Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 8, 2013, 09:25 AM   #1
chuuchhackz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
HDV and Timecode breaks

Hello! I hope someone out there can assist me - I've been searching google and doing some trial and error, but cannot find a solution.

I have HDV video that I'm trying to capture into FCP 7. The footage has timecode breaks in it, some longer than others. I'd love to FCP to just gloss over them, ala capturing DV footage, but it seems it cannot.

Re-recording is not an option as the client doesn't want to pay for the additional work. The capture itself is a byproduct of the videographer not remembering to compress live on site.

Thanks for any help you might have!
Additional info - capturing to a FW800 drive, Macbook Pro 2.2 i7 with 16GB ram - HDV coming from Sony HVR 1500

Thank you!
chuuchhackz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 11:03 AM   #2
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuuchhackz View Post
Hello! I hope someone out there can assist me - I've been searching google and doing some trial and error, but cannot find a solution.

I have HDV video that I'm trying to capture into FCP 7. The footage has timecode breaks in it, some longer than others. I'd love to FCP to just gloss over them, ala capturing DV footage, but it seems it cannot.

Re-recording is not an option as the client doesn't want to pay for the additional work. The capture itself is a byproduct of the videographer not remembering to compress live on site.

Thanks for any help you might have!
Additional info - capturing to a FW800 drive, Macbook Pro 2.2 i7 with 16GB ram - HDV coming from Sony HVR 1500

Thank you!
The only option is to set your project as HDV, open the capture tool, go to the Clip Settings tab in the capture tool and uncheck "create new clip on start/stop". That doesn't always work though so you might be stuck with a bunch of clips. The compression on HDV is much different than for DV and I think that's why HDV seems more prone to 'breaks' on tape than than other formats.
__________________
Looking For Lenny - documentary about comedian Lenny Bruce's timeless impact on stand-up comedy & Free Speech.
Netflix, iTunes, Amazon
LethalWolfe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:21 PM   #3
Chad3eleven
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
what do you mean timecode breaks are longer then others? Meaning the black spaces between the clips, or the jump in the time is differernt?

Was the camera set to free run? so that every start and stop would result in jumping code, as opposed to linear code across the stops.

Perhaps you turn off deck control, and just roll in the video as 1 or 2 (or 5 ) clips.

Is having TC intact important? Do you have access to another camera or deck where you cut dump the footage to a new tape, with congruent code, then capture?
__________________
27" 2011 iMac, 3.4 GHz, 12 GB RAM, 1TB HD, ; iPhone 4S 16gb ; iPad Mini 16gb ; iPad 4th Gen 32gb
Chad3eleven is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 05:07 AM   #4
Richardthe4th
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Below Sealevel
if all above doesn't work, try connecting your deck to a breakout box (matrox/aja/blackmagic) with component and analog audio; let the deck play and capture the stream from the box
Richardthe4th is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 08:03 AM   #5
kokako
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
grab apples FirewireSDK26 (it's free via apple developer) use the one of the apps inside that sdk CAPDV to import just the entire HDV transport stream then awhi

Last edited by kokako; Jan 9, 2013 at 08:11 AM.
kokako is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.9.2 breaks samba3 skallal OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Mar 22, 2014 08:04 AM
AV Foundation timecode support for 10.8 jmsbc Mac Programming 1 Jan 14, 2014 01:11 PM
capturing hdv fzw Digital Video 5 Sep 18, 2013 10:34 AM
Timecode in AVCHD MTS files Menneisyys2 Digital Video 0 Oct 27, 2012 08:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC