Hence I only use it for my CD-compilation and iPhoto/Aperture library.
Please keep in mind these MPs still cost a minor fortune i Denmark. Bought it from ebay - 11.500 DKR which equals around 2K USD
So it wont be replaced this week og the next. As I mentioned in first post, this upgrade should only be for the fun of it.
So far, the machine has fully lived up to my expectations, and Im very happy with it.
honestly dude, its not worth it. If you want to do it anyway, go for it.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 4.1 CPU upgrade BrioBriss Mac Pro 80 Jun 3, 2014 09:22 AM
Mac mini 2008 CPU upgrade mac magnus Mac mini 8 Apr 30, 2014 08:43 AM
Mac Pro '09 CPU upgrade joshlac Mac Pro 31 Mar 24, 2014 04:06 AM
Mac Pro 1,1 CPU upgrade ohh epic fail Mac Pro 24 Sep 18, 2013 01:13 PM
Can I upgrade a Mac Pro 4,1 CPU with a 3,1 CPU? cbt3 Mac Pro 11 Jul 30, 2012 08:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC