Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:11 PM   #1
Qonix
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
External USB 3 enclosure 3.5"

I'm looking for an USB 3.0 compatible enclosure..
I gived a look on amazon but in some reviews I found that some on OSX works only on usb 2.0 (cause of the firmware of that enclosures).

Can you suggest me one? I would spend not more than 40$ thx
Qonix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:30 PM   #2
azentropy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Surprise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qonix View Post
I'm looking for an USB 3.0 compatible enclosure..
I gived a look on amazon but in some reviews I found that some on OSX works only on usb 2.0 (cause of the firmware of that enclosures).

Can you suggest me one? I would spend not more than 40$ thx
I ordered one of each of the Mediasonic ProBox's (for 3.5 and 2.5). Not much too them, but work well and suit my needs.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0065DUJ0C
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007X4TGXI
azentropy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:32 PM   #3
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qonix View Post
I'm looking for an USB 3.0 compatible enclosure..
I gived a look on amazon but in some reviews I found that some on OSX works only on usb 2.0 (cause of the firmware of that enclosures).

Can you suggest me one? I would spend not more than 40$ thx
Yeah i already had a Stardom USB3 enclosure it it does not work with my new iMac, im also looking for a decent enclosure that actually works with the new iMac.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:47 PM   #4
Qonix
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by azentropy View Post
I ordered one of each of the Mediasonic ProBox's (for 3.5 and 2.5). Not much too them, but work well and suit my needs.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0065DUJ0C
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007X4TGXI
works fine?

isn't better one like this with fan? http://www.amazon.com/Vantec-NexStar...761686&sr=1-17
Qonix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 03:18 PM   #5
azentropy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Surprise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qonix View Post
works fine?

isn't better one like this with fan? http://www.amazon.com/Vantec-NexStar...761686&sr=1-17
Noise is more of a concern to me than heat.
azentropy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 05:21 PM   #6
Qonix
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
well if the HDD heats do much doesn't it risk to break?
btw the one you linked to me works fine and at usb3.0 speed?
Qonix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 05:46 PM   #7
azentropy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Surprise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qonix View Post
well if the HDD heats do much doesn't it risk to break?
btw the one you linked to me works fine and at usb3.0 speed?
Sure, but the drives now run MUCH cooler than drives of 5 years ago. Again really depends on what you are using it for if heat would be an issue. If you are worried about heat and don't mind the noise, then go with a case with a fan.

I'm getting ~200MB/s read and write using a 3TB Seagate drive, which is more than twice as fast the internal 2.5" 1TB 5400RPM drive. Both connected to 2.3ghz i7 Mac mini. I haven't tested on my 2012 21.5" iMac yet, but expect about the same.
azentropy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 07:16 PM   #8
Ant2369
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Connecticut
I picked up this based on all the positive reviews I found and added a 2TB. WDBlack

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817707227
Ant2369 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 12:12 AM   #9
Qonix
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant2369 View Post
I picked up this based on all the positive reviews I found and added a 2TB. WDBlack

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817707227
are the ones on newegg all mac compatible?
Qonix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:49 AM   #10
davsv1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
Yeah i already had a Stardom USB3 enclosure it it does not work with my new iMac, im also looking for a decent enclosure that actually works with the new iMac.
You've got me worried, I have one of these http://www.epowermac.com.au/shop/pc/...idproduct=2487 ordered....is this the enclosure you mean???
davsv1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 04:19 AM   #11
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by davsv1 View Post
You've got me worried, I have one of these http://www.epowermac.com.au/shop/pc/...idproduct=2487 ordered....is this the enclosure you mean???
Yes that is my exact enclosure Let us know if yours works, yours may have updated firmware.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 04:24 AM   #12
davsv1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
Yes that is my exact enclosure Let us know if yours works, yours may have updated firmware.
If they cannot guarantee it to work I will cancel the order, cant be bothered with having to return it. Now I have to wait til the 14th when they come back to work
Thanks for your reply....when did you buy yours?
davsv1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 04:27 AM   #13
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by davsv1 View Post
If they cannot guarantee it to work I will cancel the order, cant be bothered with having to return it. Now I have to wait til the 14th when they come back to work
Thanks for your reply....when did you buy yours?
About 7 months ago, its a really good enclosure, it just needs a firmware update to work with the mac on usb3.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 05:05 AM   #14
davsv1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
About 7 months ago, its a really good enclosure, it just needs a firmware update to work with the mac on usb3.
Thanks, will let you know how I go.

I have two usb2 esata firewire ones with several (6) caddies so I hope usb3 works, if not I have a usb3-esata hub ordered and will see how that works on the older ones.

On a side note, I see your name is torana as in Holden, mine is sv1 as in Valiant 1962
davsv1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 07:42 AM   #15
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qonix View Post
I'm looking for an USB 3.0 compatible enclosure..
I gived a look on amazon but in some reviews I found that some on OSX works only on usb 2.0 (cause of the firmware of that enclosures).

Can you suggest me one? I would spend not more than 40$ thx
Is it the firmware of the enclosure or the fact that the description of the item was written before Macs had USB 3.0 support?

It could be the firmware of course, but that would mean it was poorly written firmware.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 08:52 PM   #16
Ant2369
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Connecticut
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qonix View Post
are the ones on newegg all mac compatible?
This one was and I've already connectd it to my gf's MacBook Pro since I'm still waiting for my 27" iMac which I'm told is shipping tomorrow
Ant2369 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 09:14 PM   #17
Arman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal
I have a Macally USB 3.0 enclosure. Looks pretty nice. You can read my review here on MacRumor. A little beyond your budget I guess ($50) but works natively with my new iMac including sleep function.
__________________
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4Ghz, 32GB, 1TB fusion, 675MX
Late 2011 15" MacBook Pro, 2.2Ghz, 16GB, 250GB SSD
iPhone 5 Black 32GB; iPad 4 Black 32GB
Arman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 04:15 PM   #18
Qonix
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by azentropy View Post
I ordered one of each of the Mediasonic ProBox's (for 3.5 and 2.5). Not much too them, but work well and suit my needs.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0065DUJ0C
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007X4TGXI
this was one of the first reviews..

"Needing a way to convert my drives to USB 3.0 for a new Macbook Pro, I did a little research on enclosures and decided to give this a try. I installed a bare drive into the enclosure (easy), plugged in the USB 3.0 cord (supplied) to my computer's USB 3.0 port and it worked like a charm. Almost. After seeing how slow my data transfer was going, I took another look at Amazon's description and then at the very small type on the package. It turns out that USB 3.0 only works with PCs. Mac users get the pleasure of seeing their data stream along at a max of USB 2.0 speed. If you have a Mac, stay away from this enclosure."
Qonix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 04:41 PM   #19
azentropy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Surprise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qonix View Post
this was one of the first reviews..

"Needing a way to convert my drives to USB 3.0 for a new Macbook Pro, I did a little research on enclosures and decided to give this a try. I installed a bare drive into the enclosure (easy), plugged in the USB 3.0 cord (supplied) to my computer's USB 3.0 port and it worked like a charm. Almost. After seeing how slow my data transfer was going, I took another look at Amazon's description and then at the very small type on the package. It turns out that USB 3.0 only works with PCs. Mac users get the pleasure of seeing their data stream along at a max of USB 2.0 speed. If you have a Mac, stay away from this enclosure."
Interesting, but as stated above I'm definitely getting USB 3.0 speeds on my Mac mini. I'll take it over and try it on my iMac later tonight.

Edit: Also getting USB 3.0 speeds on my iMac.... ~200MB/sec... vs. ~95MB/sec on the internal 2.5" 5400rpm drive.

Last edited by azentropy; Jan 12, 2013 at 09:40 AM. Reason: updated with iMac info
azentropy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:52 PM   #20
kaulvirus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I think I also made a similar mistake. I ripped open my Western Digital My Book Essential 1TB Enclosure convincing myself that my new imac didn't have a firewire port and I should instead buy a USB 3.0 enclosure. I bought a Century USB 3.0 Enclosure here in Tokyo (http://www.century.co.jp/products/pc...ls35eu3bf.html) and inserted in the WD hdd.

I immediately found out that although the enclosure works fine on my USB 2.0 port (my apple keyboard), usb 3.0 ports wouldn't recognize it at all. I tried plugging it in and out a bunch of times and finally it would mount the drive. The enclosure worked fine afterwards and I could get a speed of around 80 MBPS. (USB 2 speed was around 35 MBPS though). I am assuming its the driver issue as you mentioned above.
kaulvirus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:11 AM   #21
davsv1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
About 7 months ago, its a really good enclosure, it just needs a firmware update to work with the mac on usb3.
Ok, so I got my itank today, it works ok on the iMac but is not as fast as I was expecting, maybe the old WD green hard drive I installed. I managed to get just 75mbs read & 78mbs write usb2 was ~30mbs. esata was the same as usb3 but on the old itank esata managed to get 95mbs. So i assume the hard drive plays a significant part even thought they are both WD greens one is 1tb the other (faster one) is 2tb. Now I swapped hds over and the 2tb in the new tank gets 95mbs on usb3, same as it did on esata on the old itank. Firewire was ~50mbs
I am using a thunderbolt to firewire cable and a usb3 - esata converter.
Any comments on the speeds?
davsv1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:25 AM   #22
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by davsv1 View Post
Ok, so I got my itank today, it works ok on the iMac but is not as fast as I was expecting, maybe the old WD green hard drive I installed. I managed to get just 75mbs read & 78mbs write usb2 was ~30mbs. esata was the same as usb3 but on the old itank esata managed to get 95mbs. So i assume the hard drive plays a significant part even thought they are both WD greens one is 1tb the other (faster one) is 2tb. Now I swapped hds over and the 2tb in the new tank gets 95mbs on usb3, same as it did on esata on the old itank. Firewire was ~50mbs
I am using a thunderbolt to firewire cable and a usb3 - esata converter.
Any comments on the speeds?
95MB is about right for a WD Green drive. I guess mine has old firmware as my iTank does not work.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:44 AM   #23
davsv1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
95MB is about right for a WD Green drive. I guess mine has old firmware as my iTank does not work.
According to my system report the version mine is running is 1.00, I assume that is the firmware version. My older usb2 itank says version 0.00.
Anyway thanks for confirming that speed is normal.
Where did you get yours from? Maybe they will help you.
davsv1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:46 AM   #24
81Steven
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
daisy chain

is there an external drive supports both usb3 and thunderbolt also in daisy chain?

I found only lacie d2 usb3 thunderbolt but daisy chain isn't supported
81Steven is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:20 AM   #25
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by davsv1 View Post
According to my system report the version mine is running is 1.00, I assume that is the firmware version. My older usb2 itank says version 0.00.
Anyway thanks for confirming that speed is normal.
Where did you get yours from? Maybe they will help you.
Epowermac.com.au
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External USB 3.0 Enclosure Recommendations? Beezy253 Buying Tips and Advice 5 Nov 15, 2013 04:44 PM
Macally USB 3.0 External Enclosure Review COrocket Mac Peripherals 0 Apr 17, 2013 08:13 PM
Recommend a Thunderbolt and USB 3 External Enclosure kapalua12 Mac Peripherals 12 Apr 14, 2013 10:51 AM
best usb 3.0 external enclosure for ssd? PavelT iMac 5 Dec 28, 2012 01:19 PM
Good quality and reliable USB 3.0 2.5" external enclosure Lehcim Mac Peripherals 8 Nov 20, 2012 03:23 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC